We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isla Verde bound? Ritz is a shining light.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We are spending several days here currently. Others in our party are spread around Isla Verde, so I've seen what they have checked into. Adding it up - this is a great value for a luxury destination. Nice casino too!

1. Beach - Aquamarine, great services including chairs/umbrellas/drinks and food.
2. Pool - Quiet through the week... one of the most lovely views... see my photo.
3. Restaurants - The best of New York is in the lobby. BLT Steak is known for best steak on the Island. Across the street is little Metropole - to taste all the PR local cuisine (value!) without the hassle of shopping for an authentic restaurant. We didn't find that going into Old San Juan mid week for a restaurant was fun at all. You need a graduate degree in parking if you have a car. Weekend events are better and day trips for history. You pick up quickly on where the choice restaurants are: Isla Verde.
4. Service - Could not be friendlier or more appropriate.
5. Spa - under renovation currently, but early October the new spa doors open - looks amazing.
6. Meeting space - Five section ballroom area, with event sized foyers - lovely inside and with views. Board rooms were especially cool.
7. Guest rooms - Oasis comes to mind. Families: See the Garden Suites that open onto the pool. Made to order when you're traveling with kids. Suites and rooms for every possible need, including some with kitchens or pantries.
8. Safety - I was told by locals that when power goes out on the island due to hurricane conditions - the Ritz alone stays fully operational. A shining light in the darkness. I tend to remember information like that.

All in all - when you add up cost - this makes sense and it's 3 hours door to door from most Northeastern US airports. Contrast this site in paradise to the same in Florida and you'll see the value. No passport needed for Puerto Rico, by the way.

One con -No morning coffee in the lobby. The hotel subscribes to the coffee maker in the room idea - the one that wakes up your spouse with the smell of coffee... when they've been out late and just want to sleep?

Instead, you find yourself waiting for the restaurant to open, in line for a 'barrista' to take ten minutes for a coffee creation that doesn't come close. This should be an easy fix for management willing to give up the coffee revenue stream in exchange for happy return visitors.

Room Tip: Club level is on 9. Under renovation at the moment. Club availability would have made this trip a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,037 - 2,043 of 3,255 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a great place! We spent a week here for our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. How nice is it to get off the plane and be at the hotel within 15 minutes and on the beach or at the pool minutes later.

The hotel service is typical Ritz - high standards and extremely helpful and pleasant employees. Our room was clean each day and turned down nicely each evening.
We spent most of our time by the pool or on the beach as we were primarily here to relax. A taxi into Old San Juan is $21 each way which we only did a couple of days. Overall, San Juan wasn't that interesting. However, if you stay at a place like the Ritz then you'll have plenty to do and to relax.

The pool was great. Not very crowded. Only drawback was the food containers left sitting around the pool which then attracted many birds to the area. The staff might have been a little thin because of low season, but this was the only issue we had with anything.

The one kicker to the week was the Club Level and Spa both being closed for renovations. It would have been nice to know this when I made my reservation a couple of months ago. We were not able to upgrade to club (which isn't a big deal really) but we did have massage appointments which were moved to another area of the hotel on the first floor. However, it's clearly not the same to get a massage in a converted guest room and not have use of locker rooms, sauna, and all the other things that go along with a spa. We should have been told this and not charged the regular amount for spa treatments that didn't happen in a spa.

Overall, a great experience and I'd come back again in order to hop off a plane and be on the beach at a luxury hotel within minutes.

Room Tip: If coming for more than a few days, get a junior suite. The exta space is worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishDawgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel was a great choice. The staff was great and the rooms were exceptionally clean. I loved the location as it is located right on the strip and is in walking distance of great dining and night time entertainment. The beach is not the greatest, but the pool area is very nice. I was a little suprised about the $150 per night that was reserved on the credit card to cover incidentals because I didn't know about that until we arrived. However, it was quickly credited back to the account after checkout.

Room Tip: My room was on the 7th floor. This was great as it offered a great garden view, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank only1kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left this Ritz experience was extraordinary. The Ritz Carlton San Juan exceeded our expectations on every level. The staff is absolutely amazing. From the front desk agents, pool staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping etc. Every single person was always smiling and right there for our every need. The grounds of this property were amazing and the pool and beach were perfect.
There is zero stuffiness here. Just kind hearted, wonderful people who seem to really enjoy there jobs. Could not have had a better experience, thank you so much Ritz San Juan staff, each and every one of you made our 3 night stay stellar.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 817. Full pool and ocean view almost dead center of hotel. Picture perfect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day, 4 night stay at the Ritz. It was much better than even expected. After reading reviews on various websites we knew to limit our expectations - since a lot of reviewers said it did not live up to 5 star Ritz Carlton property. The hotel ended up exceeding our expectations. We were able to upgrade to a junior suite upon check-in, the hotel sent up a card and gift for our anniversary/baby moon, the property was well maintained and kept very clean. Even when the hotel messed up, they made up for it by arranging for complimentary breakfast in the room the next day, gave us a late check out (4pm!), and sent up another gift. And there is always water bottles in the lobby that you can take during your stay and free wi-fi - these two alone saved us a lot of money. The enterprise is located in the Ritz parking garage and we were able to rent a car for $25 a day. Overall it was an amazing stay, with great service and we had a very memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at the resort and it was a simply amazing experience. The staff is incredibly friendly and courteous. The location is breathtakinkly beautiful. I have never had such an incredible experience at a resort before and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eljohnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and really loved it.The hotel is very clean, the staff was wonderful and very professional.Reading the reviews prior to arrival we knew it can get very expensive. So we planned to eat at least, at one of the restaurant. We decide to eat at the BLT Steak house on our wedding anniversary. It was expensive but no more than at Ruth Chris or Bones in Buckhead of Atlanta, Ga. The food was sooo good! We also tried the restaurant across the street, Metropol. This place is also a winner, bu I would not get the hamburger because instead of lettuce you get shredded cabbage and it changes the taste of the burger.When we first arrived, the pool area was crowded but a few days later we almost had the pool to ourselves. The beach was very inviting, loved it! The only thing I would say is that I didn't see alot of activties going on, but hey I really just wanted a nice and lovely getaway for our anniversary. Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
19.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: £270 - £786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing