We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stayover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hermanos Macias
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stayover”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hostal is very central, just a few steps away from the bullring. Breakfast is taken in the bar and is excellent. Used the hotel restaurant both nights, service and food were fine. The room we had was HUGE but the bathroom was one of the smallest ever. Had to squeeze around the sink to sit on the lou. Anyone over a certain size will have problems. However it was really clean, the staff were helpful and great location. The parking is a bit of a trial. Big tip is to park the car somewhere near the bullring, find the hotel, get garage key and directions and take it from there. Also need to sort out how to return key after stay and retreiving the car. For the money you cant get better.

Room Tip: check the size of the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
22
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

“Very interesting little hotel” said almost all I wanted to say. I'm a sound sleeper and was tired after driving from Malaga to Ronda at night. So, the noise from the street didn't bother me. Indtead, it was nice to be in the middle of everything and on the balcony we were above it all.
Also, we paid with peanuts.
Special thanks to the bar personnel.

Room Tip: A light sleeper should have a room further back in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oobubuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were supposed to be staying at their 'sister hotel', La Cuidad, set in the stunning and tranquil old quarter of Ronda. However, on the Booking.com website, we were instructed to go to the Hermanos Macias hotel on Calle Pedro Romero 3.

We got there and the receptionist didn't seem to have any record of our reservation but had a word with her co-worker, gave us a room key and said it was fine to go on up to the room. Something didn't feel right but we went up to find the room anyway. What an absolute dump considering we'd paid 75 euros for it for ONE NIGHT - and there was no pool to be seen.

We went back downstairs and asked why there was no flat-screen TV or pool as promised on the website. The hotel owner waffled on (in Spanish) about the pool being at their 'other hotel' and said we could walk to it if we fancied a swim.

We soon realised that we were supposed to have been staying at the 'other hotel' (La Cuidad) and they were basically trying to pull a fast one by getting us to take this cheaper and quite frankly, dirty, dark and dingy hotel room so that they could make the other one available online and get another £75 out of someone else. We told them we had booked to stay at La Cuidad and promptly left to go and find it. They said that was fine but told us if we want to have breakfast the next day (which was included in our room rate) we would have to go back to their restaurant in the morning. Once we located the hotel we were SUPPOSED to be staying we were over the moon! What a lovely setting and hotel! I said "this is more like it" and proceeded to enjoy what was a very pleasant weekend in Ronda.

The next morning we headed back to the Hermanos Macias hotel and restaurant for breakfast. As predicted, it was nothing special and after they'd tried to con us the previous day we weren't planning on sticking around for long. We ate and left without saying thank you.

I would definitely recommend La Cuidad to other travellers but ignore the address on the Booking.com website - head straight to the old town and ask one of the locals for directions. Don't make our mistake and head to Hotel & Restaurant Hermanos Macias on Calle Pedro Romero 3 - they'll try to trick you like they did us.

Room Tip: Stay at their sister hotel, La Cuidad, based in the old quarter of Ronda. Unlike Hermanos Macias, th...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Albondigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ronda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
islamorada Fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

When I stay in Ronda this is my first choice. They speak little English but this after all is Spain! I've never had any troubles communicating my needs. They have rooms of every variety. My last visit I was w/ my twin daughters and we were given a 2 bdrm family room on the top floor. We had a little walk out patio complete w/ clothes lines. The family that owns this place is wonderful. Have had many a good time in their bar and restaurant. Rooms are all different, sizes etc. The location is great. Just around the corner from the bull ring. There is a parking garage just a few shop fronts down off the square.I have stayed here w/ my family, with friends and by myself. I am always remembered and made to feel welcome. They have great prices and I adore this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronz1inthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here due to a booking error with another hotel, so had no idea what to expect.

The hotel is in a great central location, close to Ronda's famous bullring, yet tucked away in a quiet side-street. It is also close to a convenient underground car park; important in such a small town with limited space.

The hotel building is old and quirky (think: 'textured cement'). The rooms are arranged somewhat randomly on multi-levels over about three floors. Our room was located 'on the roof', so it was a bit of a struggle dragging suitcases up all the stairs! The room itself was small and basic, but clean. Unfortunately, the wall-mounted fan heater didn't work properly, so sleep-quality was very poor (the bed felt damp)... Brrr!

Breakfast was rustic and tasty (great jamon and fresh bread), no doubt a reflection of the type of meals served in the owner's popular-looking ground-floor restaurant. The nice food did not, however, make up for the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drift10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The restaurant and bar are lovingly done up and it is obvious that the owners take a real pride in the establishment - restaurant very good as well. The charm of the establishment is hard to beat - they also have parking a bonus in Ronda!!!! We would have put excellent but the only down side was the noise outside - well it was a Saturday and Ronda can be a party town!!! But definately a lovely place to stay if you want an authentic taste of Spain and a feeling of being part of the family.

Room Tip: Avoid one on the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buislesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

They speak little English but work hard to make your stay enjoyable. The owner takes pride in seeing that everything is as it should be. The rooms are small, clean, simple and above a fairly quiet restaurant (also good). We stayed two nights and really enjoyed this city as an escape from the larger tourist cities of Sevilla and Granada. They do have at least one triple bed room and one quad which can make it a bargain for larger groups. We were only promised WiFi downstairs but could get it fine in our room. The location is great since it is centrally located but off major streets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Ronda
Royal Hotel Ronda
#25 of 39 in Ronda
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virgen de los Reyes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Molino
Hotel Molino
#32 of 39 in Ronda
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 39 in Ronda
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 39 in Ronda
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Tajo
Hotel El Tajo
#19 of 39 in Ronda
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermanos Macias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermanos Macias

Property: Hotel Hermanos Macias
Address: Calle Pedro Romero 3, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hermanos Macias 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hermanos Macias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing