We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of The Brown Horse

The Brown Horse
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a pub in the lake district
Winster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Outstanding!
We decided late on to go for a quick meal somewhere as cooking seemed like a bit of a faff after a long day. We live just down the road from The Brown Horse but have never had a reason to pop in before, so we decided today, as its within walking distance, to give it a go.
The restaurant was full but they found us a table and we were promptly sat. The food was sizeable in portions, very well presented and excellently seasoned.
The service was prompt but not too fast, the waiting staff friendly and smiling and happy to answer any questions.
Overall we are extremely impressed with the entire experience and will be returning.
The Brown Horse is well worth a look in if you're passing, they exceeded expectations and we left feeling thoroughly satisfied.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SadieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    63
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful country pub”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We love the Brown Horse and always make a point of visiting during our trips to the lakes. It is a really lovely country pub, the food and atmosphere are great. This place is great for a relaxing drink or a lovely meal. We like this pub for its guest ales and very own Winster Valley Brewery lager, ales and bitter. We always stock up on bottles to take home with us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SK74Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

A large group of us came to eat. All the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was great. Service was also friendly and efficient. I'd definitely eat here again and would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 1982_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Eight of us (+ 2 dogs) and the service was brilliant. Food came out altogether and nobody had any complaints. I had a lovely steak.
Will definately be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brown Horse delivers - again”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Visited the Brown Horse on a Saturday night, as part of a party of 10. Service was efficient (for a busy pub on a Saturday); we were shown to our table and served promptly. The menu is extensive enough to offer a good choice - a wide variety of starters and mains cover shellfish, fish, poultry meat as well as furred and feathered game. All are imaginatively accompanied, and a sensible portion size. The food was well-prepared and presented; the feedback from our party was excellent. I chose a seafood tasting platter to start, which was good, but my main of pork presented four ways was the best single dish of a week of a great quality foodie holiday. We've been visiting the Brown Horse for a few years, and it just seems to get better and better - we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Horse also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Brown Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing