We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rural setting 15 km outside Ronda”
Review of Hotel El Horcajo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Horcajo
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely location and good basic breakfast. In an area of outstanding natural beauty. Basic but clean accommodation. Lots of wasps when we were there which were a nuisance and deterred from using the swimming pool. Surrounded by fruit trees such as lime, figs, pomegranate and date palms as well as the obligatory olive trees. The drive way into the hotel is probably more suited to a 4x4 in winter as it is steep and on an unmade road. Dinner was very good. Limited menu but well cooked and excellent value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank princessshrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came directly from the noisy ”Feria de abril” in Sevilla to this wonderful place. The direction written on their homepage made it really easy to find.

And this place people, is a diamond in heaven. It’s basically surrounded by vineyards and other farms. And there – in the valley is the hotel. The only thing you’ll hear here is the sounds of sheep and cows.

The only reason for us staying only one night is because they were completely fully booked for the upcoming week. But I guess it was for the best because of else we would have e-mailed our bosses and quit our jobs and stayed there forever.

So, what was so great then? First, you have the the amazing staff. They don’t hesitate to help you out with everything from special food requests (I have coeliac disease) to call to ask if there’s any availability in the other hotels in the area, to late in the evening getting us another extra pillow.

Second – the food and wine. Here you have a world class chef hidden in this valley. The three course meal was totally great. No that is an understatement – it was beyond words- good. It felt very organic and fresh. The slow cooked meat basically melted in my mouth. WOW!
I seriously only have one funny downside on this trip and this is that I scraped my face on the parasol next to the pool. But this is my own fault because me and my husband shared a bottle of a very yummy wine on the poolside.

GO here before you die. Seriously, you’ll find peace in your soul.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Old farmhouse in a remote location (in a valley, along a private road). Good access to Ronda, Grazamela and other locations in the area. Good area for hiking and biking. Rooms very comfortable (central heating for the Winter), and breakfast good for Spanish measures.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nldeeri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Have just spent twelve days at the hotel and enjoyed every minute.Lovely staff - always helpful despite our inability to speak a word of Spanish. Good basic home cooking - very reasonably priced and huge portions, Well situated pool which we had to ourselves on many occasion, Cool, clean, spacious rooms - far better air con than many more expensive hotels that we have stayed in. Love the area and the hotel hence this was our third visit. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are basic but spacious. They all have a terrace and very good air con. We've staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel is situated 20 km outside Ronda and is not easy to find, Before entering the courtyard by car, you have to open an electric fence, that keeps the sheep, wild boars and other wild animals outside the territory. So when driving the car outside, be careful not to hit the wild animals on the road there.
The hotel has many charming original rustic elements in the rooms and the central saloon-suite with fireplace. The swimming pool is very nicely located in the hilly surroundings. The Internet is also rustic with a very slow speed but you can catch up speed in Seville. The meals are very basic and rustic, but that is where yup are comic for. For us this hotel was a very relaxing and satisfying start of our Andalusia trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickRots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Simple spacious rooms (loads of space for bags) with high ceilings and wood beams, a 'hallway' has a 3rd bed. We liked the way it was in keeping with the rural setting Clean quality bed linen. Back door onto a little 'courtyard' - not private, but it was when we were there as the 4 other rooms weren't full - there are chairs and a table. Mosquite net over window so you can have cool night air instead of aircon (it was hot summer when we visited) and also while we were the the full moon was up and shining in the room while the crickets did their thing...very nice.
Bathroom drains slightly whiffy now and again, but the whole place was kept very very clean. Re an earlier review which mentioned insects - as it's in the middle of nowhere and you step out into farmland so we were surprised by how few insectst there were...I think we saw one ant in the hall and a small grasshopper in the bathroom.
Gorgeous scenery - ask about the short walk around the back of the property, there are pata negra pigs out foraging, the trees where they remove bark for cork, lots of sheep with and without bells, lizards, birds etc.
Pool area has sun & shade, an outdoor shower, sunbeds and the pool itself was quite small but deep, cool & clean.
We had breakfast both days - a better breakfast than in most of our hotels for the price - cheese, cold meat, bread, cereals(!!), basic fruit, teas, juices weren't fresh pressed, coffee was good despite my initial concerns about the machine - like strong filter coffee rather than espresso. We had dinner and a bottle of wine one night (went to Zahara the 2nd night) and it was enjoyable 'home cooked' and good value.
The man on the desk was really nice, and I think you definitely get more out of it if you speak a little bit of Spanish. I would definitey go back if I visited the area again.

Room Tip: altho we had a room in the front courtyard we didn't get noise from staff or other visitors as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FeistyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I recently visited our son who lives in Spain. We met our son in Madrid, rented a car and our game plan was to just drive south and enjoy our ten days together and the wonderful country of Spain. We decided to spend a few days in Ronda, a beautiful town built on the top a a mountain with views that were spectacular. With so many shops and restaurants we had to spend a few days here. Our son's friend had told him about the Hotel El Horcajo, so we decided to give it a try. The hotel is located about 15 minutes from Ronda and sits on the edge of a state park. As we made our turn off the main road to a winding, gravel road we could see the hotel at the bottom of the hill. What a peaceful setting. We stopped the car at two locations to take pictures----a real pretty location, and we haven't even arrived yet. We were greeted in the office by a very nice young lady, and we arrived in time for dinner which is served in the dining room next to the office. The dinner menu changes every night and this nights dinner was a fish or meat dish. Breakfast is served every morning and was included in the cost of the room. During our stay we elected to go into town for our dinner only because we wanted to explore Ronda and usually stayed out very late. We ate breakfast at the hotel and enjoyed the fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, cheese, hams, breads and good spanish coffee. Just right to get us started for the day. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. We were greeted in the morning by the sound of a rooster and other farm animals. You can't find that staying in the city--- and we loved it! One of the things we really enjoyed was the sky at night. Being in a valley and far away from the city lights, the stars were spectacular and the sounds of nature at night were the best. This was one spot on our journey we won't forget and would return to again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
9.9 mi away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#29 of 40 in Ronda
26 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
#31 of 40 in Ronda
96 reviews
6.7 mi away
Don Benito Hotel
Don Benito Hotel
#23 of 40 in Ronda
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
7.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#13 of 40 in Ronda
430 reviews
8.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#14 of 40 in Ronda
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Horcajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Horcajo

Address: Carretera A-2300 | Km 21,800, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Horcajo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel El Horcajo is located within the boundary of Grazalema Natural Park. The park encompasses the western section of the Cordillera mountain range and is at an altitude of between 250m and 1654m above sea level. Hotel El Horcajo Ronda Entorno The Park has an area of over 50,000 Hectares and has been declared a UNESCO 'Biosphere Reserve'. It is also designated by the EC as an area of special protection for birds. The park is a botanist's dream, boasting an exceptional richness of flora. There is an area of natural forest of the Spanish fir-Abies pinsapa - which is a remnant of the forest which covered the region during the last glaciation. Such an area is found nowhere else in Spain. The species has been in existence since the Tertiary period and are known as "living fossils". The other vegetation in the park, such as cork oak and the wide variety of beautiful wild flowers, is distinctly Mediterranean. There is plenty of wildlife, including mountain goats, foxes and roe deer; and birds like the common vulture (one of the largest colonies in Europe, in fact), the osprey eagle and the golden eagle. The park is on the migration route for birds flying south from Northern Europe to Africa. Eagles can be frequently spotted in the park. Hotel El Horcajo Ronda Entorno From a geological point of view the park belongs to the Cordillera betica. On the western perimeter of the park are found three important caves. The Cueva del Hundidero, Cueva del Gato and Cueva de la Pileta. The natural Park of Grazalema is a nature lover's paradise. Interesting to note is the fact that the park has its own microclimate, with some areas recording the highest average rainfall in Spain. This is due to the absence of any significant mountains to the west. When the wind blows from the Atlantic in the west, these are the first mountains the humid air meets. The effect is very localized with some zones of the park recording three times the rainfall of other nearby points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Horcajo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing