We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house, excellent location”
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana!
Villa Casa Sonana - living area. El Salon at Villa Casa Sonana
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana!
Villa Casa Sonana - living area.
El Salon at Villa Casa Sonana
large comfortable living space at Casa Sonana
Choose a book from Sonana's personal library.
Indoor Dining at Villa Casa Sonana
Large, modern and fully equipped kitchen.
A Kitchen with a View.
Bedroom Las Vistas - another large double room - views all around.
Each bedroom has its own unique ensuite bathrooms
Bedroom El Jardin - a large double bedroom with patio doors onto terrace and gardens.
Bright and modern en-suite bathrooms
Bedroom El Rio - a large twin room with balcony and amazing views.
Bedroom Las Salinas - a beautiful twin bedroom with balcony.
Large family bathroom.
Terrace Dining - amazing views all around.
All bedrooms with a View.
Large Pool & Large Casa.
A children's pool & 10m adult pool.
Children love Villa Casa Sonana
Ronda at night.
Picking apricots from Villa Casa Sonana's private orchard.
Villa Casa Sonana - Rural Andalucian Chic!
Bienvenidos a Villa Casa Sonana
Villa Casa Sonana - Rural Andalucian Chic.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ronda, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
justlovec...
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, excellent location”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous house! We had a really relaxing family holiday with children aged 10, 14 & 16. We loved the location – far enough out of Arriate to feel private but close enough to walk in. We had a brilliant meal at El Muelle & lots of lovely tapas and churros in Arriate. The house was perfect although we did feel a bit warm at night as no one could sleep with the fans on. We tried out the pizza oven (absolutely delicious) and made a paella on the BBQ which was great. We all loved the pool and the views were spectacular.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Hola Todos. Thanks for taking the time to leave us another 5-star review - mucho appreciado! Delighted that you loved the Villa and the local area, it certainly is a special part of the world. This summer was especially hot in the area, but i'm going to look into those ceiling fans now to make sure they do their job as they normally do. Thanks for letting us know. The pizza oven was something my husband always wanted, so it's a great favourite with us also! Thanks again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana and hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Until then, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina33...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked Casa Sonana for a family holiday with our children and grandchildren (ages from 7-70 and 7 persons in all). We were hoping for a relaxing and memory-making experience and were not disappointed! The house is beautiful, situated in the hills near the town of Arriate (near enough for a visit on foot) with stunning views and a very tranquil atmosphere.Wonderful Ronda is only a 10 min drive away, definitely worth a visit and we can also recommend the Cueva de la Pileta caves, great for the whole family. But most of the time we spent at the villa, the pools very great fun and the garden beautiful and we spent many happy hours playing games, talking, listening to music, cooking and eating together - the pizza oven and BBQ are great and the kitchen had everything we needed! All rooms were generous, well appointed and furnished, comfortable and the views from windows/balconies beautiful. We had a fantastic holiday and would love to go again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Hola Bettina. Huge thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we are delighted that you all had a great holiday. We often welcome multi generational families to Villa Casa Sonana, it lends itself well for that, and great to hear from all ages were well catered for and had a great time. You are most welcome to return at any time, it will be our pleasure to welcome you all back again, you know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Avoid making enquiries via Holiday lettings, TripAdvisor, owners direct etc, as they put a significant mark up on our prices now, so it's always best to book direct - spread the word for us if you can! Hope the rest of your summer is a good one and thank you again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana - appreciated. Until the next time, Saludos :) Jill & Callum.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari164...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, comfortable villa away from the tourist track”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 7 ( 3 generations from 8 months to 70 years ) have just returned after a fabulous holiday at Casa Sonana. A wonderfully well equipped house with very comfortable beds and bathrobes in every bathroom which was a nice touch. Anything that doesn't have to be packed is a bonus! There was also a delicious welcome hamper waiting for us on the kitchen counter which was much appreciated, thank you Jill and Callum! The setting is in lovely countryside, very peaceful and beautiful views over fields and hills. We were warned it could be a bit hard to find so we met up with Hilde, the manager on site, who took us to the house. Hilde proved to be immensely helpful and was always at the end of the phone if we had any questions. We arrived in the evening and didn't really want to go to a restaurant with two tired children but Jill went out of her way to find a local lady to cook a dinner for us which was much appreciated. Gazpacho, tortilla and a very nice pork stew. Just what we needed together with a nice bottle of wine from Callum's "wine cellar" ( just drop the money in an envelope ).I have no hesitation in recommending this "oasis" under the Spanish sun where we cooled off in the big pool while the baby was very happy in the shaded baby pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Hola Ulla y todos! Delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Villa Casa Sonana and thank you for all your kind words. I'll pass your comments also onto 'Team-Sonana' who pride themselves on taking good care of our guests whilst at the Villa. Its a great place for 'multi generational' families to connect together for some family holiday fun, we do get a lot of this type of bookings so good to hear that everyone from 8 months to 70 years continue to enjoy this! Villa Casa Sonana is indeed a special 'oasis' thats a good way to describe it ... it is a very special part of the world. Thank you again for choosing us and also for taking the time to write this review - most appreciated. Until the next time, as always, Saludos! Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
urvi177
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nirvana!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Villa Casa Sanona is located in a small hamlet of Arriate near Ronda and it makes a central place to take day trips to all of Andalusia. The Villa is fully equipped with all the modern amenities. We cooked in their gourmet kitchen every day. The area is surrounded by rolling hills and olive trees, fig trees and the view in the back evokes a painting. You could sit there and look at the surroundings with no one in site and you hear birds chirping and totally relax. The owner Jill was absolutely amazing and accommodating! I absolutely recommend this villa and God willing visit this magical place that time froze from a different era!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa itself and surroundings
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Hola Urvi. Thank you so much for such a lovely review, you describe the Villa and the area so eloquently and it certainly describes a Villa Casa Sonana experience - mucho gracias! It was great being able to welcome you and your friends and we certainly do hope that you will return again - perhaps by that time, i'll eventually have some labels for the Casa Sonana olive oil! Thank you again for choosing us. Until then next time, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Andalucian luxury haven in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our third visit to Villa Casa Sonana and we loved it just as much as before. The house is stunning-very well equipped, with every possible kitchen item for serious cooking, as well as comfortable beds, stylish and spacious living, sleeping and outside areas and a lovely pool area. Lots of little extra touches too, such as the well stocked library area, Callum's honesty bar with an interesting selection of local wines, and a superb welcome hamper with Casa Sonana olive oil from the orchard outside, quince jelly and lots of other local goodies to enjoy. The delightful little town of Arriate is close by and is full of cafes and tapas bars but very few tourists . Highlights for us were the view from the house to the hills, the starry skies at night, and picking apricots for breakfast from the little orchard in the garden. Book direct with Callum and Jill for the best rates !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the location, the stylish interiors, the pizza oven and the garden
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Hola todos!. Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review - truly appreciated. Delighted that you again loved Casa Sonana as much as the first time, we always love having repeat guests also, so do come back again! Callum's wine is always a good choice, and Sonana's olive oil is indeed very special. Good to hear that you enjoyed fruit from our orchard, sun-warmed apricots for breakfast, ... yum, one of life's simply luxuries, as is star gazing at Sonana, we've done it ourselves and its simply magical. Best rates always available directly with us, which will save you a significant amount of money, you just need to look at the commissions some of the big online travel companies are taking now. Thanks again for coming back to us and we hope you continue to do so. Until the next time, as always. Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross B
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We visited for a long weekend, to stay with friends who had rented the villa for their long summer holiday.

Jill is a super helpful host; she is very knowledgeable about the local area and what it has to offer; responds quickly to any questions you have; and will arrange things such as taxi pick up to/from the airport and reservations at local (excellent) restaurants.

The villa is spacious and very comfortable, with everything you could possibly need for a perfect stay - a true home away from home experience. If a rural Spanish retreat is what you are after, then you won't go wrong with booking this wonderful villa and exploring the local town and surrounding area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hola Ross, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - always appreciated. Delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday at Villa Casa Sonana, and that all the taxi and restaurants reservations went smoothly for you. Fabulous to read that you found the villa a 'true home away from home experience' as that's always our goal. Hope we can welcome you back again in the future and please remember just to reach out to my directly to get the lowest rates. Thanks again for visiting us :) Until the next time, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
428brooks
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing villa in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just back from 2 weeks at Villa Casa Sonana. Cannot rate it highly enough. From the beginning Jill was full of information and advice to make our stay special, even booking a restaurant for my niece's 16th birthday which was so good we went back twice. Villa is an easy walk into the Spanish village of Arriate. No tourists and everyone friendly. Quick into Ronda too to see the stunning gorge and not overrun with tourists once you leave the back streets. Villa itself has 4 stunning bedroom/bathrooms. No-one had to choose a poor room which usually happens with holiday accommodation. Pool great and villa set up for all mod cons and well equipped kitchen. Cleaners also great and a big thanks to HIlde, the villa manager, who replied within minutes and got any minor issues sorted immediately. Would not hesitate to return. Did not even feel the need to go to the beach with 3 teenage kids in tow! Friends joined us and we all had lots of space. Photos do not do the villa justice. If you want the real Spain this is for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of rooms and location
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Hola Alison y todos! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review and we are all truly delighted that you loved everything about Villa Casa Sonana and the surrounding area. Its always nice when we have special occasions and celebrations at Sonana and great to hear that E's birthday went well. I smiled when i read that the photos don't do the Villa justice as just yesterday I was talking with a photographer-friend saying that we need to get some better shots and videos of the Villa, so thank you for prompting me to do this! Hilde and the team will be delighted to read your comments about them also. We do have an amazing team at the Villa who do a great job, so its great when they are also recognised. thank you. This is indeed 'the real Spain' and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back at anytime. Remember to do this directly with myself to get the lowest rates. Until then, thank you again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana, and as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing