We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest good value with luxury touches - loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2007

What do you expect for less than £100 a night for two people? Mostly something pretty basic and pretty ordinary. This hotel does rather more and gives you more of a four star experience and a touch of five
star at two star money - which is its official rating.

The rooms are huge - around 20x20 feet with big bathrooms, separate terraces and comfortable furniture, and that's just the basic ones. The suites are twice as big. The style is crisp and modern, with bare
boards and rugs.

Breakfasts are fine - the usual mix of fruit, cheese, ham, cereals and so on. Nothing wrong with it except charging more for a couple of eggs is a bit strange.

Dinner is a choice of two options for each of three courses. The menu
is designed around whatever's good that day, accompanied by home-grown vegetables. It's first class cooking but not cuisine but at 35 euros a head you shouldn't expect more. The wine list is pretty good and the wine is stored properly. Again, it's moderately priced - not bad value at all.

There's an honesty bar which actually is an honesty bar - just sign and pour. Pretty much any drink you can name is there, along with all
the bits and pieces you need for cocktails and ice on tap, or rather via an ice machine.

The position is spectacular - I doubt you'll find better in the area,
apart from the Parador in Ronda (which is twice the price). It's also
conveniently situated for day trips, provided you have a hire car - which is a must. The grounds are well-tended by a gardener who obviously loves his job.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and are a fund of advice on the local area.

Now let's take some of the recent gripes. Lack of cleaning - not when
we were there. It was pretty much spotless. The only fault I saw was a bit of mould on the bathroom grout. I mentioned it to the managers and was assured that it was bign fixed. The pool was cleaned thoroughly every day (though a bit of warm water would have been welcome - it was distinctly refreshing to swim in).

Noise - there is a bit between floors but not a huge amount. Staff chatting when you want a siesta is not recommended but work has to be done.

Frogs - yup, there are there in the pond and at frog mating season they do like to draw attention to themselves. This can be annoying if
you are a very light sleeper but what is supposed to be done? Kill
the frogs? Personally, I like frogs and if they want to croak, let them croak. If you don't like frogs and croaking, don't come in early June. By the way, all Spanish frogs are called George - they shout Jorgé, Jorgé to each other.

Bathroom towels - seemed ok to me. If you want Frette, go to the Four Seasons and pay Four Seasons' prices. Don't get me wrong, I love Four Seasons. I just can't afford Four Seasons all the time.

Light at windows - have to agree that the light does come in a bit and I also hung up a towel. It's because the shutters don't quite fit. A little bit of adjustment and perhaps a draft brush would solve
the problem. Then again, it was hardly a chore to put up a towel.

Like a B+B - well, up to a point. All boutique hotels are a bit like B+Bs.

In all, if you want a restful break in great countryside with lots to see nearby and don't want to break the bank but do want a reasonable degree of comfort, this is a place for you. If you want true luxury, you'll have to pay a lot more for it. This is honest, good value served with a smile by people who enjoy you enjoying yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KennyKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2007

Very noisy and rooms really cold after sunset (we were told there was no air con - this now makes sense given how cold it got at night) but in a stunning location.

Being in such a remote spot we'd hoped for a quiet, relaxing stay but unfortunately our room overlooked the pool & restaurant area and we were constantly disturbed by the noise of other guests, cleaners/staff. On top of this, toads croaked round the clock which became really painful after awhile; much louder than any birds we've ever heard and they didn't stop at night.

Surprisingly the rooms were really cold in the evening/night. You would have expected a well run quality hotel to have recognised this and simply turn the heating on. This isn't acceptable when we you're paying good money, and it felt like they had more of an eye on their profit margins than their guests' needs. Most luxury hotel we've stayed in previously have had temperature controls in each room so you can self-regulate. It really was very chilly.

On the positive side, the rooms were large, the views incredible and the evening meals (albeit limited to 2 choices) were generally good with some excellent wines. Breakfasts were weak though.

Overall, it just didn't work for us. Despite being in the middle of nowhere, with huge amounts of land all around, this place was too cramped: the pool and restaurant were jammed in and the communal area was tiny.

Sadly this wasn't the relaxing break we were looking forward to.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SATs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

Not at all what we were expecting. Our decision to stay at Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera was based largely on the great reviews we had read on this web site. Unfortunately, as lovely as it looks in the photographs this is not a hotel, but a very good bed and breakfast house with restaurant. It is so cramped - to go to our room we had to go through the restaurant area - so new arrivals were (as we did) lugging bags through during dinner. It was particularly chilly when we arrived as Pom (husband of the Director) also observed, but he didn't think to turn the heating on! One evening we asked for some logs for the fire, by the time they'd dried out and started to burn we were getting up the next morning. Our stay was anything but relaxing, with our so called luxury suite a few feet overlooking the restaurant (impossible to sit in the sitting room due to the noise of people talking/eating) with a pond of frogs/toads croaking 24hrs a day outside our bedroom window, the noise was actually intolerable. Together with poorly furnished/decorated bathrooms, dirty looking towels, bedding and having to hang towels at the windows to stop early morning light coming through, we really wondered whether we were at the right place. The other guests all appeared quite uptight.....if their room was anything like ours it wasn't surprising. We were told that washing our laundry wouldn't be a problem, but when presenting them with it we were asked "would you like it dried" and then having said yes to that unbelievable question were asked " would you like it ironed too" - 3 days later it returned, questionably washed, but ironed! The breakfast buffet table was basic with their daily fruit option being a bowl of chopped apple. The evening meals were good, a bit hit and miss, but that depends on taste. To make this place what it already thinks/says it is, we suggest the owners do some proper European market research if they're trying to offer pampered luxury and service in a haven of peace! The location is fabulous and so for that reason we manage to give it 2 out of 10 - book for one or two nights before committing to more.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This hotel is simply beautiful.

Beautiful setting on a hillside, looking across a valley to the mountains. Beautiful rooms, cool, chic and comfortable, all with a private patio or terrace and an open fire for cooler seasons. Beautiful smells from mint, rosemary and lavender planted in and around the garden and olive groves that surround it. Beautiful food, eaten on the terrace in summer and featuring local, organic food, including fantastic veg and salads from their own gardens.

The only things to disturb the perfect peace are the dawn chorus of the extremely cheeky sparrows and the mating calls of the frogs who live in the lily pond.

The owners and all the staff are charming, seem really to care about their guests, are quick to make recommendations for restaurants, sights and shopping and to jump queues on your behalf if you want a booking.

All this is about 90 minutes from Malaga airport, with Ronda ten minutes away, Marbella's shopping and glitz about an hour down a winding mountain road, Seville in easy reach, and lots more.

Whether you want a romantic long weekend (it was my birthday and special cava and a cake were produced), a break in a tour of Andalucia's sights or a week's relaxation, you'll struggle to do better. It would be lovely in winter, too, if you're into cultural tourism or wanted to get together with a group of friends or family.

It's also fantastic value for money. You could pay a lot more and get
something a lot less luxurious – and it'll be even better when they add a purpose-built indoor pool and spa, as they plan.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

We have just returned from our 5th annual trip to this hotel and yet again we were not disappointed. The hotel worked its usual magic and we felt relaxed as soon as we walked into our suite. The rooms, food and most importantly the staff are all fabulous. Tina, Pom and Frank are so welcoming you feel really at home. We love it that you have your own garden or terrace, its so peaceful and private we just cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlebKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_Crawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2.3 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,917 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#3 of 40 in Ronda
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
1.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera

Address: Lugar Partido Rural los Frontones S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ronda
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: £174 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a small luxury suite hotel run along the lines of a laid-back country house party thrown by friends. In a renovated rural olive oil mill, with beautifull Ronda within sight, where traditional Spanish architecture meets post-modern design and eclectic furnishing. A short drive from cosmopolitan Ronda but with all the country house comforts to tempt you to just siesta by the pool or on the lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fuente De Higuera
La Fuente De Higuera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing