We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience”
Review of De Locos Tapas

De Locos Tapas
Ranked #4 of 295 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Small tapas restaurant with a nice atmosphere. And modern tapas fusion andalusian, basque, with a nice prices. English speaking and different tapas all days. Full Sunday and Monday lunch closed. Not bar service. Open 1 pm to 4 pm for lunch and 7:30 pm to 11 pm.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had pre-booked in advance of our stay in Ronda, but were late arriving due to problems finding our hotel. "Bill" kindly enabled us to push back our reservation by 30 minutes. As we arrived, 2 minutes after our allocated later time, he was in the process of notifying another customer of a late availability. Such is the well deserved popularity of his tapas restaurant ! Luckily for us the other customer did not pick up the call in time.
The ambience, service and above all, the food, were of the highest order - one of the best "dining" experiences ever, in a querky, "crazy" (ie. De Locos) venue. Many thanks to Bill and his dynamic duo who were constantly assembling skilfully created ingredients in a tiny kitchen area behind the bar. A real highlight of our fortnight in Spain - and we also visited Seville, Cordoba and Granada ! You MUST book in advance AND be there on time, or you will miss your chance to experience fantastic food in a great spot. A delight . . .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 479 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had heard this place was good, but nothing could have prepared us for the gastronomic delight we had !!!!! The owner was a great character, and the whole time we were eating he was turning people away, his attitude to food is not to rush and serve fantastic food . We read the Menu and everything sounded good , so as we could not make up our minds we asked him to bring us what he thought was best, he did not disappoint ? I will go to my grave remembering the foie gras , it was truly incredible !!!! If you are in Spain , go go go !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stufuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's a bit off road and when we saw/entered the place we had some question marks about whether we made the right choice, but after Guillermo (=Bill, the owner/waiter) run through the menu and brought the first of a series of tapas, we knew we absolutely made the best decision in weeks to have lunch in this tapas bar.
The four of us ordered/shared about 20 tapas which were absolutely fantastic in terms of flavors, flavor combinations, originality, creativity, execution and presentation. If forced to choose a favorite, the four of us would probably cite the foie gras (combined with passion fruit sorbet!) but each and every little dish is extremely original and tasty.
We became extreme fans of Bill's wife who, together with another lady cook, is offering something like between 30 and 40 different little pieces of art which they prepare in a tiny little kitchen but with high doses of creativity, originality and craftsmanship. Why is Ronda so far away from Marbella? -;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Guidhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo J, Propietario at De Locos Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014
Google Translation

La falta de tiempo me impide muchas veces devolveros vuestro recuerdo de paso por nuestro pequeño bar, pero a traves vuestro dar las gracias a todos los que con todas las estrecheces que tiene nuestro pequeño local, nos dedicais buenos comentarios entre amigos y redes sociales. Por medio vuestro intentar por parte de todo el equipo agradecer vuestras palabras. A trabajar par poder continuar con ilusion.
El equipo de De locos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This has to be the best surprise in Ronda, it is set just inside the walls of the city and as you walk down the windy road you may be mistaken for thinking you have been given the wrong directions but keep walking you will find this quaint little gem just tucked away inside the arch way of the city. It is not the prettiest looking venue and you may well think I am not sure? should we stay? but believe me it is a hidden gem. The food is absolutely wonderful the hand written menu is read to you by the owner who is a real character and he makes the whole experience one you will not forget. We sat for 3 hours and just ate drank and became very merry. The food is served in various forms and each dish is a work of art, flavours are to die for and the cost is unbelievable good. Although the views in Ronda are wonderful and well worth a meal over looking the gauge, don't miss the opportunity to taste the real Andalucias best tapas ever a tip though you must book or you will be very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karenwrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Not really a review of the food...we walked all the way across town to try this #1 trip advisor ranked tapas house only to be told sorry we r full and that was that. We asked how long...no response. They had patio chairs and tables outside, not set up. And did not offer anything but sorry we r full.

5  Thank yorosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo J, Propietario at De Locos Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear friend, I apologise if you couldn't have a table in our place. Our tiny kitchen space let us use terrace or upstairs dining room, not both. At the same time I guess the misunderstanding you had its probably because in my team I do speak English, no one else and I never let anyone without the proper answer.(not all the Spanish speak english, like not all the people from the US who travel speaks Spanish ). I always try to recommend other close places. By the way, it's difficult to me understand been a person with so many reviews wroten, you didn't realise our place without book it's hard to get a table, like most of the reviews advice. At the same time it the top of any place of tripadvisor you can find the telephone and email so that never happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Locos Tapas also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to De Locos Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing