We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch in Ronda”
Review of Bar Faustino - CLOSED

Bar Faustino
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Washington DC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch in Ronda”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a great lunch of various tapas at the Faustino. I can only repeat what others have said - the tapas were well priced and generous and tasty. Nice atmosphere as well. The service was good and friendly. Nice people! We found it easily on a quick stop in Ronda and were glad we did!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washingtondcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    62
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Damn Near Perfect”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Faustino's has been recommended by many travel advisors including Rick Steves, Lonely Planet, etc., and we learned why. For taste, value, atmosphere, friendly and fast service, it has it all. It was filled with as many locals as tourista. The portion sizes for 1.50 Euros are huge and filling. My wife and I were stuffed with four tapas and one half ration. Including two pints of beer the total was 17 Euros. How can you beat that? The special pork, ham croquette, various potato combinations, and the platter with Iberian ham, roast pork and green peppers, plus a generous amount of chips/fries, was memorable. The atmosphere has been describe as worthy of Hemingway or Breugel; it is. Service is friendly, but you do struggle through the limited English of the staff. Although each dish is described in English on the menu, some dishes were slightly different than what we expected, but all were good! I don't know if their mayo was fresh made, but it sure tasted like it. They have many other main dishes besides the tapas, but save those for other visits. Only the bread served on the side seemed pedastrian. I'm sure there are many great tapas bars in Ronda (and Faustion is more retaurant than bar), but you won't go wrong if this is one of your choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloodman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Tapas variation sensation”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's a very nice restaurant with very good service.

We had a nice Tapas variation for two person and we were very happy. We had an unforgettable lunch there. It worth to look for this place in the beautiful Ronda!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank botaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas at Lunchtime”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We found Bar Faustino while searching for the highly recommended but seemingly elusive 'De locos Tapas'. Lunch at Faustino is taken in a small light and airy courtyard through the bar. The service was very friendly and attentive (as always it helps if you can produce a couple of sentences in Spanish) and the tapas were excellent, the aubergines in honey were superb and an impressive quantity of manchego was served. The wine and cerveza were cold and refreshing and a splendid lunch was enjoyed. Faustino also represents extremely good value for money, we paused later for coffee and beer in one of the nearby plaza and paid twice what we had been charged in Faustino. A word of caution, lunch in Andalucía is a relaxing affair, the dishes you order will arrive as they are completed by the Chef and placed in the centre of the table for your party to enjoy at their leisure. So if you are in a hurry stand in the bar and eat as you drink (or go to Macdonalds instead).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrEosQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Won't return”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I reviewed this restaurant a year or so ago but after my latest visit I won't be going back.
Dull food, rushed service, unpleasant ambience. An experience to forget, Ronda offers much more. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank theabbotpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Faustino also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing