We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Didmarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A lovely hotel in all respects. Room 8 was comfortable, warm, spacious and quiet, overlooking a courtyard. The public spaces are charming as are the receptionists. As has already been said, the position is very central and there is convenient parking nearby. We found breakfast very good value at 5 euros each - we had two cups of freshly made coffee each. Although Ronda is pleasant for a day we can see no reason to visit it again which is a shame as San Gabriel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 8 is spacious and quiet, on the first floor, overlooking an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 19lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    270
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
152
870
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2014.

The hotel is in a brilliant position right in the middle of the historic old town. We left our car in the nearby car park and easily walked to all the sights from the hotel.

The hotel is like a stately home. Both the public rooms and our bedroom were immaculately decorated and beautifully furnished.

The staff were friendly and helpful, with advice about places to visit and local restaurants.

The breakfast was a disappointment. Not a major problem: we just had breakfast in a nearby cafe on the second day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A lovely hotel in a fantastic location right in the middle of The old part of Ronda. Lovely people running a beautiful hotel. The breakfasts were probably the biggest let down, with very little more effort it could have been good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night but would have loved another. The house is a couple of hundred years old, beautifully furnished and near all the sites. We stayed in room 3, very spacious, first floor in the back so absolutely no noise and looked onto a small courtyard. nice amenities. Wifi is free and works perfectly all over the hotel. Basic breakfast is delicious and you can add more for a bit extra but really no need to. Staff very gracious and helpful. Our only constructive criticism was that they should give their guests who are arriving by car, clear indications as to how to park in front of the hotel to unload bags. There are two ways to get to the Hotel and our GPS gave us the one that coincidentally took us to the right public parking nearby but we had to carry our bags over coblestone for about three blocks to get to the hotel Whereas we could have driven right to the front door, unloaded and then parked. Wish we had known ahead of time and/or that the parking lot attendant would have told us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is perfect for those seeking an authentic experience in what a privleged life would have been like in 18th C provincial Spain. Oozing with character, this restored patrician home is expansive and the public spaces are well-decorated to a period 'look,' the library being the most cozy. Although on close inspection you see that most objects are not originals, the sheer opulence of wood-work and objects will thrill anyone who's a fan of 'stuff.' Though I am more of a minimalist at home, I appreciated this place as my home in Ronda.
The room was HUGE and quiet. Again filled with period-style furniture and artwork, our room (#10) had wood shutters with a view onto a courtyard below.
Parking is a close 2 minute walk, most of which is around an incredible church and urban park. Very pretty.
The best aspect is the proximity to the bridge to the more modern part of Ronda. Crossing that enormously high bridge is a life-experience, but not for someone who is acrophobic. The more modern part of Ronda has much more activity, shops and restaurants. I prefer sleeping in a more quiet environment.
Reception could not have been more attentive or helpful. We actually arrived a day earlier than our reservation stated, but we were wonderfully and kindly accomodated for. Due to its urban location, I did not see a swimming pool nor do I think they have one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max-Griffin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A great and central location in Ronda.
Romantic "Palacio Andaluz" with charming private cinema.
Every room is individually decorated and very quiet.
Friendly Staff with good informations and tips for local restaurants and tapas-bars.
I will sure stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipp-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 & absolutely loved it-lots of character, great location in old town, clean room, large bathroom with tub/shower, free WIFI in room, & breakfast included. We paid 61 euros/night, promotion price. Parking was an extra 9 euros/night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing