We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good and well located hotel”
Review of Don Javier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Don Javier
Ranked #18 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel is located close to the New Bridge and to the Arena. The personnel is friendly and speaking English. The breakfast is included/

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aklyuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hotel is in a little sidestreet, so it's fairly quiet, until they start rolling up the canopies late at night. Forunately, this didn't take too long, and didn't matter too much as we were only there 1 night.
It's a very quaint hotel with the smallest reception/entrance I've come across! Our room was very ornately decorated, with very pretty lights, but there was no main light, so I left the bathroom light on all the time for extra light. It was the prettiest bathroom I've ever had in an hotel - all peach and white, clean and cosy. The bath was a bit difficult to step into, but that maybe because my mobility isn't what it used to be. The bed and pillow were heavenly comfortable.
For a 3* hotel, the breakfast was a rather poor offering with not much choice.
Overall, this was a delightful hotel well placed in the more interesting part of the town, and handy for everything. The staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for a short 1-2-3-night stay, or single traveller. For a longer stay, the compact size of everything may be a little much.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reinalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Booked this hotel with Booking.com. Previously e-mailed the hotel as I was worried about car parking. They gave 2 addresses and we google earthed the road which proved very useful.

The hotel has it's own web site and the pictures are very accurate. The rooms were full of character and well presented. The staff were excellent and welcoming.

We ate in one night there and the quality and service was very good.

When heading for the hotel best to go straight to the bull ring - restricted parking - however just nip into reception and they will provide a short parking permit to avoid and parking fines. The car park we were directed to was underground and we were charged Euro 14 for 2 nights - well worth the peace of mind.

We loved Ronda, staying 2 days which was just about right as the City is compact.

Room Tip: Head for the bull ring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Great rooms and decor, right in Ronda centre but our room was off the main street so no noise

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treblecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Turned up in Ronda on a Saturday evening with no reservation nad after trying the Parador abd a couple of other hotels found the Don Javier to have rooms available. Staff extremenly efficient and courtious. Hotel itself is situated in centre of town between the bridge and the bull ring, well appointed, clean and well worth staying at. Room was on main road side but this posed no problems. Ate there at night and had very good meal. Breakfast next morning was plain and simple. Great base to explore the town from.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evargsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

A great location as a good value price
Nice quiet room, but the bathroom could have been cleaner .... did not look cleaned from last visitor.
Staff very helpful
We ate both a dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Dinner was great. Breakfast was very minimal and the cereal was stale. 2nd day looked like left overs from the first day.

Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We got into Ronda without a reservation. Went to the tourist office and got a list of hotels. Don Javier happened to be right around the corner. We went in andwere told ,yes there were rooms. We asked how much and were surprised to hear 64 euros! The room was large with a good sized bathroom. We had windows that opened full length onto the street below. A great place to sit and sip wine after a long day of walking. Great for people watching too. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skygoddessDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Acinipo
Hotel Acinipo
#31 of 40 in Ronda
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 40 in Ronda
542 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#29 of 40 in Ronda
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maestranza
Hotel Maestranza
#21 of 40 in Ronda
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Javier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Javier

Address: Calle Jose Aparicio 6 | 7, Virgen de la Paz Av, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Javier 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Don Javier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Javier Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing