We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break for young family”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
patriciaire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great break for young family”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel has a fab location, friendly staff, modern decor.
Children were kept busy between clown, kids club, playground and swimming pool.
Once the kids were happy, we were happy!
We had a lovely spacious room overlooking the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It was great to read of your experience with us and I am most pleased to learn of your satisfaction with the Ferrycarrig. I am glad that we achieved the most important thing,being Happy Kids! I completely agree that happy kids has a knock on effect!
We look forward to having all the family back sometime in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    533
    194
    70
    41
See reviews for
583
737
36
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, has been recently refurbished. Food for dinner was ok, nothing too exciting but hit the spot when I arrived late that night. Rooms were pleasant and airy. Had good sleep, was quiet...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Ferrycarrig. I was delighted to read of your findings and that your experience was positive.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarenville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Ferrycarrig for one night while touring around southern Ireland. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the River Slaney. The rooms are a little dated but very clean. We don't spend much time in our room so as long as it's clean and bug free, it's good. We ate at the restaurant, the service and food was great.

The negatives about this hotel is no air conditioning or no ice machine.

Overall we had a good stay and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRodway2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your review was a delight to read and we sincerely appreciate your compliments. I am most pleased to read that you encountered great food and service during your stay with us. We are having an usual hot spell at the moment and we happily deliver ice to the room on request as we do not have ice machines in the corridors.
I am delighted to hear that you would definitely stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon we hope.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

great value family stay - 5 of us stayed in a family room. Excellent breakfast and kids club, as well as the pool, meant that the family were all well catered for. Location is excellent - 15 minutes to the amazing beach at Curracloe, and 90 minutes back up the road to Dublin.

Only small gripe was a lack of air conditioning in the room, but the heat in mid-July isn't something we normally have to put up with, so can give them a pass on that one. Ate in the bar two nights, and in the restaurant once, the bar being our pick of the two.

Would certainly stay again

Room Tip: if you're in room 216-222 or thereabout, the leisure centre entrance is more convenient than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing such great feedback with us. I was delighted to read of your experience while with us and I must say it is great to hear the mention of great value along the way.
Thank you for your understanding in regards to air conditioning and as you put it, the heat is not something we normally have to put up with. The "Sunny South East " certainly lived up to the billing on this occasion!
I am most pleased to hear that you would certainly stay again and we sincerely appreciate your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in the ferrycarraig hotel Monday to Thursday of this week. Overall we had a really nice stay. Just one or two things let it down. We were travelling with 3 children so booked what I thought large family room deluxe, but I found it to be quite small considering the price we paid for 3 nights.
The size of the room was my main disappointment. The bar food was very slow, I had to complain as I had an unhappy 18 month old with me.
The kids club was great. Kids saw and heard about balloons left on door on day of departure but never received them, so they were quite disappointed about that.,
Over all we had a lovely stay, the staff were very helpful and room very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Ferrycarrig. I was delighted to learn that overall you had a really nice stay. I am however disappointed to learn of the let downs and I do hope the positives outweighed the negatives. I have taken note of the issues that you have highlighted and assure they will be given immediate attention.
I must apologise for the oversight on the balloons and sorry to have disappointed the kids.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to right this sometime in the future.
We sincerely appreciate the staff recognition along with the mention of clean rooms.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend Friday till Monday the hotel is modern and the staff I must say very nice. Check in time of 4.is v late in my opinion now u can check in leave your luggage and they will send a text when your room is ready good but really I think rooms should be ready again 4. The breakfast was lovely a and the waitress Kathleen I think her name was so nice. We had food in the bar one time v v slow waiting for it I was about to ask for some thing off the waiter and he ran off ! There's a good bit of signs around saying keep your children under control while I totally understand this 100per cent I don't want it in my face everywhere I go once is enough . When we booked dinner for Sunday at 1.we arrived at 10 to one thinking we can get seated and get a order of drinks in .. no one there had to go in around to staff area to get some one all sitting down having a meeting I was told them I was told it wasn't 1 yet and I was to go outside to wait ... So much for my plan .. was called then at 1 to go in waiter was nice but never even took a drink order after . We got the soup it was fab and main course was lovely we then left as my little baby was getting upset and of course with the sign ! frowning down on my I felt I should leave. He was v cranky and wanted to sleep what can ya do. The wekend I stayed it Was v warm the room we where in was stuffy lovely room v clean but it was warm the last night we stayed I noticed u could request a fan made a huge diffrence to the room . One night I waited 35min for room service ! 2 toasted sambos and a dessert I felt like I was in the bar again .. there's a kids club here which I'm sure is great but hearing the kiddies disco from 9 to nearly 10 was annoying (I think it was a kids disco Any way) sound of music off and on between these times I could hear in my room. I will say the toddler barrier on the bed was great and the travel cot and blanket for my baby was lovely and the balloons left fornthek on our last day fab x the hotel has lovely points but the others just dissapoint me and made my stay a mixed bag sadly

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank doggiedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I appreciate the detail you have given us in your comments and I will treat them with the respect and attention they deserve. I was pleased to read of the lovely points but on the other hand I was concerned to learn that others disappointed you.
May I just say that in regards to check in we endeavour where possible to have rooms ready as soon as possible and I do apologise if we kept you waiting this regard. In relation to your Sunday Lunch again I feel the initial welcome stage should have had a better outcome and I am sorry that we fell short here. It is however reassuring to hear of fab food. After reading your remarks in relation to signage on control of children I can candidly say that we have one very discreet sign in the bar and restaurant entrance and the placement is very subtle and indeed not in your face.
I fear that we may not have communicated a waiting time on room service as on a busy night room service orders may take 20-30 minutes which would be the norm in most establishments. We do aim to satisfy all guest tastes and I am sorry to hear that the kids disco had such a negative impact on your comfort.
I do hope that you will consider a return visit to the Ferrycarrig as I would very much like to regain your complete confidence and hopefully turn the disappointments into positive experiences.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in one if the most scenic parts of Ireland.

It is idyllic with super employees...always welcoming!

...a super restaurant would be the icing on the cake!....with Avocaesque bar/snack food.....
...would compliment wonderful location and hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EeZeeTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you very much for posting such a great review. I was delighted to read of super employees who were always welcoming and I will ensure that these remarks are passed on. We are most proud of our customer service at the Ferrycarrig and it is most gratifying to learn that you were the recipient of this.
Thank you very much for your endorsement and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,627 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
820 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Property: Ferrycarrig Hotel
Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing