We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting the town while enjoying the peace of the coutryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Valais
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Visiting the town while enjoying the peace of the coutryside”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel lies in a lovely calm setting, facing the andalusian countryside along a quite stream with view on horses and sheeps (but no noise), yet only 5 minutes from the old town and it's historical jewels. This has however a cost, the climb of a rather steep and sometimes slippery way, which supposes a good physical condition. It's better to leave your car at the hotel, where parking is free.
The building is an old house, very nicely decorated, with a beautiful relaxing garden where you can have your beakfast, and a small swimming pool. The price you pay is the lack of lift (but only one floor), rather small and basic rooms, but who cares when you have so much to do outside? There is some seldom noise on the side of the street, the rooms on the garden are absolutely quiet.
It's a very good value for people who can appreciate it's atmosphere and location, and have a minimal physical fitness.

Room Tip: Choose on the garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    161
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
76
506
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Ronda and the Hotel Alavera de los Baños were highlights of our three-week trip to Spain. Located down a long, cobbled stairway at the bottom of the hill from town, and next-door to the Moorish baths, the hotel has the feeling of being in the countryside. With only nine rooms, it features a gracious common area plus a secluded Arabic-style patio and garden overlooking fields and a horse corral. Though the rooms are quite small, they offer plush beds, tasteful decorating and - in a gracious touch - ours had a fresh-cut rose by the bedside. The complementary breakfast was the best we were offered in Spain: an array of cheeses and cured meats, fresh fruit and breads, preserves, coffee, tea and juice. (Too bad they weren't serving dinner that night!) Our hosts were also welcoming and helpful. The only two caveats involve the tiny baths, which were decorated in rustic tile and suited the atmosphere of the place, and the rather rugged walk up and down the stairs from town. If you have knee issues, take a taxi! Otherwise, the charm of this surprising little hotel will more than make up for any effort spent in getting to it. The four of us loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serafinamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I have been married for nearly 40 years and have never stayed anywhere as charming and peaceful. It's character and charm were a welcome break from Barcelona and Seville. Loved the gardens, music and views. The breakfast felt like home, healthy and low calorie. We had no expectations upon arrival and left wanting to extend our stay. Ronda is a lovely town. Ronda and Alavera de los Banos will linger in our memories for many years!

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovedSpain57182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

In many ways I really loved this little hotel - ambience/service/breakfasts/location/great chilling but unfortunately I have a few niggles (perhaps my expectations were too high based on the previous reviews)? The room was too small, also a tiny bathroom and the shower so small you could not turn around with either switching it off or getting stuck to the shower curtain. The toliet made a clanking noise all night so unfortunately we did not sleep well on both nights we stayed. The light in the bathroom was broken and the side light in the bedroom would not plug in (when we moved the bed to find the plug there was a thick layer of dust). We enjoyed our stay for the other reasons but to be honest I probably would not stay again here, although Ronda was our favourite place in Andalucia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Ronda is beautiful and the hotel is, at least, so beautiful as Ronda: could speak of the landscape, of the location of the hotel, of the garden, the rooms, the cup of wine taken by the pool in the evening, but I think you need to go there for better understanding. Lovely place. Enchanted atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but I think that the rooms in the ground floor, with door and overlooking to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francisco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Everyone should stay at this hotel!The location is peaceful just a 5 minute walk from town.The views from the breakfast table are beautiful and what a breakfast!The staff are excellent and very helpful.Will definitely be back.Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and breakfasts are exceptionally good. The location below the town makes it very peaceful, with a lovely view of the countryside and horses from the tranquil garden. The only small niggle is a lack of storage space, but that was compensated for by everything else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishw0manabr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Property: Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Address: Calle Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alavera de los Banos 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing