We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Went for a bite to eat with my partner and baby today to the dry dock bar, first a member of staff nearly walked into buggy and gave a bare apolagie as he was too busy looking the other way while walking!!! We then went to a table after 10 mins we had to ask for a menu I understand working in the industry myself that things can get busy but there was at least 5 staff members and none were exactly ran off their feet, when I did eventually get my food (dry turkey and a half a plate of mash) it was literally thrown in front of me!!!!! Thinking I was over reacting I asked my partner who totally agreed with me. We then had dessert which was ok but all in all not a great experience as I ve mainly only heard good things about the Ferrycarrig I was quiet disappointed. Having looked into it as a venue for my son's christening after today's experience I'm very glad that we decided to go elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear R2810

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with some feedback from your recent visit to the Dry Dock Bar at Ferrycarrig Hotel. We genuinely appreciate and respect your comments, as it is primarily through feedback that we can continue to exceed the expectations of our valuable customers.

It is very disappointing that your dining experience was not up to our highest possible standard of customer care and service. We all work extremely hard to ensure our guests expectations are not only reached but exceeded. I am saddened that we failed on this occasion.

I would be delighted to hear from you directly so that we may gain a better understanding of the circumstances leading to your review. Please be assured that we are committed to providing the very best in customer service and care; it is with this focus on excellence that we retain a high level of repeat guests.

Kind regards,

Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,554 - 1,560 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and it was perfect for what we wanted. The hotel itself is located a few miles from Wexford town but in a very idellic area overlooking water. All rooms have views of the water which is a bonus. The room was very clean and had everything we wanted. However, I have stayed in nicer rooms in other hotels. The staff were very efficient and the food in the restaurant and bar was excellent. I would recommend eating here in the evening rather than going into Wexford town. The only downfall in our stay was the breakfast, there was only one staff member on for most of the breakfast which meant that we had most of it eaten by the time we received our tea and coffee! I would recommend this hotel for anyone that is looking for a relaxing stay and I would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear LorryIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted you enjoyed the view of the Slaney Estuary with Picturesque, Tranquil and Peaceful surroundings. Likewise, I am delighted you enjoyed the food and service in the main dining room and bar. I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback with regards the staffing levels of the breakfast team and I can assure you, all your comments are welcome and shall be reviewed by myself and the Management Team here in the hotel. We are committed to reviewing each guest feedback to ensure that we are enhancing our guests experience on a daily basis.
Again, my sincere thanks for taking the time to review Ferrycarrig and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe,
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Very brief visit to Wexford necessitated a stay at this hotel. The view from the bar over the water is fantastic. Food generally is alright, not exactly anything to write home about. Rooms are fine for a very short stay. Certainly not the worst out there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling-Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Travelling - Ninja,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Ferrycarrig. We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay and the fantastic view of the river from where you were sitting in the bar.

We would be delighted to hear from your directly so that we may gain a better understanding of your comments in relation to the food. Please feel free to call me directly at your convenience

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had stayed at this hotel about a year ago. We encountered some noise and in the morning the hotel apologised and gave us a voucher for a stay in the future. I was pregnant at the time. The hotel could not have been nicer and accomodated us one year on with our baby. The room view was out of this world and relaxed us immediately. We had a little balcony on which we were able to get a great view over the water. The food and service was top class. We will be back to this hotel most definetly.

Room Tip: we were in 322 and view was lovely and balcony to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilberLaois_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear WilberLaois_Ireland,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most kind review regarding your recent stay at Ferrycarrig Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit and you were able enjoy the facilities without noise. We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also offer you excellent service with friendly, efficient staff and top class food.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Ferrycarrig
Kind Regards
Jeanette O'Keeffe
General Manager


_________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed here with my husband and two children in may as we were their for my brothers confirmation meal during the day and stayed for the night.
The girls on reception were very friendly and check in was very easy. Our room was lovely very clean although some more towels would have been nice in the bathroom!! great music in the bar on the friday night, good atmosphere.
Our dinner that afternoon in reeds was good for the price paid, although it was'nt hot some of the food was quiet cold. we also had our sons christening in this restaurnant 2years ago and the food was not cooked to the same standard as our previous visit but as I said not bad for the price.
the leisure center staff were excellent very welcoming instantly catching the kids names and talking away to them. The pool and facilities were excellent.
Breakfast was great. really good selection of fruit, pastries, really nice cold buffet. hot food good also although it was a little cold again!staff very nice and helpfull. when we arrived back to our room their was two balloons hanging on the door for the kids which was a really nice touch. overall great hotel with extra friendly staff and great attention to detail.

Room Tip: sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berniecurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear berniecurr,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most kind review regarding your recent stay at Ferrycarrig Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also to offer you excellent service with friendly, efficient staff with a good atmosphere. The acknowledgement and welcome you received in the leisure from the girls is a pleasure to read to which I have passed on your comments. Delighted to see that the kids enjoyed the balloons- this is something unique that will remind them of Ferrycarrig.
We are however genuinely disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience with the food in the restaurant, in light of which, we have discussed the issue you raised with our team. Our policy is that all tables are checked by a manger or supervisor at main course stage. This allows us resolve problems on the spot. It is disappointing that this was not expressed when your table was checked to which it could have being resolved there and then. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Ferrycarrig
.
Kind regards,
Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
___________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Beautiful location, lovely staff, great food, excellent gym, irrestible 20m swimming pool, fabulous room (and thanks for the upgrade). In short, 5 stars from start to end - I didn't want to leave! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnaSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear UnaSmart,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most kind review regarding your recent stay at Ferrycarrig Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We not only pride ourselves in making your stay a comfortable one but also to offer you excellent service with friendly, efficient staff with knowledge of our product. We are delighted that we could accommodate you with an upgrade on this occasion. Our location sets Ferrycarrig apart from other –its amazing view, set on the banks of the lovely Slaney Estuary, the peace, tranquil and surroundings area is wonderful to look out on.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I highly recommend this hotel - my sister had her wedding reception here - fantastic place, excellent food,lovely views for the pictures and the staff were brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhearne, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear reviewer i,

Thank you for your kind feedback, which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated.
We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay & especially your sisters wedding celebration. We pride ourselves in providing good customer service & always look forward to seeing our guests returning time after time. It gives us great sense of achievement that we are providing an excellent Wedding Venue.

I am delighted that your sister chose our facilities, our River side location to hold her Wedding Reception. Our location sets Ferrycarrig apart from others. Ferrycarrig is known for being the ideal location for that special wedding day.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ferrycarrig in the near future.

Kind regards

Jeanette O’Keeffe
General Manager
_____________________________________________________________________________
Ferrycarrig Hotel values genuine feedback from our guests which help us stay focused on delivering customer care. It forms part of our on-going review of standards and quality service in the Ferrycarrig Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,666 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
854 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range: £43 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing