We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Andalucian luxury haven in stunning surroundings”
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Picking Apricots from our Orchard.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ronda, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fiona C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Andalucian luxury haven in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our third visit to Villa Casa Sonana and we loved it just as much as before. The house is stunning-very well equipped, with every possible kitchen item for serious cooking, as well as comfortable beds, stylish and spacious living, sleeping and outside areas and a lovely pool area. Lots of little extra touches too, such as the well stocked library area, Callum's honesty bar with an interesting selection of local wines, and a superb welcome hamper with Casa Sonana olive oil from the orchard outside, quince jelly and lots of other local goodies to enjoy. The delightful little town of Arriate is close by and is full of cafes and tapas bars but very few tourists . Highlights for us were the view from the house to the hills, the starry skies at night, and picking apricots for breakfast from the little orchard in the garden. Book direct with Callum and Jill for the best rates !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the location, the stylish interiors, the pizza oven and the garden
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Hola todos!. Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review - truly appreciated. Delighted that you again loved Casa Sonana as much as the first time, we always love having repeat guests also, so do come back again! Callum's wine is always a good choice, and Sonana's olive oil is indeed very special. Good to hear that you enjoyed fruit from our orchard, sun-warmed apricots for breakfast, ... yum, one of life's simply luxuries, as is star gazing at Sonana, we've done it ourselves and its simply magical. Best rates always available directly with us, which will save you a significant amount of money, you just need to look at the commissions some of the big online travel companies are taking now. Thanks again for coming back to us and we hope you continue to do so. Until the next time, as always. Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross B
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited for a long weekend, to stay with friends who had rented the villa for their long summer holiday.

Jill is a super helpful host; she is very knowledgeable about the local area and what it has to offer; responds quickly to any questions you have; and will arrange things such as taxi pick up to/from the airport and reservations at local (excellent) restaurants.

The villa is spacious and very comfortable, with everything you could possibly need for a perfect stay - a true home away from home experience. If a rural Spanish retreat is what you are after, then you won't go wrong with booking this wonderful villa and exploring the local town and surrounding area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hola Ross, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - always appreciated. Delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday at Villa Casa Sonana, and that all the taxi and restaurants reservations went smoothly for you. Fabulous to read that you found the villa a 'true home away from home experience' as that's always our goal. Hope we can welcome you back again in the future and please remember just to reach out to my directly to get the lowest rates. Thanks again for visiting us :) Until the next time, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
428brooks
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing villa in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just back from 2 weeks at Villa Casa Sonana. Cannot rate it highly enough. From the beginning Jill was full of information and advice to make our stay special, even booking a restaurant for my niece's 16th birthday which was so good we went back twice. Villa is an easy walk into the Spanish village of Arriate. No tourists and everyone friendly. Quick into Ronda too to see the stunning gorge and not overrun with tourists once you leave the back streets. Villa itself has 4 stunning bedroom/bathrooms. No-one had to choose a poor room which usually happens with holiday accommodation. Pool great and villa set up for all mod cons and well equipped kitchen. Cleaners also great and a big thanks to HIlde, the villa manager, who replied within minutes and got any minor issues sorted immediately. Would not hesitate to return. Did not even feel the need to go to the beach with 3 teenage kids in tow! Friends joined us and we all had lots of space. Photos do not do the villa justice. If you want the real Spain this is for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of rooms and location
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Hola Alison y todos! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review and we are all truly delighted that you loved everything about Villa Casa Sonana and the surrounding area. Its always nice when we have special occasions and celebrations at Sonana and great to hear that E's birthday went well. I smiled when i read that the photos don't do the Villa justice as just yesterday I was talking with a photographer-friend saying that we need to get some better shots and videos of the Villa, so thank you for prompting me to do this! Hilde and the team will be delighted to read your comments about them also. We do have an amazing team at the Villa who do a great job, so its great when they are also recognised. thank you. This is indeed 'the real Spain' and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back at anytime. Remember to do this directly with myself to get the lowest rates. Until then, thank you again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana, and as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtagoff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special villa”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautifully designed villa in a wonderful setting on the outskirts of Arriete which is a lovely non tourist large Spanish village.
The owner, Jill, took great trouble to ensure her guests have an enjoyable holiday. She knows the area really well and gives lots of very useful information about the local area, things to do and places to eat, written in an entertaining and informative way.
The welcome hamper was full of local produce.
It is very easy to relax in the very well equipped and comfortable living area and to retreat to the pool, the terrace or the library with plenty of holiday reading.
A very special place to stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Hola Malcolm, Huge thanks for taking the time to leave a review about us - most appreciated. Really delighted that you loved the Villa and the local area. Arriate is hidden gem which isn't frequented by tourists so you really do get a slice of the real Andalusian lifestyle there, still at local prices ... there's not many places now where you can get a beer or a wine for just over a Euro ! Glad you liked the welcome hamper also, we do always use local produce as that, quite simply, is the tastiest! As you say this is a 'very special place' to stay, and thank you for visiting us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime in the future, and remember to do this directly with myself to get the lowest rates. Until then, Best Wishes. Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiejinn...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning, spacious villa in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family (including 8 and 11 year old) were blown away by this villa. The villa itself is bright, spacious and elegantly decorated - lovely wooden flooring in the bedrooms, comfortable living room area, very well equipped kitchen. The bathrooms are well designed and there are plenty of them, the bedding in the rooms is lovely. There is a dining room inside although we did not use it - the spectacular views from the terrace make it a beautiful spot to eat. The pool is fab - big and very clean. There is also a little kids pool which has shade. There are plenty of comfy sun loungers - and again there is a shaded area if you need a bit of time out from the rays. Although the villa feels very secluded, it is actually only a 5 min drive from the local village which has a good choice of shops for food shopping and there are a great selection of places to eat near by. We particularly loved El Muelle - a restaurant close by which has amazing food and a very genial host. It's not far from Ronda, so makes a good base to explore from. All round - a perfect retreat. We found that we got the best price booking direct with the owner, Jill, rather than with Owners Direct or any other online booking agent.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Hola Katie, Thank you also for booking with us direct - this saves us and you a lot of money these days, as sites such as Owners Direct, Holiday lettings etc are taking a significant amount of money from both owners and the bookers as they change their business models, which is unfair as they don't do anything for that! So note to everyone, please book direct with me to get lowest prices always!

Delighted that you loved Casa Sonana as much as we do and enjoyed the local area. Like you, El Muelle, is one of our favourite restaurants also - great having this right on our doorstep.

Hope we can welcome you all back to Sonana in the future Katie. Until then, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelon...
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Blissful break at Casa Sonana”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Eight of us recently visited Casa Sonana in Andalusia. We had a perfect 5 star break from start to end. This was our second time booking a holiday villa and it certainly won't be the last. Booking was easy and we were fully briefed on the offering by the owner well prior to travelling. The villa is easily accessed within easy distance of the lovely village of Arriate and near to the city of Rhonda. As a holiday facility it has just about everything and Jill's (owner) involvement in the hospitality industry is evident throughout. We found the experience that enjoyable that we broke from our normal eating out routine in favour of barbecues on five of the seven nights. The facility is well managed by Hilde from her Rhonda base who regularly checked to ensure client satisfaction. A highlight of the trip was a bespoke tour of the area in an open top jeep where we traveled through the stunning countryside, swam in the mountain lakes and enjoyed Tapas and drinks in a beautiful traditional Andalusian village restaurant.
This experience of the real Spain was well worth while and we are fully intent on returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The five star nature of the facility
Liked least: Dinner at El Meulle de Arriate
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Hola Michael y todos! Thank you so much for leaving a review, and we are all truly delighted that you loved your holiday at Villa Casa Sonana. Great to read that you enjoyed eating in most nights, the view from our terrace is easily one of the best in Andalucia! I believe historically there was a 'venta' (bar) on our land serving locals and bandits as they came over from Ronda de la Vieja. I digress ! I'll pass your comments onto Hilde, she and the team that take care of our guests will be delighted to hear this. Same with the jeep trip and Chris. Thank you again Michael for taking the time to leave a review, we have the most 5 star reviews out of any other Villa throughout the whole of Andalucia so this helps us keep this No. 1 position! Muchos Gracias. Hope we can welcome you back again in the future, you know just to contact me directly when you wish to do so. Until then, as always, Saludos :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dicksondi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in a fabulous place”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a wonderful place! We wanted a quiet place close to Ronda and found this - a beautiful stylish villa, very private and quiet, with everything needed to hand. Jill couldn't be more helpful in briefing us and providing local knowledge, including a couple of fabulous restaurants.

Arriate is a working village unimpacted by tourism and all the more charming for that - just the kind of place we love. This is my third visit to Andalusia in 4 years, and Casa Sonana has been the best we've stayed in. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Hola. Delighted to read your review and even more delighted that you loved Villa Casa Sonana. Its always our goal to be the 'best villa that people have ever stayed in', so great news that we ticked the box again with that.

Arriate is fabulous - I agree, it really does offer a slice of the true Andalusian lifestyle, and because its not impacted by tourists, then great to dine and drink out for remarkably low prices! Thank you again for choosing us and we hope that we can welcome you back to Villa Casa Sonana on your next trip to Andalucia.

Remember to book directly as TripAdvisor and other large sites are being greedy with high commissions etc, so reaching out to me directly via the Villa website or email will always guarantee you the lowest prices also.

Best Wishes to you all and keep in touch. Saludos :) Jill .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing