We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in picturesque Ronda”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a beautiful, old converted home. It is decorated in an historic spanish mansion style. We were given a free-up grade to a lovely room with 2 twin beds which was perfect for my daughter and me. The room was very reasonable in size for the kind of accommodation and even had a small balcony that looked out over a common area garden. The room was clean, quiet and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly. We stayed in 5 different hotels all over Spain during our 3 week vacation, and I think this was clearly the best value for our money.

Room Tip: We had Room #7 which has two twin beds that can not be pushed together because of the layout of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The San Gabriel was a beautiful hotel that made us feel like our visit was special. The staff was very nice and extremely helpful. The location is quiet but well situated to the sites and restaurants of Ronda. We felt like we were a guest in a home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nginear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What more can I say then the others. Definitely recommend. Friendly staff. Parking lot affiliated with hotel about two blocks away (and you get a hotel discount.) Very nice hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived very late one night and the staff, was very helpful in getting us a room. Also at a discount, because of the late arrival. Overall the hotel was very cosy with nice rooms. All rooms seemed to be unique. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohannesFramby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Hotel San Gabriel is a small hotel with an old Spanish look and feel. It's tucked away in an alley barely big enough for a car. The room we had reminded us of the Salvador Dali house bedroom in Cadeques. There's a small theater for watching movies and a supply of books for those planning on being there a while. Breakfast in the small dining room is served in shifts -- you pick your time at check-in. It is located perfectly to enjoy all the town's sites. Parking in Ronda is limited to locals, so you have to park several blocks away in the only public lot downtown. We walked to Casa Maria to eat in a large plaza just outside of the walls of the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is very charming and characterful. It may not suit those who prefer clean modern lines. The staff were very helpful. The bedrooms and public areas were clean and well maintained. Wi-Fi was available for those who wanted it. The hotel has its own bodega where a free glass of sherry is available to all guests. Unusually to allow for the limited number of seats/resources breakfast time and menu must be booked before 7 pm the previous evening. A walking tour guide is available from reception who will also recommend and book a restaurant for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a walking group for 3 nights. Only a few minutes from main Ronda attractions the location manages a very peaceful and relaxed feel while providing the ambiance of classic Spanish mansion. Beautiful furnishings, paintings and even a cute small private film room. Our group had a selection of bedrooms and all were pleased with the size and feel. Staff were quietly attentive and managed the arrival and departure of a big group and luggage efficiently. Normal clientel would not be groups though - this is definitely not a "package tour" ...... hotel we had local contacts to persuade them to take a group.
If you want to stay in Ronda in a real quality Spanish style hotel with great staff and nice breakfast handy for all local sights.... this could be the place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dashwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
525 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#7 of 40 in Ronda
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing