We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable elegance and cosy ('gezellig')”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Affordable elegance and cosy ('gezellig')”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is an excellent small hotel, formed from conversion of an impressive and interestingly arranged family home. The decor and antique furniture blends a feel of the early 20th century with modern facilities. The welcome and information provided are good and it offers a classy and comfortable stay. I particularly liked the lady who greeted us and the quality of the bathroom and the plants, books and large collection of signed photos of film stars, writers and other celebrities. You feel part of an elite, without that costing the earth.

On the down side it can be a difficult hotel to find if you rely on out-of-date SatNav and attempt to drive across Ronda with it (although I agree that if you enter Ronda by the right route then it is straightforward). I also found the central heating (a rarity in Spain) made the room a bit too hot for comfort and although we turned it off it took a while to cool down. And breakfast was not quite as luxurious as some, although reasonable value. While our bathroom had a jacuzzi, I don't know if the pipes were harbouring gunk or whether the toiletries contained solids, but there was an awful lot of scum left at the end! And if you have mobility difficulties you may prefer a hotel which is easier to get to on the level from the car park.

Ordinarily a hotel with those disadvantages I would mark down as a 4 star. But this hotel is really so good in other respects that would be really unfair. I have to add it to my elite selection.

Gezellig is a Dutch word that doesn't translate well into English. It combines a cosiness with style and welcome and homeliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simono1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    268
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
149
854
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very atmospheric with lots of charm. The attention to detail shows both in the decor, it is full of antiques and great books and pictures. We stayed in a suite on the ground floor with a stunning four poster bed. On a rainy afternoon we sat in the cosy cinema room watching movies. The location is easy to reach by car and within walking distance of all the sites. The staff were very helpful too. A lovely hotel in s beautiful town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miriams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed 2 days at this lovely hotel and loved it. It is a historic home with lovely rooms, nice breakfast and attentive hosts. Highly recommend. It was an eventful arrival as our GPS took us a very challenging one-way road into town... felt like Mario Andretti. But once got there, stopped and got directions to a nearby parking lot and settled in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel was so much better than expected (since it's not at all expensive). And the local tips the hotel printed recommended us a very very nice restaurant, best of all we had in this 10 day Spain trip!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen97d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on 11th January 2014 in one of their junior suites. On arrival a member of staff came out to the car and welcomed us to the hotel and offered help with luggage. Checkin was straightforward and we were then shown to our suite, The suite was lovely and warm and very inviting. The rest of the hotel is equally attractive and all the staff are very helpful.

Would I recommend this hotel to friends - yes without hesitation

Will I return to the hotel- definitely, as soon as I find an excuse to go back to Ronda

Room Tip: The junior suite we had was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Beautiful, charming hotel in a great location. Very good value for money. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Convenient if you arrive by car since they let you park outside during check-in and then have an arrangement with a nearby car park where you can park at a discount.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the minute you enter the lobby of this charming hotel, you feel a warm, comfortable feeling. The staff is very welcoming and helpful with directing you to the parking facility a short walk away. This is a very special town and the hotel just compliments its surroundings. The room was nicely furnished but had steps up to the sleeping area and the bathroom was on the lower level - not a convenient situation with having to use the facilities in the middle of the night. Breakfast was ample with choice of juice, yogurt (no fresh fruit), variety of breads and cereal. A small theater for watching films was available but we weren't able to take advantage of it. A nice touch though. The walkway around the edge of the magnificent gorge was a short walk away. Reception made a couple of restaurant suggestions. One was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
1,700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
660 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing