We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
392
168
33
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
168
33
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townsun setshotel restaurantspectacular viewslady at receptionjunior suitebalcony overlooking the gorgeel tajo gorgefantastic locationsmall poolacross the bridgethe cliffsitting areafirst morningsmall hotelloved this hotelenjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Maybe we got off to a bad start when we waited ages to check in behind another couple who were being given all sorts of advise - or whatever it was; we don't understand German. when we finally got our turn, we were handed the keys and that was it. This after a long wait at the station for a taxi.

We opted out of the rooms with a view so had rooms overlooking the entry, but this wasn't really a problem with windows and curtains shut. Decor was nice in a traditional Spanish style building. There was an elevator and air-conditioning, which we needed in October. Our twin beds (two single women) were VERY close together. Clean and well equipped bathroom with bathtub and L'Occitan de Provence supplies.

Breakfast was substantial though inside the restaurant, the views were not as good as I imagined when booking, but turns out my travel companion has vertigo anyway. Access to the balcony to enjoy the view was not encouraged.

Next day we found reception very unhelpful when we had queries about buses. Again we waited while others received a friendly reception. We were polite and patient so maybe it was a language thing, but we felt ignored and this coloured our view of our stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the view or look for better-value alternatives in Ronda.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rockinryoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We found most aspects of our stay at this hotel very satisfactory. It didn't start so well when we arrived and had to park in the street outside the hotel entrance and block the traffic. The hotel concierge jumped up saying something I'm sure was not complimentary but my Spanish is not great. He raced out and parked our car elsewhere before coming back to do our check in. I had been told to park in a little car nook opposite but I had forgotten. The problem is that travellers have to take in a lot of information and travel can be tiring and stressful, especially negotiating those tight little laneways...

However, our overall experience of the hotel was very positive. We had a junior suite and I think that guarantees you a view, although I'm not absolutely sure. If it does, I would recommend upgrading as Ronda is such a unique town and it is worth a small splurge. We loved this hotel and have happy memories of our stay there. Eating in the dining room was, as one reviewer mentioned, a bit of a puzzle when the breakfast room seems to have a more pleasant ambience. However, the food, the service and the atmosphere was of a very good standard and we enjoyed it.

The only negative was that the bathroom had a funky smell but we opened a small window and it seemed to dissipate somewhat.

We would stay here again and recommend it. We felt the Parador opposite being larger would be more impersonal and it looked more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneEchidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The terrace of this hotel has the most wonderful view, but unfortunately the terrace itself is rarely visited by the sunshine. The Parador across the gorge has a much better situation. Having said that its a lovely hotel. I asked for a rom with a bath and a view, I got the bath but not a view of the gorge, but did get a little roof terrace with chairs and table.[room 201] The décor is fairly opulent, and the bathroom well equipped.
We had lunch on the terrace which, apart from the view, was fairly ordinary. In the evening aupper was also served on the terrace, now enclosed by plastic sheeting to keep out the cold, as well as the view, as the gorge is floodlit at dark. Calor gas heaters warmed the space somewhat. Supper was good, we both had lamb, but on the expensive side.
It surprised me in the morning therefore that breakfast was served [good too] in a perfectly nice dining rom with large glass French doors overlooking the gorge. Why supper is not served in this room during the cooler months is a mystery to me.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room with a view as I did, but obviously no guarantees.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Two friends and I booked a triple room with a view for one night. Upon arrival at about 1:00 in the afternoon, we were told they couldn't find our reservation. We had a copy of our email confirmation. After some searching, the receptionist said she found our reservation but our room wasn't ready. They offered to hold our luggage and put it in our room when it was ready.

We returned to the hotel about 4:00 in the afternoon. Upon entering our room, we realized they had put us in a room overlooking the street with our small balcony being shared with another room overlooking the air conditioning unit. When we complained, we were told there were no more rooms left. We asked to speak to the manager. He was not on the property and refused to talk to us on the phone. He finally agreed to return to the hotel but refused to do anything for us. After an extreme amount of arguing, the manager agreed to charge us the fee for a room without a view. Really??? We did not accept his magnanimous (extreme sarcasm) offer of charging us the price the room was supposed to be. We felt we should be compensated in some way for this huge mistake on their part. After we continued to argue with him, the only thing the manager ended up doing is giving us a discounted rate on the room. We thought he should have told the receptionist to do this. We shouldn't have had to argue for almost an hour to get it.

This was a very disappointing experience. It's difficult to find triple rooms. So we always book well in advance and reconfirm before leaving the US. Plus the reason for staying at his hotel was because of the view. It was obvious they gave our room away and didn't tell us. The way the situation was handled was so unprofessional. Although the hotel was very cute and in a good location, I can't recommend it. It was a very disappointing experience. Had the manager handled it in a different way, I would give it a different review.

Room Tip: There's no need to choose a room because they will overbook and put you wherever they feel like.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Absolutely enjoyed and recommend this small boutique hotel. Starting from the reservation to the checkout was pleasant. We were attended by Ms. Angela who was so welcoming. It is located on a narrow street on the right side as you cross over the "Puente Nuevo." The location is fantastic, really close to several restaurants and tapa bars and the Plaza de Toros (Maestranza Ronda), where you can take a tour.

We stayed in the junior suite #104 and really think this room was perfect. The bathroom was spacious with two sinks located on opposite ends. The sitting area was cozy and as you open a french window, you have the spectacular view of the Ronda Gorge under the "Puente Nuevo" - great photo opportunities. There is a little loft with the most comfortable firm king size bed. We slept very well. We drove and reserved a parking space in their private parking garage that can accommodate 5 cars (additional $16 Euro per night, but so worth it given how narrow the streets are and there is no street parking close to the hotel).

As you finish checking in you can walk straight out into the entrance of the hotel's restaurant Albacara. Tables are dressed in linen and the view is again spectacular. So worth having lunch to oooh and awwwe just how beautiful the scenery is. We ordered a tapa sample plate with a glass of wine. The tapas were delicious. We returned late in the evening and I just wanted chicken consomme - this was not on the menu - the chef bent over backwards to prepare a nice bowl with fresh sliced boiled chicken to put into the broth if I wanted.

We really enjoyed our stay and are happy to have had the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews