We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG you have to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked this amazing hotel at the last minute. it has 9 bedrooms and is the most friendly and comfortable hotel we have stayed in. With its delecate moroccan feel it makes you feel at home immedately. Our room was comfortable and rustic (although I would suggest a slightly softer mattress) you won't get airconditioning but you don't really need it as there are shutters at the window to keep out the bright sunlight. the garden is amazing, small but beautifully formed. There is a small swimming pool which overlooks a very tranquil field of horses, its amazing. You are served breakfast outside and the food is perfect, very fresh with different homemade jams each day! They do serve lunch (although we didn't have any) but they do not serve dinner but they can recommend very good resturants. The hotel is situated at the end of the town and you do have to walk down a good number of steps to reach it but believe me it is so worth the walk. The location is at the better side of the old town and if you are looking for a relaxing retreat this IS the hotel you have to stay in! It is owned by a man called Christian who is so friendly and helpful and speaks great english. the hotel is even cited right next door to an acent roman spa!! We loved our stay and wished we could have made it longer, although we have already booked to go back in June next year and we are taking friends with us. If you want to experience the most romantic city in spain (even better than Paris) you have to go to Ronda, there is so much to see and do, the food is fantastic and the weather great as you don't have the damp air from the sea. We were told that you can also get a bus from Malaga direct into Ronda although we hired a car and the drive up was stunning. If you are looking to book a hotel, don't look any further, this place is a must!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

Lovely hotel. Situated just on the border to town so you get a fantastic view of the wonderful
hills outside. Great garden where you can eat and relax and swim in the pool. Best plays in our week around Andalusia.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgnesFurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This elegantly simple hotel was our favorite in all of our travels through Spain with our grandson. It is tucked away from the tourist traffic but has all the amentities and conveniences of the lovely old town. The pool was an additional treat for our grandson, especially. The large sitting room for reading & writing late at night gave us all our own space. Dreamy music added to the ambience. Breakfast on the terrace over looking the fields with horses made us feel as though we were living in the country. The owners treated us like family too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slabside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay in charming surroundings our garden room With its own small terrace was peaceful and looked out over the hills yes the walk into the town is up hill all the way but built up an appetite and made coming back to the hotel even more worthwhile, Breakfas was amazing with fresh good quality fruit and meats and hot fresh bread, wonderful,we made our trip with our two west highland terriers who were made very welcome and we will definitely return so that we can relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donquixot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed one night here in September 2010. Had a little trouble finding it, but locals were very helpful and eventually we got there. Christian was very welcoming. It's a beautiful little place that we found very restful and accommodating - our room was small but very cute. It's just below the old town and so we went in and had dinner at a nice restaurant. We would stay here again - in fact, as a thank you to our trip hosts in Puerto Santa Maria (west, on the Costa Del Sol), we bought them a weekend in Ronda at Alavera de los Banos.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomo29k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Another perfect stay at this wonderful hotel! I can't say enough about this beautiful place, the charm, Christian, the peace, the tranquility, the breakfasts! Yes, it is a bit of a walk to go to town but it well worth it! I can't recommend this place more highly!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccaleigh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Take a terrace of traditional houses below the walls of Ronda, rip out the second floor of the middle ones and expose the roof trusses to create a double height lounge and dining room intersected by an elevated walkway to the bedrooms on either side, decorate it with a very eclectic art collection, paint it in subtle pastel colours, and permeate it with classical music. Serve a great breakfast there in the mornings and provide an 'honesty bar' for guests in the evenings. A delightful place, but don't stay there if you want to use your bedroom for anything other than sleep - the bedrooms are perfectly adequate, but small (ours was double height which gave a feeling of spaciousness nonetheless. We loved this place and stayed extra days even though the weather was awful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank_kirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#3 of 40 in Ronda
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 40 in Ronda
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Address: Calle Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: £67 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alavera de los Banos 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing