We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the heart of Ronda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermanos Macias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hermanos Macias
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Newport, United Kngdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Ronda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a hotel con encanto, with character. The framed photos of the wall show famous toreros from the Ordonez and Romero dynasty or ring true of stories of Carmen. There is a fake well in the actual restaurant, a tapas bar area and the rooms have air con and some, look onto a busy street adjacent to Plaza de Toros de Ronda. The food is very rondena: revuelto de setas, rabo de toro, conejo a la rondena, migas etc. The owner, Juan, is very happy to accommodate his clients.
I loved the little plate souvenir which read: Me han robado en este hotel! Good sense of humour.

Room Tip: book rooms away from the busy street if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IulianaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is your average Mediterranean budget hotel. It is in a rather perfect location, but be aware it gets very noisy for many hours of the day due to the Macias Restaurant being right on the street below. The clatter of glasses and talkers can last to the early morning if you are an early to bed sort of person. The room was fine, mostly clean if a bit shabby. Service was non-existent, as the gentleman immediately took us to the room and left us with nary a word of explanation about it--they didn't even take our information nor seemed to check us in. My wife went down to ask the night before we left if we should perhaps check in and if they would be open at the front desk (which doubles as the bar in the restaurant) to check us out, but the manager gave her a look like she was crazy. For the money, this place is a great value, but it really could use a coat of paint on the rooms or a new mattress on the bed (these were the most uncomfortable beds I have seen in a hotel in a long time).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We turned up without reservation and was offered a double for 45 euros. The hotel is a bit old and rustic, but fairly clean. The location is ideal.
The hotel has its own garage for 10 euros/day.
The hotel restaurant is not very good and tapas are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a family run hotel which oozes Spanish character with walls adorned with photos of famous bull fighters. There is also a well in the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The wifi in public areas actually works. The room was of a good size, very clean and the whole deal was amazingly good value for money as the room price included a very good Spanish breakfast. Public parking is 100 meters away, the hotel getting a concession for guests. There are very good hotels in Ronda, costing three times the price but this was superb value and so well situated just 50 meters from the bull ring and central for other sight seeing. We went to look at the Posada and were really glad we had chosen Hermanos Macias. If we return to Ronda, which is likely, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is the fist hotel I ever checked out of before checking in. Based on a guide book recommendation we walked in and asked for a double room. The receptionist/waiter/bartender passed us the key to a room without requesting any identification or information; not even a credit card number. Our room was clean, quaint, overlooking a pedestrian street and within view of the historic bullring. The room with breakfast, which he described as toast and coffee was 45 euros. The only downside was that the double room had twin beds. So if you're fussy, ask.

Breakfast turnedh out to be half a toasted roll and a thick slab of bread with a sliver of Iberian ham and a triangle of Spanish cheese. However, there were 4 homemade pates to compliment the bread. Definitely not your ordinary continental breakfast. I'd go back any day. The location is fabulous, literally just steps from the famous bridge and walking distance to absolutely everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RITA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We can only recommend this place. It's just 50 meters from the Plaza de Toros and less than 200 from the gorge. The staff was a very friendly lot, trying hard to understand our rather basic spanish and always glad to help out with a word of english. Nice room, slightly tired bathroom, excellent price (45€ per night) and a better than usual breakfast made all the difference.
Thomas & Kim

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanoktom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Negatives: TV didn't work, wifi in the restaurant didn't reach the second floor (third floor by US measurements), no elevator.

Positives: Rooms were a decent size, they're clean, and the central location is pretty quiet. We slept through New Year's Eve 2012 just fine (needed to as we had an early train on Jan 1 2013). The proprietor was very helpful; when we asked him to call us a taxi to take us to the train station he said they'd probably not be available that early so when the time came he had someone drive us there.

Fifth star comes when they get wifi. And hopefully the email I'm writing II have IT experience) will help that happen soon. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virgen de los Reyes
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Ronda
Royal Hotel Ronda
#26 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#9 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Molino
Hotel Molino
#32 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermanos Macias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermanos Macias

Property: Hotel Hermanos Macias
Address: Calle Pedro Romero 3, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hermanos Macias 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hermanos Macias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing