We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful country pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Horse

The Brown Horse
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: This is a pub in the lake district
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We love the Brown Horse and always make a point of visiting during our trips to the lakes. It is a really lovely country pub, the food and atmosphere are great. This place is great for a relaxing drink or a lovely meal. We like this pub for its guest ales and very own Winster Valley Brewery lager, ales and bitter. We always stock up on bottles to take home with us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SK74Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    59
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

A large group of us came to eat. All the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was great. Service was also friendly and efficient. I'd definitely eat here again and would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 1982_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Eight of us (+ 2 dogs) and the service was brilliant. Food came out altogether and nobody had any complaints. I had a lovely steak.
Will definately be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brown Horse delivers - again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Visited the Brown Horse on a Saturday night, as part of a party of 10. Service was efficient (for a busy pub on a Saturday); we were shown to our table and served promptly. The menu is extensive enough to offer a good choice - a wide variety of starters and mains cover shellfish, fish, poultry meat as well as furred and feathered game. All are imaginatively accompanied, and a sensible portion size. The food was well-prepared and presented; the feedback from our party was excellent. I chose a seafood tasting platter to start, which was good, but my main of pork presented four ways was the best single dish of a week of a great quality foodie holiday. We've been visiting the Brown Horse for a few years, and it just seems to get better and better - we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lovely place great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We got there just before food was being stopped and did not realize that the pub closed at 3pm. we were fed and treated with not problem what so ever and the food is amazing a deffo for the good food guide I would say and if you like beer and lager with it own micro brewery its a must !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank winequeen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Horse also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Brown Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing