We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonsais, flowers and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jardin de la Muralla
Ranked #15 of 23 Ronda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bonsais, flowers and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although we just had a short stay at this hotel, we were very pleased by the informal way of being received in this charming house with a beautiful garden, spacious rooms and a very sympathetic owner ; Jose Maria.
A quiet place to stay longer next time, to try the home made paella and to have time to look at all bonsais and flowers

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    27
    14
    7
    14
See reviews for
21
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
195 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our second visit, 8 years after our previous trip. We are an all adult family of 3 couples ( parents and sons / partners ) and we really savoured our 4 nights enjoying this characterful property and its great location. It is at the quiet end of the old town, only 10 minutes walk from the Tourist heart around Puente Nueve and part of the attractive and pleasant Barrio San Francesco - there are some inexpensive and friendly bars and restaurants here. The bedrooms and public rooms are charming and authentically Andalucian, they are not necessarily perfectly functional but that is the way of traditional properties - we love them. There is a very tranquil ambience, and the beautiful and extensive landscaped gardens with the Espiritu Santu backdrop add considerably to this. There are magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and mountains beyond, and Jose Maria's singing birds are a real plus too. Jose Maria himself was welcoming, affable and helpful. He particularly excelled on our last day - our hire car was broken into on the Puerto del Viento and the angst and urgent logistical difficulties were eased considerably by his exceptional help and patient assistance. This is a top choice if you value charm, individuality, peaceful and natural surroundings and a very pleasant and helpful owner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suiza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Doesn't matter if is raining like ***** or the sun is presenting Ronda from its postal card side...think of all the superlatives you associate with an oasis of tranquility and you get the best description of this incredible B&B nested in beautiful Ronda! The hospitality of the owner is seeking for peers and having breakfast in the well preserved garden (sure spanish style and not english clean, but full of live) -surrounded by Bonsais, trees, flowers paired with a splendid view, is the way you look for to start a day in Ronda! A minute in the garden or the library and you will calm down immediately after a bustling day in the touristy part of the village. Would recommend to everybody to stay here and love to come back! The rooms are a bit old fashioned but fits perfectly to the house and preserve all the charme needed for such a place (again keep in mind you decided to go to Spain and not staying in a German tidy clean and characterless wellness resort). Don't expect five-star accommodation, as nobody claims to be, but a perfect setting for a really good sleep.

José Maria you made our day!!! (Important: Our recommendation is truly Independent and from two Europeans which travelled extensively and spend numerous nights in all kind of stays!)

Room Tip: Balcony-Garden-View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivaVIPKINGEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
556 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A small atmospheric hotel, with a very large garden containing many terraces for sitting and enjoying the beautiful views. The inside is very old, and is like stepping back in time. Good base for exploring the old town. Parking is also easy, locally.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hausen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

A super Location , the spacious Rooms with a hint of the orient , a good place to relax after exploring Ronda.
The breakfast , freshly cooked by the house Herr, was the best that we ate...take the eggs ! and the price amazing.
An evening meal cooked by the host is also to be highly recommended.
A very friendly host, felt more like visiting a friend, rather than a hotel. Unfortunately we could only stay 2 nights. Will defiantly stay if we are in the area.
If we where to stay at a different time of the year, we would defiantly take time to relax in the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaEller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a lovely and charming family owned bed and breakfast. Its a little off the beat and path but only a few minutes walk to the center of town. Our room was spacious and airy and overlooked the pool area and fields of olive trees. The bathroom had beautiful Spanish tile.
Even though breakfast was a little meager and you won't get little chocolates on your pillows at night, this is one of my favorite places to stay in Andalucia.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the pool area and the fields/cliffs beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attyhbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronda, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This definitely is a very special place; the hotel itself is beautiful. There are not too many rooms (6 or 8 or so) which adds to the exclusive feeling you get here. The hotel has one of the most beautiful and intimate gardens in Ronda. It boasts various terraces and places to sit, as well as a big swimming pool.
The hotel is owned and run locally and is conveniently situated inbetween the quiet, friendly barrio de San Francisco and the historical heart of Ronda, you can walk everywhere.
Although the place is quite luxurious, you feel at home from the first minute because of the typical Spanish friendly atmosphere. Homecooked organic meals are served in the restaurant, especially the paella is mouthwatering. I'm a difficult eater in that I have a few intolerances but I found my every wish met, no problem whatsoever.
Having explored Andalucía quite a bit, I have to confess that I Iost my heart to beautiful and friendly Ronda and this hotel embodies that feeling perfectly.
Kid de Winter

Room Tip: Uuuuuh, I've only seen one room but it was perfect, no noise or nothing, I had a great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid-de-Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.4 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin de la Muralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin de la Muralla

Property: Hotel Jardin de la Muralla
Address: Calle Espiritu Santo 13, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardin de la Muralla 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jardin de la Muralla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing