We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Bedminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough nice things about Alavera de los baños - but I'll try! The location is perfect, next to the Arab Baths on a very quiet cobbled street, and a short climb up some old steps to get to the town centre. Parking was easy and free. Christian and Inma were very friendly and helpful and speak many languages. The interior decor was awesome - Morroccon themed, very clean and cosy with gentle Flamenco music in the background. The gardens and pool were lovely too and looked out into fields of horses! Room was very charming (check out the photos) and the honesty bar was a nice touch. We had a few lovely glasses of Ronda wine.

I have never considered returning to the same town or hotel after a holiday, but we loved Ronda and Alavera de los Baños so much that we will definitely return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Owain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    159
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
72
485
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This small hotel, on the edge of the old town, is wonderfully peaceful and serene, set below the bridge and overlooking a horse farm. Decorated in a hacienda style it has a gorgeous communal area with sofas and chairs and books, and an "honour bar" when the staff are gone. Breakfast in the same room, or weather permitting on the terrace is a highpoint. Only a few minutes walk to the heart of the old town, albeit up a steep path / stairs.

Only downside is the rooms are quite small and the bathroom extremely small to the pont of ridiculousness. I have seen bigger bathrooms in a Winnebago.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Walking distance to all of Ronda (if you don't mind some serious stairs), gorgeous breakfasts, lush patios and vistas out into the countryside. We got a weekend there but I could have stayed a month - it was so relaxing and peaceful. The breakfasts were fantastic. We stayed in lots of higher-end places all over Spain, this one was a better price and a homier, more comfortable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyneuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is the first Trip Advisor review I have written, in fact I joined in order to do this! I felt like I should share our fantastic experience of staying at Alavera de los Banos. The hotel is beautiful with amazing staff who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was just right and was even served in our room on the last day. The gentleman on reception gave so many recommendations of places to eat during our stay, I would certainly suggest asking him as we had some fabulous meals on his recommendations.

As long as you don't mind walking up a few steps to get in to the old town to explore and to walk to get an evening meal, I'd definitely recommend a stay here. I would go back tomorrow, Ronda is a beautiful place and the hotel is the perfect base for exploring the town and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel was beautiful and perfectly positioned to explore Ronda by foot, if you don't mind some steps. Free parking was a bonus too. We went in arch so it was a little too cold for the pool but the scenery was astounding.

Breakfast was fresh and generous. The staff were really helpful and recommended one of the best restaurants that I've ever had the pleasure of dribbling with ecstasy at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ThatchBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with my 3 night stay here. Good service, good food and a lovely addition to have an honesty bar at night when the staff finished. Nice to be able to come back at siesta time and sit on the veranda with the snacks provided for a little extra cost! Any questions we had, the staff were most helpful! Especially on the last morning, we were due to leave before breakfast so the kitchen prepared a lovely picnic for us to take away with us for our trip home!

Very nice rooms & relaxing ambience all round!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junio, Owner at Hotel Alavera de los Banos, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks ever so much for your kind and favourable observations on our hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your remarks. It is appreciated. It gives us
further encouragement to make each customer´s stay as comfortable,
happy and memorable as we can. We look forward to your coming back.
Best regards. Christian and Inmaculada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for one night last week at Alavera de los banos. The hotel was a little tricky to find- ( do not use booking.com address) but well worth seeking out. Set at the base of the ancient city walls, by the Arab baths and surrounded by countryside, the hotel is an Oasis within 5 minutes walk of all the main sites of Ronda. Beautifully decorated and managed by very pleasant and helpful people, Los banos may have few stars officially but provides a genuinely luxurious experience. The common area is very relaxed and has an honesty bar out of hours. Breakfast was beautiful. Fresh and individually made breakfasts far exceeded any other we had in Andalucia and rounded off the stay perfectly.
The country inn next door ( recommended by the hotel) is also worth a visit for rustic andalucian food and an entertaining local landlord.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
660 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Property: Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Address: Calle Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alavera de los Banos 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing