We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice--What you would expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice--What you would expect.”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Everything you would expect from a Ritz highlighted by the usual great service and great beach.

We visited for three days with our 9 and 12 year old children and stayed in an executive suite. Room was typical but very nice. Service throughout the hotel--wait staff, front desk, concierge, bell, etc.--was always excellent.

The beach was a fantastic place for the kids and adults alike, with rolling waves breaking gently on the shore and beach service to set up your perfect spot and bring you drinks and food. If you want a little more exercise, just down the beach the waves get a little bigger and are perfect for boogie boarding and surfing. My 9 year old took surfing lessons and had a great time.

Breakfast buffet was OK (the guava pancakes are a must, though), However Il Mulino, the Italian restaurant, was top shelf and easily one of the best Italian meals we've had outside of Italy. BLT, like the one in DC, was a bit of a disappointment.

10 minute cab ride to Old San Juan helped round out a great three day trip.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a suite so the kids can sleep in a different room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    876
    472
    182
    134
See reviews for
805
1,230
74
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Love this property... it is luxurious, conveniently located close to airport, excellent restaurants on site, and beautiful pool area. I went for a long weekend with a few friends, and the hotel did not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We loved our stay here in May-June 2012. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, good drinks, great location and incredible rooms. Pool bar was nice, drinks were very good, lunch there was good, too. Loved lounging by the pool in the morning and on the beach in the afternoons.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The only negative thing I'd have to mention would have to be the food. I wasn't very pleased with it. Luckily there were other restaurants in walking distance. The good part is they also deliver..Everything else is a good walking distance for those who like to walk. For those who just like to sit around the pool or the beach all day, then you have nothing to worry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prpbaby871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We recently spent three days at the Ritz, San Juan on our way to Dominica. We had outstanding service by Antonio Villanes in Guest Services. He went out of his way to make us feel special and recognized our anniversay on several occasions throughout our stay. He also recommended we vist Old San Juan in the early morning light and we caught some spectacular photos both at the hotel and in the city. We enjoyed the restaurants at the hotel and loved the mojitos and plantains served in the lounge from 4-6 pm. It was a lovely visit and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton, San Juan, Puerto Rico, for a period of 6 nights.
We arrived at the hotel without my luggage. American Airlines had left it in Miami. As you can imagine, I wasnt in the best of moods. The staff at reception couldnt be more helpful. They gave me lots of freebies and offered me free clothes from the gift shop.

Recommendation - Pay the extra for the club level. We used the club facilities every day. Nice food, plentiful drinks and very attentive staff.

The italian restaurant, near the casino was superb (cant remember the name) The Steakhouse was also superb. Massive steaks, lovely wine.

The outside gardens where very well looked after.

There was service on the beach which was helpful. The major downside was the strong wind on the beach. It was the same everyday that we where there.

As with any Ritz, expect to pay top dollar! It was expensive but we had a great time.

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algarve1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel is OVER RATED & OVER PRICED , My husband and I have stayed in better hotels. You're much better off staying in the Marriott or Courtyard in El Condado. The food in this hotel is over priced for $30. At a local restaurant outside of the hotel you can pay up $7 to $15 for a meal. The rooms are clean, the staff are the best especially the guys at the pool. They'll go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The other bad side to the hotel is there are only 6 balconies for every floor. If you like to hear the Coqui's or sit on the balcony, you can forget it. Unless your willing to pay $100 extra a night for a Jr. Suite.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liced_Cintron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
26.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing