We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental San Juan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
ESJ Azul(Isla Verde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Verdanza Hotel(Isla Verde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coral by the Sea(Isla Verde)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Playita(Isla Verde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,858)
Filter reviews
2,858 results
Traveller rating
1,513
838
282
128
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,513
838
282
128
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnestor colonsan juanpool arearuth chrisswim up barmini barocean viewclub roomfood and drinksan umbrellagreat poolclose to the airportbeautiful propertybeach accessthe entire staffmi casitalocal restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,457 - 2,462 of 2,858 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were so excited about our trip and to stay at this hotel being loyal IHG members. Unfortunately, there wasn't much that was positive regarding our week long stay.
1) check in process was horrible. There was very loud music in the lobby which prohibited us from even being able to hear the front desk clerk upon check in. We arrived on a late flight and asked for dining options and were given incorrect information on hotel restaurant hours which made us miss all seatings. We had to eat at a run down restaurant a short walk from the hotel.
2) the first room we got was dirty. Dust everywhere. Stained towels. Bug on the table. Outdated bathroom. We requested housekeeping to clean the room while we ate dinner and nothing was done. New towels were finally sent up. We switched rooms the next night after complaining to the manager. She was kind enough to send up wine and a cheese plate but it never came so we had to follow up and it was finally sent.
3) the hotel staff is not friendly or service oriented. They are not knowledgable about much beyond their limited duties. The tour desk reps were incredibly rude and incompetent. The concierge was very friendly as was much of the bellman staff. If they don't know an answer, they redirect you or tell you to go to the front desk or come back later. Very frustrating.
4) the bathrooms in all rooms are disgusting. We were upgraded to a high floor ocean room but the bathroom was still horrible. The view was amazing though.
5) the bar in the lobby and outdoors is very nice. Overpriced but nice to hang out.
6) we paid a resort fee but still had to pay for an umbrella at the beach.
7) room service is good for breakfast. Overpriced but good.
8) spa was awesome. Highlight of the trip.
9) pools are dirty.

In general, I would not recommend staying here given the price. I would rather stay at a holiday inn express or pay more for the el San Juan hotel next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCGloWorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your last stay at our property. We completely regret that your experience was not a successful one. Provide unmatched accomodations and Service is of paramount importance for us and it is very dissapointing to learn that in some point we failed in doing so.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and rest assured that all your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments in ordert to identify áreas of improvement.

We would love to gather more details about your stay and we would greatly appreciate if you can contact us directly at icsanjuan@ihg.com.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope you give us another chance to show you that this is not usual for our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I am finishing up my three night stay here as I write this and the hotel has far exceeded my expectations. The grounds are beautiful as are the pool and beach. The people have all been friendly and helpful, the food and drinks at the pool/beach restaurants have been excellent, the wine bar in the lobby has excellent food and drink and Ruth's Chris was simply spectacular. Yes it can be pricey but there are inexpensive options. Also there is a strip all across the street which is nice. I will definitely visit here again.
Here are my only complaints, not enough to reduce my five star eating.
A fridge in the room would be nice.
When trying to check in early the front desk should be totally honest. I was told at 12:35 my room would be ready by 2. At 2 I was told they were working on it. At 3 I still was not in a room same as 3:30. At check-in time of 4 they put me in a different room finally. Please be honest in the future. However my upgrade and location were great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank twin123185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay with us. We are very happy to know that we exceded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank yo for bringing to our attention your concern regarding front desk service. Your comments are very important for us and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that the information you provided will be used to identify áreas of improvement and take corrective actions.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel resort was beautiful and every staff member was extremely nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. I will definitely return to this resort. We specifically like Jose Rivera. He was there every morning bright and early greeting us and ready to set us up with a nice location on the beach with an umbrella and a chair.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are nice however I would recommend getting an ocean view. The mountains were nice, but I love ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your great feedback and for recognizin José Rivera! We are very fortunate to have him in our team. We are happy to know that you had a first class stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back during you next trip to Puerto Rico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent 4 days recently at this hotel. The beach was great and many of the staff friendly and warm. We had a misunderstanding when checking in because they hotel authorized 4 days and 100 per day extra up front. Most hotels do this on a night to night basis, not the entire intended stay. The room was ocean front a had beautiful view. The room was a little dated and unfortunately the bathroom was not very clean. After that we had a fantastic time. The beach area was great and the chairs were free with a small fee for the umbrella. The guys were quick to set us up and Pedro was willing to get us all the beverages we wanted. The beach side restaurant was good. The Italian restaurant needs some help. Especially because you can walk next door to the ESJ for great food. one of the best parts of our trip was coming back to the hotel and sitting at the lobby bar (which is part inside and part outside) where Judith always greeted us with a smile and our favorite drink. She was so charming and sweet, she really made our vacation special. We did go to Old San Juan and took the free trolley around the town and saw the historic sites. We ate on the patio at Toro Salao. It was fantastic. This was the second time i have stayed here and may again.. or we may see what other parts of the island offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback! We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our staff, especially Judith, and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed our Service levels. Nevertheless, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the bathroom cleanliness and please rest assured that we have taken special notes of your comments in order to take corrective actions.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent over 4 days at this resort. Completely beautiful, superb beach access, safe & secure also. Easy walk to restaurants & shopping, car park.
Our favorite staff member was Glorita Bartholemew in the lobby lounge area. Not only was she beautiful & articulate, but caring as well. Hope to see her the next trip for sure! All staff & grounds were rated highly by us. We did wish for breakfast of some sort to be included or snacks. Did have 1 meal there which was wonderful, just pricey. Great place to stay if you have the $$.

Room Tip: Cheaper to look at the lights of San Juan rather than the ocean!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 134Dean1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay with us! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the service delivered by our staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you also for recognizing Glorita and for your kind words about her. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team, which is always happy to hear from satisfied guests like you! We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews