We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Hotel at Isla Verde Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
1 review
“Exellent Hotel at Isla Verde Area”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stay just for one night. Very good rate compare to near hotels at Isla Verde. Very Nice, Room was clean, Good Service, Exellent for the price paid. Couldnt expect more. Just 2 minutes far from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin at San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gustavo Alfonso P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    555
    148
    34
    17
See reviews for
514
511
86
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We’ve stayed a countless number of chain motels/hotels in the U.S., and they are comfortable in that they all give the same safe generic experience, which for many of us, myself included, can be very comforting. However, it is interesting how homogenous they are, with the same decor, same food, and same overall experience. Again, many people want predictability and familiarity, which goes a long way in explaining why people move to New York City and eat at McDonalds or Appleby’s.

We were traveling in Puerto Rico, and arrived late in the evening with two young children, so we weren’t in the mood for unpleasant surprises, or for that matter, surprises in general. We therefore had a great experience at the Hampton Inn and Suites in San Juan.

Now we are not the sort of family that looks for cruises or resorts, or for that matter package vacations. We opt to travel off the beaten path, but you have to temper this a bit with young children. Our plan was to spend the night in San Juan, then drive over to Rincon to surf and then spend some time in the rainforest in Luquillo. From there, we were off to Vieques.

The Hampton Inn was a great way to start this trip. It was comfortable and in many ways like other Hampton Inn hotels that we’ve stayed at in the states, but with a bit of an island twist, which made it really nice. First off, the hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and nice, just as you’d expect from Hampton Inn.

However, the hotel was nicer than others in that it had a bit of island flair. The pool was beautiful, and it had a poolside bar, which I have never seen at a budget chain hotel. We all had a blast swimming and enjoying the day. The breakfast buffet was also somewhat typical of chain hotels, but again, it was a little bit nicer, with scrambled eggs and potatoes instead of the pre-fabricated round scrambled eggs that look like they came out of a machine. Also, and I could be wrong on this, the fruit seemed fresh, at least more so than other hotels.

The hotel is also centrally located within the main part of San Juan, which for the record can be a little rough around the edges. If you’re looking for a real Caribbean experience, you want to venture outside of the city limits, and farther the better. However, if you want nightlife and a bit of urban flavor, then San Juan has it, though I’m told crime can be a problem. I’ve stayed in San Juan before and found it to be fun when I was young and single, but as a father, it’s a bit too much for my old and boring bones.

From our hotel, we were able to walk to the rental car, and then we jetted out of town and headed west to Rincon, which I loved but my wife was a bit lukewarm to. You just can’t make everyone happy, can you?

I would recommend Hampton Inn to anyone who is looking for a clean comfortable room at a good rate with good service, a nice atmosphere, and a great way to start any sort of island adventure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter after 9:00PM and before 9:00AM, during which the pool is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Eventhough we were able to stay only 6 days,we were totally spoiled by the staff. The hotel appearance was spectacular right from the entrance. Would you believe there are orchids planted in the parking? Thihotel deserves more than a 10 in all areas. Great value for the money! Excellent location!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The Hampton is a comfortable stay. (I would definitely have to recommend other Caribbean islands over Puerto Rico for vacation purposes though.) It's not romantic or luxurious, but has comfortable beds and a tv in every room in attempt to soothe all the noisy children running about.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be surrounded by noisy neighbours, ask for a business room. They are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_got_travel_fever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, MD
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

As most Hampton Inn & Suites this hotel is very nice. Comfortable bed, decent breakfast. Location is walking distance to plenty of resteraunts and a casino. I stayed here overnight as I departed on a cruise the next day. It's about 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the cruise terminal by taxi. They offered complimentary cocktails from 5-7 but it was very crowded. Nice pool area; exercise room was ok. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YDM425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The staff is very helpful and the breakfast selection are nice and healthy. We especially love the room here! compared to the other 5 star resort we stayed, Hampton Inn certainly stands out in value. It's also in walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and casinos, very good locations. They also have breakfast on the go from 5:30am. If you're leaving very early in the morning, you can still get your breakfast, very thoughtful! they also have coffee, tea and lemon water available 24 hours in the lobby. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWang0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice hotel with the most comfortable bed EVER! Only complaint is they started working on renovating the rooms on our floor early and it became very noisy. Hallway was crowded with furniture, carpeting and workers along with their loud music. Glad we were checking out. Pool was nice and burgers were really good at the poolside bar. Area around location was iffy at night but fine during the day. Nice beach across the street and multiple restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
322 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing