We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn´t want to write about this hotel because.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cadiz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I didn´t want to write about this hotel because.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

I didn´t want to write about this hotel because I was afraid that it will be overbooked next time I want to visit!!!

All dues to the staff and management of Hotel San Gabriel. Not only is it a tranquil and elegant hotel, it has a special "Character".

As other reviewers will tell you, it is central to the "new town" but situated in the "old part" across the "New Bridge".

It is a traditional old house (read mansion) with the modern touches (free internet access with wi-fi, in room CD/DVD players etc...) that you expect from a 4 star hotel.

Old books line the walls and adorn the tabletops (there are many books, walls and tables...).

There is also a quaint private cinema for those who enjoy movies that were made in the times that movie were great (Casablanca, Vertigo etc...).

This hotel can be considered the perfect place to relax and enjoy the wonderful mountain town of Ronda.

The rooms are clean, spacious and well kept. There is FREE, yes "FREE!" parking nearby the hotel and the informative staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The price of the rooms are very under-priced. Do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel, you will enjoy the "time warp" and "elegance" that it has to offer.

We have stayed at four different hotels in Ronda in the past, and by far the best is San Gabriel.

The reviews on Trip Advisor led us to the San Gabriel, and we are returning the favour. Enjoy it, maybe, like us, you will a certain sadness when you leave.....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escape23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    266
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
147
844
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Loved every bit of it. A beautiful and charming olf mansion lovingly upgraded. The staff warm and welcoming and always helpful. Located just off the main street, but very quiet. My wife was sick and we requested a larger room which they did for us without any extra charge. We had heard from several friends that Ronda was a special place and so we stayed three nights and could have stayed longer for the sheer relaxation of it.

The hotel directed us to a laundry an eight minute walk away that did a large bag of dirty clothes for only 10 Euros. What a bargain.

The hotel also directed us to several restaurants which we greatly enjoyed. Of special note is Casa Maria whose owner gives you your choice of whichever fresh meat or fish he has that day and then he and his wife cook it as they feel is best. The only warning we would give and this is true all over southern Spain is that they love cooking in olive oil and especially go heavy on the salt. So be sure to request, "Sin sal" (no salt).

Another great recommendation was an innovative tapas restaurant, Tragatapas. The best tapas we had in all of Spain. We unfortuneately also tried it's famous "parent" restaurant, Tragabruches, which was a waste of money and a big disappointment. This one was not on our hotel's list.

One of the siteseeing trips from here is to see the Cueva de la Pilela. If you have seen any good caves before or especially any prehistoric cave paintings, then skip this trip. The paintings are mostly a lot of black "chicken scratchings". No comparison with France's cave art.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

You can unload your luggage at the hotel and then park just down the street at a very secure lot.The hotel was very easy to reach and find which is certainly not true of many hotels in many cities and small towns.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alltheworld2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronda, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

My family has stayed at Hotel San Gabriel more than a dozen times. This is a family-owned hotel, run by a former bank executive from Unicaja. Service, location, and hotel is extraordinary. It is hands-down the best hotel value in Ronda for the money. Average room is under 100 euros. People who know Ronda consider the Hotel San Gabriel one of the top 3 hotels in town. In the center of Ronda's old quarter.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dwronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Beautiful little hotel tucked away on a side street in Ronda. Original hotel was built in 1736 but redone in 1998, Nicely appointed rooms and common areas. Only 21 rooms. Staff is very friendly and eager to help. Would higghly recommend. Room was typical European small but clean and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

Great place to stay in Ronda. We were planning to stay for a night but loved the place and hence extended the stay by a day. loved the place and the juniur suite that we stayed in.

As expected tripdvisor never fails.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg S.C.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

Wonderful old European feel. Wish we had stayed more than 2 nites. Great hotel, enjoyable town, for exploring and eating. Staff counldn't have been nicer. We stayed in Jr. Suite and it was decorated in antiques. I felt like royalty. Give this place 10 stars !!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Chose as was No 1 rated on tripadvisor.co.uk. Not disappointed. Cars are parked a short walk away in a small car park with a wonderful view - you are spoilt for breathtaking vistas in Ronda - room was quite dark but perfectly nice looking out onto a small courtyard, room No 1. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel is very well run with excellent staff. I would definitely recommend it. Ronda itself is a must-see of Andalucia. It may not have an Alhambra, Alcazar or Mezquita, but its natural wonders are equally breathtaking. Also best tapas bar in Spain - on hotel's advice list, a bodego off the main square.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bramall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#7 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing