We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame we had to leave so soon!”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a shame we had to leave so soon!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Two nights was not enough!
This is a unique hotel with lots to offer.
The room we had was big and had a sitting area. While we were there it was very hot during the day but although there was air conditioning, we were able to sleep with windows open and enjoy the breeze. I noted heaters and plenty of blankets and the staff said it is necessary in the winter.
Location is good although it is a little tricky to find initially. Once you arrive in the old part of town there are plenty of signs to direct you. (A GPS coordinate on the website would have helped). The parking arrangements were good and efficient (9E/day).
On arrival we were given maps by Rafael and info on where to get best tapas, restaurants etc and the 2 of these we tried were fantastic. When we left, we were given by Isabel) very good written driving instructions on how to get out of town and also to Granada.
Breakfast is good and served in a breakfast room off the lounge.
The lounge is full of interesting books - fiction and non-fiction in many languages. There is a poetry corner with a bookcase full of anthologies sent from around the world.
We visited the wine cellar where sherry was available to be drunk.
There is a small cinema which we didn't have time to use.
This is the type of hotel that you wouldn't mind being in when it is pouring rain!

Room Tip: We had room 15 which had complete privacy to allow windows/shutters open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natandmiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    270
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
152
870
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
169 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is an almost perfect hotel. Their slogan is 'su casa en Ronda' and they really do make you feel at home. On arrival, we were given a handful of information leaflets and these proved invaluable: tips about restaurants, walks and countryside drives. The hotel is not a big one, is located in a quiet street in the old part of Ronda about 2 minutes walk from the ravine and bridge, and is utterly charming. The lounge resembles a library, there is a lovely courtyard, our room was elegant and comfortable, the wifi works well, the breakfast is unbelievable value (5 euros 50!!) and the staff are most helpful. The parking system works well - 9 euros a day in a local car park. Ronda itself is a lovely town and is a great base for touring the area if you have a car. Top marks to the management of this hotel. We were actually sorry to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. The hotel is so unique in its decor, furnishings and location. It's certainly got character with a poetry corner, 1920's style cinema and impressive array of photos/art work. Some may say this hotel is dated but I would disagree. It's a refreshing change from the generic, clinical settings which many new hotels have nowadays. The breakfast buffet was varied enough for what you pay and the location is great for exploring Ronda's sights. The only thing I was slightly disappointed with was the recommendation for Tapas on our first night. The bar that the receptionist recommended had little choice of tapas and the service wasn't great but that's not the hotel's fault. Maybe the hotel could update their recommendation though?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

In our 2-week tour of Spain, this was our very favorite hotel.... by far. Truly lovely, perfectly located, exceptionally pretty and classy. The staff was kind and the breakfast was delicious. This is without a doubt the best place to stay in Ronda.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ANN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great location in Ronda, with very friendly and helpful staff and our room was nice and large. Hotel has been around for some time so some parts could be considered dated, but actually it is very charming. Only issue in stay was noisy pipes at night coming from a nearby room, but that was only because someone had a jacuzzi after 1am.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a beautifully maintained hotel full of character and interest in the old town. A quiet location but within very short distances for all attractions in Ronda. The staff were extremely helpful. The five euro breakfast was more than adequate. There is a lovely small courtyard for relaxing away from the heat of the day. Excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at the San Gabriel for one night just last month. The hotel is beautiful, the rate was very good, and the location is excellent. In addition, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I should mention that, although the hotel is located in the "old" section of town, it is very easy to find it and to drive your car directly to the hotel, in order to check in and unload your baggage. Parking is then just a short ways away.

You should not miss Ronda, as well, if you are at all in the area. It's beautiful and dramatic, the views are wonderful, especially in the morning and the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MattyC97531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing