We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel Ronda
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
wales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Pros; free wifi, great position by bull ring; a must see, reasonable price, 55 euros for us, friendly staff, good bed, good heating system
average ; odd onsuite layout, odd smell in room :- was a bit like polish but became a bit pervasive
cons; breakfast very poor, room 39 on back street with revelers till 4 am

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    68
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

Stayed here one night and was, overall, very pleased with the experience. Unlike the experience of a previous reviewer, both of the the desk staff we encountered spoke well enough English so that our questions were understood and answered.

The location is good - right on the main drag into town and a couple blocks before you get to the bull ring. The rooms in front can be a bit noisy but the windows are insulated. We asked for and got a room in back on a side street so didn't experience much noise. Auto parking is at the public lot under the main square but there's a reserved dropoff-pick up space just across from the hotel's main entrance. And the small park right across the street and extending out to the cliff edge is really something.

This was one of the cleanest hotels we've stayed in - both in the room and in the public area. Shiniest floor I've seen since the army. The breakfast was typical continental style and decent enough. We'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, Price, Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_Samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2007 for 58 euros each night. Its a good location across from the lovely park. We found it easily, short walk from bus station. When we left, we took a cab to the train station although you can walk if you don't have too much luggage.

Communication with the front counter staff was a bit awkward, we don't speak Spanish and his english was the worst we encountered. That's not really his fault at all, we are visitors after all. It was awkward because he didn't seem too confident in our reservation print out we gave him, but in the end he gave us our room key.

There was breakfast included in our stay, we didn't know this and missed it the first day. The same counter guy was confused why we didn't go the first day and informed us that it was included so we went the second day. Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but free is good. It's set up like a school cafeteria style.

We will probably stay at a nicer place next time. Ronda is beautiful and great. The town's Info center was helpful with free maps and where to find internet. I was surprised that the shopping was great - I bought many pairs of shoes - had to stop myself from getting more. For food, Traga Tapas has fantastic tapas.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2006

Very clean and friendly,first drawback was that we had to walk a fair distance for breakfast at another hotel, it advertised Bed & Breakfast, second drawback, it also so advertised ample parking, but we had to go about a half a kilometer to a public underground car park, which we had to pay extra for, this was not stated on the hotel website.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Having to walk to another hotel for breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't take a car as it will cost you extra to park it
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miklyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2006

I have stayed at the Royal on three occasions when in Ronda on a short break, ususally 1 or 2 nights. The hotel is in a prime location, just opposite the park and approx 150 metres from the Bull Ring, ideally placed for shopping and some great restaurants and bars. Breakfast isn't included in the rate, but there is a great cafe just downstairs, as well as a really friendly tiny little bar. The public areas in the hotel are all immaculate, with marble staircases and wide hallways. The rooms are on the smaller side, with just the basics, but they are clean and practical and the beds are comfy. The staff are first class and cannot do enough to help. Highly recommended for travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Molino
Hotel Molino
#32 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Tajo
Hotel El Tajo
#20 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#9 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arunda I
Hotel Arunda I
#27 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Ronda

Property: Royal Hotel Ronda
Address: Calle Virgen de La Paz 42, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel Ronda 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing