We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in puerto rico!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first time in puerto rico!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

first time in puerto rico and it was probably my best vacation ever. the staff made this experience that much better. one in particular is the bartender, pedro, our first day there he gave us great advice about the island and great places to eat, always so nice every time we saw him! it felt more like home than a hotel. it always helps and feels good that the staff remembers you and your name greeting you every time. excellent customer service. our room wasn't even ready on time when we arrived and everyone was still so nice. breakfast was included in our room, amazing breakfast!! i will defiantly come back.

Room Tip: ocean view room ... only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We are pleased that you find our staff to be outstanding and that your first visit to Puerto Rico was to your entire satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    793
    271
    125
    87
See reviews for
710
959
76
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

overall a great experience. Irene Perez in guest relations was really helpful and accomodating. Hilton in house keeping did amazing job with our room. I will definitely recommend this hotel. Its also very close to airport, Old San Juan, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for recognizing Irene and Hilton! We are fortunate to have them on our team. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Another great stay at the Intercontinental San Juan. The staff, especially at the Splash Pool bar, is just fantastic…attentive, cordial, efficient, and eager to make every guest welcome. They are all refreshing hotel employees in this day and age. The Splash Pool bar name is changing, I think, but the Intercontinental San Juan web site has not been updated for several months to reflect that the Splash bar even exists, let alone the bar has a name change.

However, the bar and wait staff, as excellent as they are, cannot overcome the shortcomings of the hotel supply staff supporting them. During my stay I encountered the following incredible events.

During two separate days during my stay there were, for some unexplained reason, no chicken wings available… one of the best appetizers on the menu. Was it because there were no losers the night before at the Cockfights down the street from the hotel? Or had someone forgotten to reorder from the supplier what has always been a best seller?

For more than a week, there was no “Jack Daniels” available at the pool bar. I know Jack was ordered by the bar staff every day, but none ever arrived. This is not the first time such shortages have happened at the Intercontinental San Juan. Is someone in charge of supply ordering making a monthly bonus by keeping stock inefficiently low?

You can’t make a profit on what you don’t have to sell, but you can disappoint your guests, especially if the items are on the menu.

I sincerely hope someone in top management at the Intercontinental San Juan will take note of the issues, and consult weekly with the excellent customer staff to learn from them the problems that exist, and take action to put in place proper support for an excellent service team.

The web site is also lacking. Has room service been discontinued? Has the Splash pool bar closed? Is the Bogedita closed? Are room safes being removed? The “About the Hotel” sections need to be carefully reviewed.

I look forward to changes in place for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docrtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience at the InterContienental San Juan. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities. We greatly appreciate that you have shared your concerns with us as it help us to identify areas of improvement. Please rest assured that your comments were discussed with the appropriate departments and corrective actions will be taken in order to enhance your next experience with us.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

took my wife here for the first time, and then i stayed here for a business trip the second, this place is a great property and worth a try. Great breakfast downstairs in the morning and they have a Ruth Chris and a SUSHI BAR attached to the hotel. The bartenders are still great and have been here for years and will educate you on San Juan and the Rum!!!!!!

Room Tip: every room i have stayed in was great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our property. It is very gratifying for us to receive positive comments from satisfied guests. We hope to host you again, so we may have the pleasure to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'm pretty picky....and I have to say I was so impressed with this place. The staff is amazing....one is nicer then the next. (especially Coralys B. Perez - Business Services, Baron Vega -Bellman & Ana Torres-Gift Shop)... The rooms were beautiful, clean and a great view. The grounds were immaculate as well....the food was great...drinks were perfect....I have nothing but great things to say about it.......I cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professionals, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Providing unmatched guest service is a hallmark of our property and we are especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My friend and I were originally booked at the El San Juan next door to the intercontinental, but due to some horrible customer service issues we cancelled and booked at the IC. And I am so glad we did. Although I had to spend quite a bit more (because it was last minute-I think in general the two hotels are competitive), I feel it was worth every penny. (Food and drink is crazy expensive, but buy yourself a case of water at Walgreens down the street and spend a little here and there on their delicious cocktails and you'll be fine). The beach was right outside the pool, separated by an outdoor café with fantastic sandwiches and salads. There was always staff present on the beach to bring an extra chair or to help with info about jet skis, etc...
The pool itself is great and we met a lot of interesting- yet NORMAL- people (as opposed to the people we met at the el san juan when we visited...). There are cabanas for rent, but we never had a problem finding a couple of chairs- even on a busy memorial day weekend. It's a relaxed atmosphere. Puerto Rican music is playing during the day, which creates an authentic and pleasing atmosphere. The hotel next door was blaring "Summer Nights" from Grease one morning. And we could hear every note...
The greatest service was from the front door men who were there to help in every situation- from holding the door to giving directions to getting a cab to checking our bags.
The room itself was so comfortable and luxurious. Everything you expect from an Intercontinental room.
We visited the breakfast buffet twice, and even though it was quite pricey, it was delicious!
We plan to go back to San Juan next year and will definitely be staying at the Intercontinental. I am VERY happy that the El San Juan was so horrible or I would have never discovered this beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glamazon1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your great comment! We are delighted to read that you had a first class stay with us and that your visit was to your entire satisfaction.

Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed with my husband last year just before they competed the renovations. We were attending a wedding in San Juan and wanted an accessible, safe location with reasonable rates. We were not disappointed,
The staff welcomes you every single time and tries to make your stay pleasurable.
The room was clean, comfortable, and had a great view. The grounds are very well maintained and the beach was the perfect place for long morning walks.
We liked so much that we are going back to stay there next month.

Room Tip: We had a room on the south (Lagoon) side and enjoyed the view very much, specially at night. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllergiesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for choosing InterContinental San Juan for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you liked our newly remodeled rooms and the service delivered by our staff. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
17.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing