We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$366
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
345
135
42
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
345
135
42
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswowcher dealthe pubboth nightsown micro brewerylake districtsticky toffee puddingminute drivefantastic foodbooked a tablebeer gardenbowness on windermeresunday lunchfish and chipsreal alepielittle gemnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Food was good happy over all the sevrice was sloppy rude and need sone training manager was very rude the staff dont seem to know what thay are doing or if they do thay choice not to show it the food was nice but took forever to arrive

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTOPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here as a treat on our way back home, just for one night. The staff were lovely,very friendly and polite. When coming to pay our food bill we noticed that there were a few drinks on there that we're not ours,this was sorted quickly and with no fuss. When leaving our room in the morning we went to pay at the reception desk, the man there didn't even look up from what he was doing and just said rather rudely pay down stairs. The very rude man turned out to be the owner!!! Manners cost nothing and this man had none, he should take a leaf out of his staffs book as they know how to behave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillyWilson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We decided to return to the Brown Horse,rather than go abroad,for our 5 night break.This proved to be a very wise choice.The food,service and general ambience of the Brown Horse is excellent.We have been coming here for over 5 years and find it both relaxing and very friendly.The staff are most helpful and Craig the manager has a very good working relationship with the staff which ensures a consistent standard throughout.We hope to return in the not too distant future. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed two nights 4 people in two rooms.staff helpful and friendly .problem with no hot water in shower dealt with quickly( room change)rooms very clean,well furnished to high standard.ate in restaurant both nights,all happy with meals.breakfast from local ingredients above average good quality. Accidentally overcharged ( caused by room change, resulting in double charge)we didn't spot until got home when discussing bill seemed high. On contacting hotel it was was dealt speedily and professionally and refunded( I will be double checking credit card statement!!) would love to stay again if in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in the 'waterside' cottage and WOW what a fantastic place. You are in the middle of nowhere with just one other cottage across the tarn. We stayed with another family (4 adults and 4 kids) and we were all very comfortable. The rooms are all huge all with own bathrooms. The kitchen area is well equipped and very modern.

We also ate in the pub and again very very impressed. The staff were all so helpfully.

We will be going again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews