We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I have ever stayed. Flawless.”
Review of Brown Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brown Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My partner and I visited the Brown Horse in February of this year after purchasing a 2 night stay on WOWCHER. Having never visited the Lakes before i wasnt too sure what to expect but to say this hotel exceed my expectations would be an understatement. Our room was perfectly clean, extremely cosy with a lovely view of the surrounding area and a beautiful modern bathroom attached. Every thoughtful detail was covered including hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee supplied as well as a pass for the local spa which allows you to visit free of charge, always a bonus! On our first night we decided to try the resturant here, safe to say after the meal we recieved we didnt eat anywhere else for the duration of our stay! Affordable meals but outstanding quality, with free range locally sourced products. The staff were welcoming and friendly and couldnt do enough to help you. Furthermore the breakfast we recieved which was included in the price of the stay was also exceptional. It was nice to be given the choice of hot food to order from the menu as well as continental selection that was on offer and I was also pleased to see that salmon was an option and not just the generic full english that most places offer. Overall, I can honestly say that this is one of the best experiences of a weekend trip that I have had and I would recommend this place to anyone. Its not often I say this, but the Brown Horse Inn is flawless, already in the process of booking our next visit. Thank you for making my partners birthday such a memorable occasion :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmabear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

I highly recommend booking in to this B&B, The room was lovely and well decorated with a modern shower room attached. Breakfast was tasty and filling and all the staff were excellent. The food on an evening was the best throughout our whole holiday and reasonably priced for what you get !! would not hesitate to rebook for our next holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeNicB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with friends. Amazing place good food, drink and staff. As previously said a bit out of the way. We traveled by train from Glasgow and taxis were expensive but worth the visit. My hubby is BIG real ale fan so was VERY impressed by beers brewed on premises.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights end July. What a little gem. Superb place. Quaint. Idyllic. Staff were all top class. Could not have been more welcoming. Food was out of this world. Their own free range meats and veg making the dining experience fantastic! Be warned - large portions!!! Large range of breakfast options! A bit out of the way so you defo need a car/transport of your own but if you are in the Lakes, if you want to experience it's beauty, you need your own transport!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great stay, great beer festival, great live bands, great food, especially in the restaurant, great staff, wot more can I say, Thanks guys had a fab weekend, definitely see you again soon, can't wait for the next festival.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just stayed here again with my husband, for the 2nd time, and we were as pleased as the 1st time! Friendly and polite staff, and it is a joy to be able to sit right outside the room and relax, with lovely views. We didn't have an evening meal, but the breakfast was lovely and filling! we will definitely be returning for a 3rd time!

Room Tip: The rooms outside are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at The Brown Horse Inn in Winster and cannot wait to go back.

The staff are all extremely friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay pleasurable.

The food served in the restaurant whilst not cheap is of superb quality and arguably some of the best food I have ever had. There is also an excellent selection of affordable wines.

The standard of the rooms is first class and the toilet/shower facilities were second to none.

We had a fabulous stay at the Brown Horse Inn and I would unreservedly recommend it to anyone considering a visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,999 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lindeth Howe
Lindeth Howe
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Horse Inn

Address: A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Price Range: £86 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Brown Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Horse Hotel Winster
Brown Horse Inn Winster, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing