We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinclairs Country Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allure on Ocean Motel(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mollymook Surfbeach Motel & Apartments(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mollymook Shores(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphins Mollymook(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Motel(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mollymook Seascape Motel(Mollymook)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mollymook Motel(Mollymook)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
15
5
1
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
5
1
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen the windowair conbossaustraliacowslake
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Firstly, I'd just like to say 'haha' about the very negative review on here. We chose to stay here precisely because of the response from the owner- he seemed like our kinda guy. And we weren't disappointed!

The family are absolutely lovely. The owner is a jovial, energetic guy, his wife is lovely... and such well mannered children! We felt immediately welcome. The farm is great, cows and calves are kept there and the dog is gorgeous. We stayed in one of the budget rooms, which had an eclectic selection of furniture, but this only added to the farm's rustic charm. We had access to the huge kitchen to prepare meals and a fridge in the room too to keep our own things in.

The wireless Internet worked fine and there was a lounge to relax in. There was also a room with a bar in, but it seemed to be a work in progress and isn't yet complete. There's also an outdoor BBQ area and lots of land to wander round. You'll need a car to get around- the nearest town is about 10-15 mins away. Locally, there's national parks, walks and beaches. I wish we'd have had chance to stay longer and experience more of the farm.

If you're looking for an escape from the city, in stunning surroundings, with a rustic vibe and friendly people, this place is for you. If you're expecting maids picking up your y fronts off the floor, mints on your pillow and room service.... Why are you looking at a countryside retreat? :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed at Sinclair retreat. Nice, clean place. Owner treated me well. I had a great farm stay experience at cheap price. I will stay here again.

All the very best

Nish

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a wonderful weekend with our student-group! The owner are very nice and friendly. We did a lot of amazing trips during the weekend (Waterfall, Swimming, Bushwalk, Kangaroos, Stingreys, lovely beaches, ...) The landscape is much better than the Blue Mountains and even not so touristy.
Everyone who wants to make a real Aussie-Experience should do this with the Sinclais's. MUST DO!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are two girls traveling together through Australia and we stayed in Sinclairs Country Retreat for 2 nights in January 2012. We found it by coincidence and it turned out to be really great. The owners Lindsey and Ulla are very friendly and welcome every guest in a warm and familiar atmosphere. Every guest is welcome to join diner or maybe other actvities. The sourrounding is beautiful and there are a lot of things to do around. The best thing is to come with a car because there is no local transport. The owners will help you and give advices for nice activities in the area. Getting there is easy with the Premier Bus.
We enjoyed our stay very much and are happy about this great experience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We made an online booking to spend two nights in January (2011) at Sinclair’s Country Retreat, following a stay in Sydney.

Upon arrival, we found the whole place to be deserted - and the main building partially derelict, with rubble lying around the area - so took the opportunity to wander around and check out the advertised facilities. In hindsight, it is fortunate that we did - and that we brought a camera along with us.

The “bar/lounge” mentioned on the booking site (we used Wotif.com) was filthy with old, worn and badly-stained carpeting and affording a ramshackle collection of dirty, mismatched chairs and tables (was this the “full à la carte restaurant” proudly lauded on Sinclair’s Country Retreat website, perhaps?). Passing an old sagging sofa perched in front of an outdated TV set, we made our way across to inspect the “guest bar facilities”, which were equally filthy: the sink choked with piled-up, dried-out dirty glasses; the counter-top similarly littered. Behind the bar, the dust-covered shelves and coolers were completely empty (hardly the “fully stocked bar” mentioned on the website) and had clearly not been used for some time.

The external door in the kitchen was propped open; an invitation to whatever bugs or insects wished to enter, while a store room just off the kitchen held a further surprise for us: a wall-mounted urinal.

Having taken numerous photographs of the squalid interior (as evidence), we made our way down the hill to meet the owner, who greeted us initially in a friendly-enough fashion, enquiring whether we had come to book in. We replied that had been our intention but, having taken a tour and viewed the facilities, we had decided against it; whereupon the owner immediately became abusive and increasingly aggressive, angrily denying our comments about the conditions. He was adamant that the ‘retreat’ offered no bar facilities - despite references to the “bar/lounge”, the “guest bar facilities”, the “fully stocked bar” and the “fully licensed restaurant” on both the booking agent’s and Sinclair’s Country Retreat’s own website. He ventured that we had no case to argue as by that point we hadn’t even seen the accommodation and, in any event, guests at the establishment were actually “paying for the view”; but by this time we had already seen and heard enough to reach the decision that we had no desire to stay there at all. To top things off, he added that we could complain all we liked, but we wouldn’t get a refund out of him. Finally, his tirade against us reached the point where he concluded that, actually, he didn’t want us staying there and threatened us in an outburst which was also witnessed by a couple of returning guests. In conclusion, after (essentially) being run off the property, we drove all the way back to Sydney where we spent an additional two nights instead.

The only recommendation I can make about Sinclair’s Country Retreat is to avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zebraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Sinclairs Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Totally unfair review!
I was recently told about this negative review by a couple who actually stayed with us at the retreat. Hence the late reply. I was horrified when I read the review.
The truth is that we did not spend the entire day standing on the Princes Highway waiting for them to check in, as they would have liked us to do. We had no idea that they had arrived, as they snuck around the property like a pair of highly trained SAS storm troopers. When they finally had the nerve to approach the manager’s residents, they preceded to verbally bash myself, wife and kids. Clearly I showed them the way off the property without hesitation.
I do not deny that the pictures taken by our SAS storm troopers were of our closed bar area. They must have used an old Jedi trick to gain access, as I was under the impression that it was locked. On our website it clearly stated that the bar and common area were closed to the general public due to renovations. Our rooms were discounted to reflect this inconvenience. They were never shown the rooms, as they were told to leave at once. (Explains why they did not load pictures of our rooms and any images of our 120 acres of pristine Australian bushland)
Put simply, do not always believe in what you read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews