We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous.”
Review of Brown Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brown Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights with friends, and dined in the restaurant both nights, as the food was delicious. The service was equally good. Beer is brewed on site, and is excellent.
Our room was fine, without being luxurious. The Winster valley is magnificent, and the pub is and ideal base for exploring it, together with South Lakeland. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for the main building (advice from a friend, who has been in both)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maldachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Used a 2 night voucher, food was excellent and the waitress was great and very helpful. Shower was cold no wardrobe, and the tele batteries were not working well. Very remote great for one night, if passing by. Wanted breakfast in the room as it was my birthday but got told no!.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leala27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a great Lake District pub, rightly renowned for its food, which was excellent. We stayed two nights in room 7, one of the 'outside rooms'. These rooms are very nice, with patio doors onto a covered terrace area where it would be great to sit at a different time of the year. The bed was really comfortable, there was ample storage space and the room was cosy. The one gripe we have is that there is no form of heating in the bathroom, so towels do not dry off (they were however changed daily) and it is cold when you have to venture in there in the night or early morning and using the bathroom is not a pleasure!. A heated towel rail would make all the difference!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzyPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed two nights on a great deal from KGB. The food is truly magnificent and the beers brewed on site are all excellent. The slow roasted belly pork and home-made black pudding is to die for! All ingredients are (very) locally-sourced. Service in the restaurant is faultless. Pity about the absence of kippers on the breakfast menu. I would rate the pub/restaurant side of the business as 5 star plus but the bedrooms are only 3-4 star.

This time we were accommodated in one of the annex bedrooms. My advice would be to ask for a room in the main hotel building as these are much better than the annex. The annex en-suite is strangely designed so that the mirror is behind you when you are washing/shaving at the sink. There was no shelving for soap in the shower and only a small windowledge for other things. There was no wardrobe in the room we had. There was no bath which is a shame when you've been walking in the lovely surrounding area all day and need a good soak.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building rather than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely country pub near to Windermere in the Lake District in October.
Our family and some friends were staying at a holiday cottage also owned by the hotel down the road so this was an ideal place to meet. We had a great meal on Friday night and Sunday lunch with very good choice of menu. The room was in an extension and was excellently decorated with a good walk in shower in bathroom. The weather was atrocious but secenery was excellent even though there was low cloud and obviously will be stunning in better weather. We enjoyed a lovely weekend at this warm and welcoming country inn and restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A warm welcome from the lovely girl on reception. A greeting from Nanna who cleans the rooms and a friendly drink in the bar. This had the making for a very good stay. The meal in the restaurant was excellent then the bad news. The waiter told us we could not eat in the hotel after 6.30pm the next night as they had a function. We are in the middle of nowhere, a taxi to another pub or restaurant will cost at least £25. That is our problem so we could sling our hooks. If we had wished to eat out we would have booked a hotel in the town. we like a drink with our meal so the taxi is our only option because 6.30pm is too early. Little problems with the rooms The shower keeps getting blocked up reported but noone is interested. They have a function to prepare. The Blinds are rusty, the plug holes in sinks and showers have no covers so you can see all the hairs etc down them. Our friends had no wardrobe so could not properly unpack.There was no heating in either bathroom. What a let down. We certainly won't be going there again. Such a shamw after such a good start.

Room Tip: The views from 7 & 8 are breathtaking. But the bathrooms are cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moira4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The food is of decent standard
The lunch menu is good value, especially the jacket potatoes and ciabattas. There used to be a friendly young man that would always chat and recognise us as visiting fairly regularly, since he has left none of the other staff seem to have this skill and it doesn't make you feel valued at all. I was left standing at the bar for a good 5 minutes without so much of an acknowledgment whilst two members of staff talked amongst themselves last time. Such a shame the service doesn't match the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lou_1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
1.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,031 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Horse Inn

Address: A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Price Range: £89 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brown Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Horse Hotel Winster
Brown Horse Inn Winster, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing