We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant week stay nothing was too much trouble. A real little gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Elaine, Ian and staff cannot do enough for you. Great Spanish welcome, cold drink on arrival. Beautifully renovated building with many court yards where you can sit and read or have a quiet drink. We stayed in a room with a fantastic terrace overlooking the stream for the first part of our stay then moved to a jacuzzi room for the remainder, what a treat. Everywhere is kept immaculately clean. Food was fantastic, especially the BBQ on a Saturday. Many different nationalities staying which made it really enjoyable. Asked for more hangers which I immediately received without question. Little gift left on bed each day which was a lovely touch along with the menu for that day. Will return next year to laze around the pool. Lots of info on the surrounding area available. Wasps a pain but they cannot do a lot about that. Take mosquito repellent for the odd bite.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room is a must if you can get them otherwise try to get one of the 2 rooms with a large terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmigcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

What a fantastic place! Stayed here for the very last day of our 2 week holiday and had the best off-sightseeing day we could imagine.

Hotel is a bit far out of Ronda so I wouldn’t recommend to walk but with a car you won’t have a problem. It is also not too hard to find. If you are on the main road just take the exit when you see Hotel Don Benito, a few meters behind you will find beautiful Hotel Molino del Puente. Parking is no problem and of course for free. Near hotel there are some train tracks but there is only little noise which won’t bother you as the train will only operate a few times a day.
Pool is exceptional. Very clean with enough sun cairs around for everybody. It is big enough to have a cool swim while Ronda’s temperature is heating up.

At our arrival we got to know the very friendly owner who showed us around the place. We were very lucky and received a free upgrade to an awesome room. It was very spaceous, had a huge bathroom with whirlpool and a nice king size bed. Wifi didn’t work that well but after talking to the owner had a good signal for a quite long time. The room was on the first floor and had private chairs and a table at the veranda which made it nice for us overlooking the whole hotel complex with the beautiful pool.

Coming to the food…. Yes it is expensive to have lunch & dinner there but food was really excellent and I don't think you get it much cheaper in touristic Ronda. Especially for a Vegetarian like me it was so convenient just to explain my needs to the english native speaking owners and they created such delicious meals for me. It was by far the best food I had in all of Spain! Breakfast was also very good and for free as included in the price.

All in all we totally enjoyed one perfect day without sightseeing at the pool of Hotel Molino del Puente and can recommend this place to everybody round the world.

Room Tip: Junior Suite - room no 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived here for an overnight stay on our way back home and taking the opportunity to explore Rhonda. On arrival, early afternoon, and after parking the car in the hotel's secured car park, we were greeted by two friendly young ladies who gave us a quick tour around the renovated mill and who showed us our superior double room with a wonderful Arab bath with separate shower and served us champagne cocktails.
The room did not have air-conditioning but a ceiling fan was enough to cool the place down.
The young lady showing us our room also sold us their tapas evening promising us excellent food.
After a trip to Rhonda (10 minute drive, €14.50 each way), we travelled back to enjoy the tapas evening when our disappointment started.
Although the tapas were very competitively priced (€12.50 pp) for 13 portions, we would have expected more Spanish flavours and typical Andalusian dishes. Unfortunate, and although the food was good, it was just home type cooking with potatoes dauphinoise, mini pork burger and sardines being the highlight. Other portions included olives, bread, garlic bread, broccoli cheese quiche, roast potato with garlic mayo... I would not recommend their tapas - Rhonda has better places to eat.
Promised WIFI did not work in the rooms, although the signal was strong enough, nor did it work in the bar/restaurant. We asked about it several times, only to be told "This happens - it goes on and off - keep trying, you might get lucky"
The pool needed some skimming as black leaves were sitting on the floor, and the bathroom needed a deep clean. Baked on dust in the corners, black marks on the ceiling, holes in the wall etc revealed some complacency from staff/owners.
This feeling was reinforced when we wanted to pay the following morning only to realise that the card machine, did not accept our credit cards. "It happens sometimes", a woman driving a blue Volvo, told us without offering any more explanations. We ended up paying in cash!

Rating average because of poor cleanliness, no promised free WIFI available, only Spanish TV satellite channels, and no credit card accepted at the time of check-out.

Room Tip: Eat in Rhonda and book a superior room with Arab bath - you'll enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We only stayed here for one night as we began a two-week driving holiday around Andalucía, so we can only speak as we found for that short time. Found Molino easily, with Elaine's directions and SatNav, and were treated to a very warm and personal welcome on arrival. By the time we had been there 20 minutes we knew the place inside out! We were fortunate enough to be given a room upgrade and we could not fault the room we had, especially the big Arab bath! Afternoon tea and cake on offer is a nice touch, and we ate at Molino in the evening and found the food on offer to be of good quality and well-presented.
Ian and Elaine were charming hosts and we felt very much at home very quickly, and in hindsight now with our trip over, we possibly would/should have stayed at Molino for a further couple of days, in order to make the most of the area and factor in some early chill-time!
If we do return to the area again we would have no hesitation in staying at Molino once more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fully1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you're looking for somewhere laid-back to stay while in Ronda, I highly recommend Hotel Molino del Puente. The pool is lovely and the atmosphere is relaxed. It's clear that Elaine and John love what they do: they were attentive and friendly, helping us navigate our way to a wedding and back and book taxis. They also give special attention to detail: we were welcomed with a complimentary champagne cocktail on the terrace and coffee and cake were served on the house every day in the late afternoon. Breakfast was excellent too. The room itself was basic, as you'd expect for the reasonable price but most importantly it was clean and comfortable. Personally, I thought it was exceptionally good value and I'll definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagalesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

On booking with this hotel, via www.booking.com, we got instant confirmation of our dbl room with terrace. About 3 weeks before our arrival we got a nice email from the owners with directions and satnav details for our intended stay. They also requested an approximate arrival time to enable them to have a cold drink waiting for us. Nice touch. As we were travelling from Granada to Ronda and stopping along the way I had no idea what time we would get there.
Anyway, we arrived around 5 ish on a Monday. The directions given were great, by the way. As Satnav decided it didn't like the unmade road to the hotel. First impressions on arrival were very good, just like the photos (strange I know LOL). Reception was unmanned, but a notice said staff would be I the restaurant/bar area and indeed they were.
A lovely young lady from Slovenia showed us to our room and gave us a welcome pack. As we were having a nosy round and a look over the balcony to the river, a knock on the door, and said young lady appeared with the Bucks Fizz complete with strawberry. Excellent.
One and only one grumble about the room, COATHANGERS, 5 only. Although this was 1 more than we had at our hotel in Granada, must be a Spanish thing.We weren't overloaded with clothes as we were 2 nights/2 guests but a massive wardrobe with few hangers, odd.
Evening meal was Tapas night, due to owners night off. Very good selection served at a nice steady pace. Served by Lorna, with the thick Glaswegian accent. Very friendly as were the hotel cats. One criticism of Tapas night, not quite enough for a big bloke, who would have preferred a piece of steak. The Tapas were full of flavour tho, and the dessert tapas were excellent if a little rich. The brownies were lovely, banoffee pie to die for. We had a few drinks in the bar then bed for a good nights sleep.
The room was a little warm for me and I woke early, however it was really nice to lay in bed with the patio doors open listening to the early morning birdsong and the babble of the river.
Tuesday breakfast, served in the dining room, was an excellent selection of cold meats, cereals, breads, juice and coffee on tap, tea on request. Bacon & eggs were the hot option.
We asked Elaine at breakfast if there was any local transport into Ronda, as it was our aim to get the train from Ronda to Algeciras to take in the scenery along the way. The train passes close to the hotel, but is not intrusive, and they are very infrequent. We had a hire car, but my intention was to have a drink/wander/eat in Ronda on our return from the train journey. Unfotunately public transport not readily accessible. Luckily Ian & Elaine were going into Ronda just before midday and kindly offered to take us the 6 or 7km to the train station. This was just right for us getting the 12.25 train. Thank You Ian & Elaine. On our return we had a few hours in Ronda then back to the hotel bar, having eaten in Ronda.
Ian and Elaine were in the bar with Megan, tip here: don't get talking to her, she doesn't stop talking, admittedly very entertaining though.
Wednesday breakfast similar to Tuesday but with a pot of tomato pure to spread on your toast with a little olive oil. Excellent.
Thanks too to Ian for his directions to travel through a few little villages to Juzcar on our way back to the coast.
All in all, an excellent in a very clean, friendly country hotel. Well worth the money. Well worth returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: Book early, only 2 rooms with terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mantalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It's a really amazing charming place. The owners, Ian and Elaine, are very nice and friendly and make you feel at home. Room was very spacious but basic - no fridge, also the bed is not very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is excellent, great variety of food. Diner is also very good here, unusually big portion for Spain.... :). WIFI reception is very poor even in the common area but we stayed only for 1 night so it was fine. Best stay in Spain!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
250 reviews
2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 40 in Ronda
560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda

Address: Lugar Partido Rural Fuente de La Higuera 7, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range: £59 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a well earned break - then this atmospheric new hotel converted from an old mill is the perfect escape Picture an 18th century old olive and flour mill converted into a luxury 10-bedroom hotel, set in stunning landscaped gardens scented with fruit trees and just five minutes from the historical mountain pueblo of Ronda, and you have a good idea of the brand new Hotel Molino del Puente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing