We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed 26 August 2008

This is a delightful and individual hotel, with a welcoming front desk. The location is excellent, within a short walk of the gorge and all the main sights. We chose a standard room, which was prettily furnished but small. I would recommend going the extra amount for a superior room. Also, be sure to bring one of those battery operated reading lights – rooms in Spanish hotels tend to be quite dark and it’s difficult to read guidebooks by the bedroom lights!
A charming feature is the self-serve bodega or bar which operates on the honour system … a rarity nowadays.
For eating, we would thoroughly recommend the Carmen tapas bar beside the church of St Maria Major a few hundred yards away from the hotel. Also within easy reach is a CD shop named Trudi’s whose management is very knowledgeable on local music especially Flamenco.
Ronda really can be done in one overnight. Other than the Bullring and its museum, the Gorge and the former mosque (now St. Maria Major Church) there is little to see. The other local so-called museums can be given a miss. For a laugh though you could look in on the Museo Lara with its comical Museum of the Inquisition. This is a cut-price Chamber of Horrors with torture machines lovingly reproduced by obvious loonies as a kind of homage to Spanish ecclesiastical sadism.

  • Liked — Its very individual and 'unpackaged' quality
  • Disliked — Darkness of room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    270
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
151
869
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

This is actually just like your own house in Ronda, and that is the hotel's motto. Rooms are very pretty with an exceptional interior courtyard. Excellent breakfast with fresh bread and homemade jam. Our room gave out onto a beautiful orange tree which perfumed the whole area. However, I didn't see any air conditioning, which might be problematic in summer.

Staff was exceptionally friendly.

The directions seemed hard to follow, but turned out not to be. The hotel has arranged for parking in a nearby convent, so that isn't a problem. Hotel has a small screening movie room big enough for maybe 8 people!! We didn't use it, however.

Ronda was a nice place to visit, but perhaps not for longer than a day or two.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

TA San Gabriel, Ronda

Hotel San Gabriel is a wonderful and quaint home, converted into a hotel. Located in the heart of Ronda, a few steps away from the Puento Nuevo (New bridge), the Plaza de Torro (bull ring) and the wonderful restaurants and the pedestrian shopping streets this hotel is a sure thing.

We loved the details: a poetry corner, a library where you could exchange your old book for one that they had, a small movie theater for 6 people, free WiFi on your laptop or on hotel computers (in lobby), and of course the personal touch from the owners. They also have a lovely salon where you can curl up after a hard day’s tourism and read a book or just laze.

We paid Euro 106 for a superior double, but I think a junior suite at Euro 116 or a standard double at Euro 96 would all be great deals too. Breakfast is available at Euro 7 per person but we never tried it.

Would I recommend this to you: Absolutely.

  • Liked — Personal attention, location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HarshadDASWANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We spent ages looking for an hotel or b&b in the Ronda area but decided that parking would be a major factor when visiting for the day or if staying in the town. This hotel's website said parking was easily available, it was in the old town near to the famous "New Bridge" and easy to find and it was! (a major factor after our experiences in Seville as it transpired). The junior suite was a delight, the front desk service exceptional, the breakfast fresh and very locally produced. In all, we wished we had stayed less in Seville and longer in Ronda. If we were ever to return to over-developed Andalucia then Ronda and the SanGabriel would be where we would stay.

  • Liked — Old world charm,clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiomanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Beautifully restored, traditional Spanish hotel. Spotlessly clean with friendly, relaxed & helpful staff. Breakfast is light, but with lovely fresh, local produce. And this hotel has the cheapest mini-bar I have ever encountered!
Room 22 has a huge, sunken spa bath too!
I would very much recommend this hotel as well as Ronda itself and it would be a pleasure to stay there again. If you want a really special meal - you must eat at the Michelin starred Tragabuches, which is fantastic. (Book well in advance).
You can park outside the hotel to unload, but then you need to move to a free car park, which is a max 5 min walk away.

  • Liked — traditional, clean, great value
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lou1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, England
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The San Gabriel is perfectly located, in the old Moorish part of town, within five minutes' stroll of everything you'll want to see in Ronda. It's a quite delightful building, beautifully coverted into a hotel and immaculately maintained. The people are wonderful, with an easy efficiency and serene friendliness that add greatly to the tranquillity of the place. And the breakfasts are terrific. If you're going to Ronda (and you should go to Ronda), don't even think of staying anywhere else.
(For anyone worried about the parking situation, the hotel is very well signed as you drive into Ronda; you can pull up outside while you drop off your bags; and there always seemed to be plenty of free parking around the lovely Plaza Duquesa de Parcent, which is only a couple of hundred yards away.)

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Could have done with a bit more storage space - but that was only in our room.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ptk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

What a lovely slice of Andalucia is the Hotel San Gabriel! Very charming and intimate, with many personal touches, tasteful antiques, even a cozy little wine bodega in the basement and mini theater where you could pop in a video. This hotel is very well-run and friendly, clean and well-appointed. . You are given a city map upon inquiry, with good recommendations. The walks down the hilly and winding streets are wonderful, with surprises around each corner. Surprise yourself! Very relaxing. Be sure to check out the sunset from one of the glorious overlooks.

  • Liked — unique charm, warmth of the place and its staff, walkable to all
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkel-luvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing