We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Brown Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brown Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We just had a fabulous holiday here. The food is incredible, and we found the service really good (despite reviews). They were always willing to help and, considering our young children (3 and 0.5), this made the stay really easy. I really can't believe the value we got, and the quality food (game shot on th estate!) made the stay for us.
For families, not really set up for children; we shared a room and had to bring a cot, but it was the willingness and approach of staff which made it work (keeping food in fridge and heating it etc (none of that H&S rubbish!)).
If I was to give the hotel any advice, if only there was a proper photo of the place on the brochure rather than fancy shots of napkins etc it would entice more to stay there. We have attached a couple.
We plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camtravellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    118
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
292
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

IF YOU HAVE BOOKED A ROOM AND WANT TO SIT IN THE BAR - FORGET IT, YOU CAN'T. We booked a room here along with another couple. We were asked when we booked if we required a table for dinner - as we did not know what time we were arriving we said no. Nobody told us that there is NOWHERE to sit to enjoy a drink as EVERY table is booked for meals. We sat at a table (which had no reservation sign on it) around 5.30pm, had a few drinks and then asked if we could eat - they "fitted us in" - Nobody told us that the table was booked for 7.30 until WE asked what the R sign was for that had just been placed on the table (without a word from the staff). At 7.20pm we had to leave the table we were sat at, we asked a member of staff where we were suppose to sit - he said to us "what, would you like me to build an extension for you, - just stand at the bar till the table is free in about 1 hour" - we were disgusted with the attitude of the staff AND management. As we were staying there we had all had a few drinks so could not have driven to a nice pub, luckily found a tiny area suitable for 2 for the 4 or us to squash around. The management does not seem to understand the problem - they have booked every table in the pub out for meals leaving NO tables available for anyone to sit at for a drink - or worse than that any guests staying there to sit before retiring to their rooms. Nice rooms, nice food ... but the worst pub ever ... no seats to sit on ! ! !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tazbabeslotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at The Brown Horse Inn for two nights prior to our honeymoon in Cyprus, we had told each other jokingly that it was honeymoon part one, but the folk here really made it special for us.

We had the two night special B,B & D deal for £57.50 each per night, I cannot stress enough how good value we thought we got.

The Inn is in Winster which is about 7 minutes drive from Bowness, it is surrounded by field and the Inn's own small farm from which the chef utilises a lot of stuff on his excellent menu.

We were given room 9, this room is attached to the Inn but enough out of the way not to hear anything at all when in there. It was medium sized, very clean and had all mod con's. The windows are coated so you can see out of them but would have great difficulty seeing in.

The food is fantastic, every meal that we ate there was cooked to perfection and when you think of a starter costing approx £6, a main costing approx £15 and a dessert costing approx £5......throw in a breakfast fit for a king costing approx £12, and your room fee's would come to about £20'ish.

You are allowed anything at all from the menu at not extra cost. The beer is cheap enough and the wine is average pub prices for a bottle, they have a very good cellar which will suit any needs.

Very friendly, helpful staff who took the time to chat to you and make you feel welcome.

Will be back and thanks again,
Mick

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCorner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, great food.. over all experience superb.
For those other reviews who complained of slow service I have to say we couldn't complain,
I like the fact we weren't rushed from one course to the next, and its worth remembering
your on holiday for once enjoy the slow pace.
Lovely clean rooms, hearty breakfast, highly recommend (and I'm fussy!!)
Try it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollidays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This being our second visit was yet another wonderful stay. From the welcome we received, to the service throughout our week long stay, to the excellent food. We could not have asked for more. We are already looking forward to returning.

Good luck to Chelsea starting Uni and thankyou to everyone else for a great time. See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Always good, never disappointing, highly recommended, no complaints!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is about the restaurant not the rooms. We had booked for six o'clock and when we arrived just before that we found our table already occupied by a party of drinkers. We enquired what was happeninf and were tole they had been so busy the table hadn't yet been prepared for us. Ten minutes later the table was being cleared, and we were ablw to be seated by 20 past six. The place was busy and understaffed. We waited for menus. We waited to have out order taken. At 6.45 the order was taken. There was a long wait for the starters. There was an even longer wait for the mains. At just after 8.00pm we were asked if we wanted to see the sweet menu. The menus came but after forty minutes nobody had come to ask what we wanted. We paid the bill and left feeling very disappointed about the whole experience. The food is over rated and over priced. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annefen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winster
1.5 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,087 reviews
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#8 of 20 in Windermere
970 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Horse Inn

Property: Brown Horse Inn
Address: A5074, Winster LA23 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Brown Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Horse Hotel Winster
Brown Horse Inn Winster, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing