We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gret swimming pool with lovely seating around it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Lovely hotel, though a little way out it is only a 5 min drive into town and parking is pretty easy. The staff at this family owned hotel were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NL1-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Usually I try to board room in town but the places in Ronda were either booked out or too expensive. So we stayed about 2 km outside town. The hotel is new, the room a bit smaller than you normal hotel rooms. The bath impeccable and the breakfast that we bought seperately was regional and delicous. Many locals gathered here in the morning which I thought was a good sign.
Going downtown is no problem by car. We found a spot to park without problems, then we walked around and had great tapas on the market square.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank BerlinVielflieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel was very hard to find, and no English-speaking staff at the hotel made it very difficult to find and make ourselves understood, even though we actually speak some Spanish. There was heavy construction work nearby, making a visit to the pool impossible with all the noise.
At breakfast, we asked if they had some cheese and not only marmelade, and we got some kind of local cheese served. By check-out we ended up having to pay €13 (!!!!) for 5 slices of cheese, which we thought was included. Response from receptionist: "you should have asked for the price. I always ask for prices, even for coffee". Well, when you have breakfast included maybe someone should let ut us know that this included only toast with butter and jam???
The hotel is located outside of Ronda, and it is not within walking distance. The pool was also very dirty, and had probably not been cleaned since last year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Though you do need a car if you stay at this hotel, I reckon not having a car in Andalucia would mean you would miss out on most of the fantastic rugged high altitude scenery there is to see. Stay away from the bucket & spade brigade & there are some lovely, quiet beaches to be found (Torre Guidiaro) on the way out towards Gibraltar is a good one. Advised by others that Gib itself is a bit disappointing so we gave it a miss in favour of the mountains. Parking in Ronda can be a bit tight but the old town is lovely. Natural Parks are empty of people but keep your eyes peeled for eagles soaring on the thermals.
It's a good value & well maintained hotel. They are currently building a new local hospital opposite the hotel but as the rooms & pool are out to the rear of the Hidalga, this was not a problem. We enjoyed our five days there & wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crodenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Where do I start -
1/ Hotel website states WIFI in every room (thats why we booked it over other hotels in the area) ~REALITY CHECK~its only available in a small busy reception area with no privacy and not suitable for any business use.
2/ Room Facilities...sold as TV channels in every room ~REALITY CHECK~a single piped DVD of awful spanish pop which on the 2nd day lost all sound! Dimly lit Bathroom.
one chair for two people to sit on the balcony to listen to the owners dogs barking(which went on all night)
3/ Ordered steak meal for 14euros each and got stringy meat greasy teaspoon chips/a teaspoon of luke warm prefrozen veg and stale bread which we did not ask for or touch with no butter...check came to 31 Euros (obviously the bread was 3 Euros!!!)
4/ Pool filthy ..whole panes of glass left around the pool from unfinished glass bridge.Unsafe for even adults.
5/Breakfast either consisted of a pot of beans for the locals or a very expensive continental meal (only breakfast offered to paying guests.)
6/ The fabled easy parking was only available at 3am in the morning as the locals who frequent the Bar with the only working channel TV in the place take up all the space most of the day.Front of major construction work in progress JCB enthusiasts will love it !!
ALL IN ALL A BAD CHOICE FOR ALL/Choose a Hotel in the old town and park just outside a 5min walk in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minitophats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We were a family of 2 adults and an 8 year old who spent one night here.

Rooms in Ronda are not cheap and finding one that would sleep 3 in September turned out to be harder than I thought. I stumbled across this one and decided to try it. They had rooms that would sleep 3 for 107 Euros a night.

The rooms were large and very nice. My only complaint was that for that price there was no breakfast or coffee or anything. You could hit the place next door for another 8 Euros per person.

Driving in Ronda is a problem and there is almost no parking. So you can not just leave your car at this hotel and walk into town. That is the major drawback.

Oh, our GPS could not find this place. We had to stop at the Tourist Office in town and ask for directions. They knew right where it was and it wasn't hard to find with a bit of help. It is JUST off the city map though.

I would recommend this place for families needing some space. But if you want to be close to the action of Ronda (if any) stay in town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stumbled across this place whilst travelling through Ronda. I would definitely recommend it if you do not mind a short drive to the main centre. For us, it was perfect.

Room was clean, modern and served the purpose. Typical 3 star hotel I would say. Restaurant food was non-eventful but filled a hole. Staff friendly and put up with my 'Spanglish'. Swimming pool was a pleasant surprise but cold in the mid-morning, wait until the afternoon, once it has had a chance to heat up!

Ronda is a stunning village but I was glad to stay on the outskirts. Once you arrive at the main roundabout, Ronda is in one direction, take the exit for San Pedro - it is about 2 miles up on the left-hand side. Nobody has heard of it (as it's quite new) so take the telephone number and address etc. wit you.

Biggest plus of staying at this hotel was the cost of the room. It ended up being about $65 - a lot of room for your dollar. They have free wireless Internet access - but you may not have great reception from your room, in which case sit in the lobby.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank TallyAttwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#29 of 40 in Ronda
31 reviews
3.8 mi away
Don Benito Hotel
Don Benito Hotel
#23 of 40 in Ronda
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#19 of 40 in Ronda
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Acinipo
Hotel Acinipo
#33 of 40 in Ronda
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Hidalga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Hidalga

Address: Calle San Pedro 397 Km 2, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range: £41 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Hidalga 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nailed in a situation favoured with fantastic conference to the saw, and to less than 2 km from the downtown of Ronda and 45 km from the Costa del Sol, it is an ideal place to enjoy the cultural and gastronomic offer besides the historical - artistic patrimony of the city, being able to combine it with activities in your natural environment as the Saw of the Snow (reservation of the biosphere). His decoration of modern and current style offers a select and hospitable environment. In our restaurant they will be able to taste the plates of our cook Antonio Castro Aguilar besides an exquisite wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sierra Hidalga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hidalga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing