We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Ronda needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Curry & Grill - CLOSED

Curry & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What Ronda needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Finally a very good Indian restaurant in Ronda. All we needed! Delicious lamb with chickpeas. Great beer from India. Just enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ There's only so much "tapas" you can have! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Husband and I have been touring Spain for nearly a month and after a while you fancy something other than Spanish food! We didn't expect to find an Indian restaurant, but we are glad we did. Recently opened, we arrived early for dinner and were soon joined by others and the place started to fill up. The food is fresh and even though is basically presented, it is really tasty! Tandoori chicken tikka was juicy and piping hot and the biryani rice was fluffy and delicious. Our starters were equally good and they've even offered to make a Chana Massala even though it wasn't listed on the menu. We felt lucky to have found this place and will certainly return whenever in Ronda.

Helpful?
2 Thank MeMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth every cent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This Indian restaurant, newly established in Ronda, is a very pleasant surprise. Food is excellent, prices very decent, staff very professional and friendly, nice decor, we will go back whenever we can, without a doubt.

Before the meal, we were served papadums with the traditional sauces (mango chutney, a yogurt sauce and a more spicy sauce): very nice appetizer, the papadums were crispy as they should be, the sauces were in the "top-range" of the ones I have experienced with papadums.

The entree was Onion Bhaji, I can honestly say that this was one of the best Onion Bhaji I have ever had. Nothing short of delicious.

For mains, we had the chicken Korma and a "Madras-inspired" chicken curry with mushrooms. While I was skeptical about the Madras-mushrooms chicken at first, I must say that it was an extremely nice combination, the mushrooms delicately sweetening the sharpness of the Madras curry. Still reasonably spicy, but definitely more refined than the Madras chickens I have had to date. My partner was also delighted with the Korma.

The staff is attentive without being over-zealous.

Prices are very decent indeed, with Onion Bhaji at €4.50, the Korma and Madras chicken curries are €9.00.

The decor has a resolutely more contemporary appeal to it than most Indian restaurants I have been to, but very nice and comfortable. It has an outside terrace, which should make summer (evening) meals a very enjoyable experience.

We did not try the wines (arguably, wine is not the best drink to accompany Indian food anyway).

Only "downside": the restaurant is situated in one of the pedestrian streets in the old town of Ronda, so, no easy parking nearby. But then again, the same can be said of most restaurants in that area.

A "must-go-back" experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronda, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indian food instead of Tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

A welcome change and addition to the classic spanish tapas. Very friendly personal, good food. NOTE for any non-spanish speakers, they do speak English!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralf25514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Pedro de Tomar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New - and excitingly different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

An Indian restaurant in Ronda! It's a new venture and is genuinely Indian, run by Punjabis. The only concession to Spamish tradition is the addition of fried (and delicious) potatoes to the Indian ingredients.
Curry & Grill is in the heart of the restaurant district of Ronda and makes a very welcome change from the imitation, lacklustre Indian cuisine usually found in the Iberian peninsula. The menu is currently a little limited as the owners are now testing the market for curry but the usual favourites are there and you can tame the the flavour as you wish.
My wife had chicken dhansak; I had lamb roghan josh - and they were as good as any curries we have had outside India itself (a country we know very well). The nan, too, was excellent - another unexpected pleasure which we chose instead of rice.
This restaurant deserves to succeed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curry & Grill also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing