We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location.. but oh, the breakfast..”
Review of Hotel El Horcajo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Horcajo
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Have just spent a couple of nights in Hotel El Horcajo, which is situated about 20 mins from Ronda. We were a party of 3 adults and 4 children (aged between 6 and 11) and were using this as a base to explore Ronda and the surrounding countryside. The hotel is/was a farmhouse and guests stay in simple, basic rooms scattered around a central courtyard in what look like converted stables. Each room has its own small terrace and is very basically equipped with wardrobe, sofa and table (no fridge, but we were given a bucket of ice at the bar which was fine). The accommodation is nice and has all you need for a short stay. Air conditioning worked well and bathroom/beds were clean although the sheet on our bed was warn and had a hole in it. I would have liked a blanket as it was fairly cool in the night. We loved the tranquility of the place; no traffic or noise, stunning views, fig and citrus trees, cattle and pigs grazing in the fields - it was heavenly around the pool. A couple of things could be improved though. Breakfast was a pretty miserable affair: packets of long life croissant, tinned peaches, toast etc.. Fresh fruit, fresh bread and pastries would have improved it so much. Coffee was grim and the butter needed to be kept colder as it had turned rancid. We were also upset to find out that one of our children had no sheets and pillowcase on her bed during her stay. As she slept upstairs we did not notice this until the day we were leaving - although it must have been obvious to housekeeping that someone had slept on an unmade bed when they made up the beds in the morning. A bit shabby really. Nevertheless, and in spite of this, we enjoyed our short break here and we would recommend this hotel simply for its beautiful location and tranquility. It also takes pets which is good if you have a dog. The owners must do something about the breakfast though as it is really letting things down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was our second stay here and we loved it! The accommodation is basic but clean and spacious. The food isn't sophisticated but it's good home cooking at a very reasonable price. We especially liked the oven cooked dishes. I'm going to try to make the courgette bake at home! The pool is well sighted for the evening sun and we appreciated the new sunloungers. The pigs were a source of much entertainment and the grounds are a real treat for birdwatchers. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

What a beautiful spot only a short scenic drive from Ronda! Quaint rooms full of charm, a idyllic pool setting (watch out for the falling figs!) and the best food we had on our two week trip through Andalusia. Well worth the drive off the beaten path!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This is a simple, rustic budget hotel in the middle of nowhere, therefore very quiet. But it is easy to find because it is well sign posted.
The staff is very friendly and speak good English.
The rooms are clean but sparse, but they have airco; a necessity in the Spanish summer. Unfortunately the rooms lack a fridge and have a TV with a screen the size of a post stamp.
The hotel lies within easy striking distance of the quaint town of Ronda.
The fare is wholesome, but do not expect culinary delights.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed her for a few nights to visit Ronda and the Natural Park around Grazelema. The hotel has a pleasant, rustic ambience in a stunning location. It is also very good value for money. It offers very basic, sparsely furnished accommodation (though with air conditioned and good shower). Food is of canteen quality - though prices reflect this (around 6E for a main course, 3E for a starter/dessert when we stayed). The hotel is equi-distant between Ronda and Grazelema (around 18kms to each), which is where you'll find the nearest collection of restaurants. Great location for visiting the coutryside/walking in the area - the scenery in the Grazelema Natural Park is beautiful. Staff were quite helpful, though it's useful if you have a smattering of Spanish. The pool area is pleasant, though the limited number of loungers are well past their replacement date. Free parking. No wifi.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AdandAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed here as a break from touring Barcelona and then Cordoba. The location is idyllic and the hotel has so much character. We used it as a base for touring the Sierra De La Grazelama and Ronda areas. Follow the directions given by the hotel and you will have no difficulty finding the El Horcajo but if you contact them they will give you GPS data.

This is not a fancy resort but it does have a pool and a restaurant where we had breakfast and dinner everyday. The food was good and reasonably priced, the staff were pleasant and helpful.

The plumbing was a little eccentric but this was not a major problem and we highly recommend the El Horcajo.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed here for a week, using it as a base to explore Ronda, Grenada, Cadiz, Seville and the Costa del Sol.
The hotel is about a mile down a twisting track from a mountain road.
Pure bliss. The only sounds are of the birds and little pigs that run around on the land around the hotel.
Enjoy perfect peace.
The hotel is basic but clean. the staff are helpful in the extreme.
I would recommend it to my best friend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Firstfooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
9.9 mi away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#29 of 40 in Ronda
26 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
#31 of 40 in Ronda
96 reviews
6.7 mi away
Don Benito Hotel
Don Benito Hotel
#23 of 40 in Ronda
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 40 in Ronda
536 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#13 of 40 in Ronda
430 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Horcajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Horcajo

Address: Carretera A-2300 | Km 21,800, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Horcajo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel El Horcajo is located within the boundary of Grazalema Natural Park. The park encompasses the western section of the Cordillera mountain range and is at an altitude of between 250m and 1654m above sea level. Hotel El Horcajo Ronda Entorno The Park has an area of over 50,000 Hectares and has been declared a UNESCO 'Biosphere Reserve'. It is also designated by the EC as an area of special protection for birds. The park is a botanist's dream, boasting an exceptional richness of flora. There is an area of natural forest of the Spanish fir-Abies pinsapa - which is a remnant of the forest which covered the region during the last glaciation. Such an area is found nowhere else in Spain. The species has been in existence since the Tertiary period and are known as "living fossils". The other vegetation in the park, such as cork oak and the wide variety of beautiful wild flowers, is distinctly Mediterranean. There is plenty of wildlife, including mountain goats, foxes and roe deer; and birds like the common vulture (one of the largest colonies in Europe, in fact), the osprey eagle and the golden eagle. The park is on the migration route for birds flying south from Northern Europe to Africa. Eagles can be frequently spotted in the park. Hotel El Horcajo Ronda Entorno From a geological point of view the park belongs to the Cordillera betica. On the western perimeter of the park are found three important caves. The Cueva del Hundidero, Cueva del Gato and Cueva de la Pileta. The natural Park of Grazalema is a nature lover's paradise. Interesting to note is the fact that the park has its own microclimate, with some areas recording the highest average rainfall in Spain. This is due to the absence of any significant mountains to the west. When the wind blows from the Atlantic in the west, these are the first mountains the humid air meets. The effect is very localized with some zones of the park recording three times the rainfall of other nearby points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Horcajo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing