We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY PLEASANT STAY”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“VERY PLEASANT STAY”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at this lovely hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We upgraded to a superior room on the 5th floor (adults only floor) and had a wonderful room in 506 which was a very large quiet room away from the noise of weddings etc. and had a fabulous balcony overlooking the grounds and water. We were really lucky to have fab weather during our stay so really enjoyed sitting out in the balcony in the morning and on the bar terrace in the afternoon . We had dinner in the hotel on the first night, which was only ok, but breakfast was very good. The staff at reception were lovely, very helpful and provided us with some great options for dining out etc. We really enjoyed our stay here and would happily return there in the future at some stage.

Room Tip: Choose room 506 if you can - worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WCLADY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was delighted to read your comments and to learn that you experienced a very pleasant stay with us. It is great to hear that the sunny south east lived up to it's billing and delivered the sunshine. It is most reassuring to have such positive feedback about the staff and I will ensure that this is conveyed to them.
We look forward to having you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    524
    192
    70
    40
See reviews for
567
722
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tullamore,offaly,ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights in this hotel and were very impressed by the staff, particularly the receptionists, the bar and restaurant staff. They were very friendly and polite and worked hard attending to everyone. Overall we thought the hotel was lovely and the entertainment provided was very enjoyable too. Other hotels and staff could learn a lot from how ye deal with people and for top customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geritullamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing such great feedback. Your review was most complimentary and we sincerely appreciate the applause and recognition. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with my colleagues at the Ferrycarrig. Your remarks in regards to dealing with people and top customer service are most humbling.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The staff in the hotel are great but the hotel is very dirty it could be a great hotel if it had a revamp it has a great view over the river but lacks atmosphere the arm of the chair came off in my husband s hand while having a mediocre breakfast

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank your for expressing your opinion following your stay with us. I was very disappointed to read of your findings and please accept my apologies for our shortcomings. I am very concerned to learn of bad housekeeping standards as we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and indeed have won numerous awards in this field. I again must express my apologies for the chair incident and I can only say that this was an accident that unfortunately occurred.
I do hope that you will give us an opportunity sometime in the future to regain your confidence.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had booked the wrong date for our stay (just a one night stop after getting off the ferry) but luckily there was one room left.We were warned that there was a wedding but that it was the other end of the hotel, not so it was in the middle and not that far from our terrace, The music stopped at midnight but the guests continued their party on the balcony of their room till well past 3.30am so I did not get much sleep. The mattress was also hard. The food was mediocre but not expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Ferrycarrig. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your overnight stay however I am sorry to learn of the negative impact the wedding had on your relaxation and sleep. I am surprised to learn of the mattress being classed as hard as we are frequently complimented on the sleep quality. I will be giving your grading on food my immediate attention as this result needs to be bettered.
I do hope that you will consider returning to the Ferrycarrig sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were part of a group staying at this hotel . We were treated with great courtesy by the very busy staff from the initial welcome on checking in to the cleaner who supplied us with extra slippers . The hotel was so busy with two weddings taking place that weekend .
The restaurant was excellent with an extensive menu, service very good .

Room Tip: Great views of the river Slaney from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enixam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. I was delighted to read that a warm Wexford welcome was in evidence. I look forward to conveying your compliments in regards to menus and service to the restaurant and kitchen brigade whom I am sure will be most proud to receive such applause.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ferrycarrig in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night saturday the 24th. Hotel is spotlessly clean, layout is unusual but it leads to fabulous views! We had dinner in the bar and it was lovely too. Not too far from wexford town and the irish heritage park is only down the road. Highly recommend this hotel, our view was gorgeous only missing a bit of sunshine! The pool/ leisure area were great, clean and nice decorated. Would definitely go back, would be nice to spend more time here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2travel86_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback following your stay with us. It was such a pleasure to read your review and we greatly appreciate your compliments. I am sorry that we were unable to deliver on the sunshine but we are doing our best to have it on demand!
Thank you very much for your endorsement and we look forward to having you back for a longer stay in the future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniscorthy,Wexford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has breathtaking surroundings,wonderful food and friendly staff. It doesn't matter whether its a wedding or just popping in for Sunday lunch the food is consistently tasty and makes you want more. I got married in Ferrycarrig three years ago and would still get a friendly hello from the staff to this day. The bridal suites are like stepping into a piece of heaven if only you could spend a few days locked away in one.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for take the time to post your review. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and your caption of "Beautiful for any occasion" brings a smile to my face. It is most reassuring to have such loyal custom and I am delighted to hear that you experienced a friendly greeting on your return. I would be happy to arrange a few days of heaven in our bridal suite!
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
798 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Property: Ferrycarrig Hotel
Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing