We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel San Gabriel was SO Comfortable and Charming”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel San Gabriel was SO Comfortable and Charming”
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We decided to stay one night in Ronda on a recent trip to Andalucia. I had read about the Hotel San Gabriel prior to our trip. The pictures online don't do justice to the warmth and charm the hotel exudes. Anna and her siblings, who have run the hotel for 11 years couldn't be more service-oriented or friendly. I wish we had stayed longer and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys old world charm , peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emalekween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    270
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
152
870
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We stayed here for three nights earlier this month. The house is beautiful, the rooms comfortable, and the owners (family) very attentive to the needs of their customers. Would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

This Hotel, the San Gabriel in Ronda was recommended in Fodors as a “Find” and it certainly is! The hotel, I think is ranked as a 3 star hotel but clearly was 4+ stars in our eyes and at 100 Eiros a nite a great bargain!The Hotel is a converted family mansion that has been subdivided into a number of rooms/junior suites... We stayed in the Junior Suite @ 100 Euros a night (just 10-15 Euros more than a regular room and well worth the difference); The hotel, I think is ranked as a 3 star hotel but clearly was 4+ stars in our eyes and at 100 Euros a nitght a great bargain! The Junior suite was large and had a fabulous bathroom with a Jacuzzi so large that we could have had a party in it. Nice decorated in 100 year old pieces. The converted family mansion is decorated with original family furniture, paintings and artifacts and has had Ernest Hemingway and a number of period guests going back to when Ronda was the center of bull fighting in Spain. Everything was a short walk from the hotel and the hotel is located on the “old side of the gorge” (you will know what that means when you get to Ronda) in the older town area. Very picturesque. The hotel is off the main drive so very quiet. Breakfast room well supplied with both coffee, juice, croissants and toast, bread, cheese, meats, yoogurt and so on. Couldn’t recommend the hotel more.

( PS. My wife and I went to the caves 10 KMs outside of Ronda, Prehistoric drawings 30,000 years old and older. You need to book in advance by phone since they only take up to 25 people at a time into the caves and there were two groups of 25 of school children/ we eseentially bribed the tour guide with 10 Euros to take us early. Steep climb up to the caves. Not for someone with a heart condition - but worth traveling to Ronda to see the caves alone.)

(Second PS. Make sure you visit the bull fighting arena on the main street. See my photo,

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRouatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We came to Ronda to find a center for touring the White Villages of Andalusia--a tour very much worth taking, and for several days at that. The scenery was spectacular. The San Gabriel no less so. This converted house--owned and run by the family that lived in it--has everything a visitor could want, and then some. To begin with, charm, comfort, and the intelligent and genteel presence of the owners, who laid out perfect itineraries for our drives and offered lively conversation on our return. Beyond that, the hotel is perfectly located (although a challenge to find on first entering the old part of town), absolutely quiet, and a haven for interesting travelers to enliven the wonderful breakfasts. Should I add that our palatial room was offered at a bargain price? We added one night to that part of our journey, and only regret we didn't add more... if only to savor more of the gracious atmosphere of this home away from home. We would recommend this hotel to anyone--and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPals64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed for only one night at this gem of a hotel, in October 2009. The staff was charming and hospitable, and spoke fluent English. The room was clean, light-filled, with a large, comfortable bed and generous bathroom. Breakfast offered a selection of breads, cheese, yogurt, cold cereal, coffee and tea. We would love to go back to Ronda, which is a spectacularly beautiful place, and stay at the Hotel San Gabriel again. The hotel lounge, with its comfortable chairs, fireplace for cool weather and classical music would be a lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarTor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for one night in September. We actually arrived a day early and were accomodated without any fuss at all. The hotel is a family run affair and it works well. The room was quite large, the bathroom was too, the beds were comfortable and had all the mod cons. The parking lot is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, but we were able to load and unload at the front door of the hotel.
The hotel's decor is excellent as was the breakfast. A much appreciated touch was the free internet.
The staff/family were very helpful, they gave us a map of great restaurants and also of a walking tour of the town. We also got great advice to visit the nearby caves.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Location: The hotel is in the very center of the old part of Ronda, close to most of the attractions.

Cleanliness: Spotless.

Room: Spacious and tastefully decorated, our room had a nice balcony facing the patio and a very good bathroom, with nice toiletries. The room did not have a safety box, but apparently some do.

Parking: There is a public parking on the edge of the old town. It is a 300m walk to the hotel. Costs 9 Euro.

Staff: Very nice and willing to help.

Breakfast: Good for European standards.

Internet: Free Wi-Fi in the common areas, but we were able to connect in our room.

If we were to return to Ronda, we would stay there again. Everything was ok and being set in an authentic old building helps you live the very spirit of the city.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&J_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing