We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon..average stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon..average stay.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

6mths ago we celebrated our honeymoon, which PR is a beautiful and friendly location to visit. We've stayed at their other locations in the past (Charlotte, Atl, Amelia Island), and obviously wanted to stay here. Real easy to find, great spot on the beach front and obviously Ritz has great poolside food. The pool staff was excellent, probably the best I've experienced..that said, there are some things that needs to be worked on. As we're checking in, granted the staff was pleasant, but overwhelmed by everyone else checking in. As we're checking in, we were told there would be $150 hold on our CC per night!?!? I've seen holds before, but not for 1100 bucks worth. It was handled and we "compromised" on 500. Being our honeymoon, I hate to say we expected something (because we didn't), but we only do this once, so I was hoping for a perk. Probably my mistake, but they said congrats and told us they would be sending champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room. Never received any of it. Please don't promise people those perks unless you follow up on them. Again, it wasn't expected, just easily forgotten. The little things are what's important, and I feel the front desk staff didn't do the small things from what I've experienced at other Ritz Carlton's.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    870
    469
    181
    134
See reviews for
795
1,220
74
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

For those guests that like to stay at a higher-end resort will certainly enjoy themeselves here. The rooms are nice (although make sure to book a water-view room) and you have the casino, a nice pool and a beach. Location is great if you like being downtown. The newly renovated spa is a big plus. The lobby bar is a good gathering place before dinner but I think the restaurants are just average. Bottom line is that you won't be disappointed but you probably won't be wowed either.

Room Tip: If looking out your window is important do not book a city-view as the rooftop is not very attractiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

WOW, our trip could not have been better. From the moment we stepped foot on the Ritz Carlton property until we left five days later every aspect of our stay was phenomenal. Front desk Supervisor Johanna could not have been more receptive to our requests at check in.. She made sure we were extremely pleased with our accommodations and we were. My husband and I along with our Best friends were celebrating anniversaries, our 30th and their 29th. Every staff member was made aware of our anniversaries and made sure to acknowledge our anniversaries in a variety of ways. Diana, Susanell and Jeremy in the dining room along with many others provided us with impeccable service. Carlos at the Front door was wonderful and our rooms were cleaned and stocked perfectly. The hotel is gorgeous and the grounds perfectly groomed and the staff at the pool and beach namely Elliott, Juan and Jose were so helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. You will never be disappointed staying here. We did not want to leave, but know we will go back again and again. We would give this hotel a rating of 100% perfection!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony and ocean view really enhance your trip because early mornings and late evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here from November 4 -9, 2013. We have been to San Juan before, but had never stayed at the Ritz. The hotel was great and the location by the airport was very convenient and not a noise issue (we only heard a plane take off once.). My wife and I don't normally go to casinos, but actually had a pleasant time one evening going to the Ritz casino which is very relaxed and low-key.

We ate at Il Mulino and BLT Steak at the hotel. We live in NYC and were hesitant at first to eat at these restaurants thinking we might be disappointed since they were in San Juan, but we weren't disappointed. The food at both restaurants was great. Outside of the hotel we also ate at Marmalade and Jose Enrique which appear to be a couple of the most talked-about restaurants in San Juan. Both were very good. Marmalade was a bit pricey and "trying too hard" atmosphere for what it was, but I probably had the best fish I've ever had at Jose Enrique.

The minor complaints about the hotel are not deal breakers, but include:1) food and drinks are a bit over-priced, but typical for the Carribean (overall hotel food was a little above average compared to other Carribean destinations I've been to); 2) Poolside service was inconsistent and overall lacking. Staff would hardly ever come by to see if we needed more food or drinks; 3) There is one pool for the hotel which seems undersized for the amount of guests using it, and there are A LOT of kids. So if you want an adults only vacation with no kids around, this hotel would not be for you.

Overall, I would go to the Ritz again. The staff were very friendly and customer service was great. Compared to other Ritz Carlton's I've been to, it is not the most impressive, but it is a good choice if you are staying in San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTobyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I just called this hotel to leave my credit card to pay for a gift certificate for a friend staying at the Ritz Carlton San Juan to celebrate her birthday. I thought maybe she might like to purchase a spa treatment, an extra bottle of wine or some cocktails on the beach. I got bounced around a few times, but for the most part I just listened while it rang and no one picked up the line. After close to 10 minutes, I gave up. I guess I will give her a gift certificate to a local spa or restaurant for when she returns. It would have been a fun surprise. I'm not sure what happened, I guess they didn't want my money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KathyC2of7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I didn't pick the Ritz, but I tagged along on hubby's business trip. The hotel is fine. The amenities I saw were very nice. The room was average. Tired looking. The bed was truly cozy, but the decor and furniture needed an update.

The beach outside the Ritz is FANTASTIC. Honestly the best vacation beach I've ever been on. Soft, soft sand. Warm water. Lots of attentive staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a great beach location. The room are average size. The pools and beach are very nice. The fitness center is a nice size with a good choice of equipment. I was there for a conference and found the food and service to be excellent. There is a BLT steakhouse in the hotel that is excellent and one of my favorite restaurants. It is about a 20 minute drive to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
26.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing