We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great view.”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Everyone at this hotel was very welcoming and very helpful. Our room had an awesome view. We ordered room service our entire stay because we just didn't want to leave our room. We absolutely loved it. It was very clean and ample. Bathroom was very modern. Outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We (57 y.o. married couple) stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Montelirio in mid-June 2014, and thought it was great. The hotel is located right on the gorge, on Calle Tenorio, the first side street in the moorish district after you cross the Ponte Nueva. It's a small hotel in an old building with a small central atrium/court. The rear of the building features a cascading set of gorge-facing levels: The street level has a quality restaurant with a fabulous view from it's dining deck (we ate there one night, good food); one level below the street contains their breakfast room with another fabulous view (and a good €11 breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order); two levels down is a sun deck with small pool and phone for ordering drinks, again with stunning gorge views.

Upon arriving we were offered the opportunity to upgrade our room to a larger room on the gorge side at a discounted rate. The offer was made pleasantly and without pressure. We asked to see our original room and the upgrade room and decided to keep our cheaper street-side room. The gorge side room was hot due to its western exposure, and while it had a spectacular view, we thought we'd likely have to keep the curtains closed to help keep it cool. Our street-side room and bathroom (108) were quite large; the desk clerk mentioned that they usually give the larger rooms to people who stay more than one night (there's a tip). It was more than adequate, and we felt that with all the common area views, a gorge-side room just wasn't necessary.

The hotel's decor is not super chic, but with some nice touches and clean and in good repair. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the desk clerk reviewed the sights on a map with us at check-in and suggested tapas bars, the waitress made sure I had a drink when I used the pool, and the restaurant maitre d' and waiters were enthusiastic and attentive. The hotel also responded promptly via e-mail in the week before we traveled when I wrote to verify my Hotels.com reservation made three months prior at a very reasonable rate. I would recommend the Hotel Montelirio to Ronda tourists and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent a week in Andalusia and this was our favorite hotel. The view from the terrace is beyond description-one of the most breath-taking views ever. The staff were so accommodating. It is in the old part of town so there isn't room to park there. However we were given very clear instructions about where to park just a few (scenic) blocks away near one of the most beautiful little squares behind the cathedral. Once parked we could walk everywhere. And the restaurant! We dined right on the terrace. The view breathtaking, the service attentive and professional and the food fabulous. Rooms and beds excellent, quiet and comfortable. If you can afford it go for the upgrade for the view. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Montelirio for 2 nights and had a wonderful time! We payed for the upgraded room with view and "balcony" and it was well worth the extra price. The hotel is in a superb location and has an amazing view of the gorge! It's only a short walk to the center of town and also just a quick walk to the trail that takes you down into the gorge. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room is equipped with an electric tea kettle and has some delicious mint tea as well as some other good choices. One of the downfalls of this hotel is that there is not a refrigerator in the room. The upgraded rooms are very well decorated and quite large, they even have a sitting area with sofa, chair and tables. The breakfast is worth the price, they have a good selection and you can even order eggs to your liking. We would definitely return to this hotel and the city of Ronda! Great time!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for the bigger suite and the best view of the gorge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing, the rooms are classic and very comfortable. We were spoiled with the excellent, personal service of Mrs Ángela! She made our stay extra pleasant! Thank you again! When visiting Ronda do not forget to visit the pueblos blancos, absolutely fabulous nature!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the gorge, you won't be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed just one night at Hotel Monteirio in Ronda. Room was quite small, but well furnished. I had hoped for some sort of view room, but not to be. Staff was very helpful and took care of parking and retrieving our rental car. View from the restaurant is breathtaking. We would stay again, but only if a view room were available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanandJanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I were in Ronda for two days, the hotel is in the old town, 3 minutes walk from el puente nuevo. The room was comfortable and clean and opening the window to El Tajo de Ronda was a treat. I would go back and stay at Montelirio again over and over

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: £82 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing