We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool and beach make up for the rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“The pool and beach make up for the rooms.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The pool area and beach is very nice. Plenty of shade and plenty of lounge chairs make the pool very welcoming. The restaurants on-site are pricey. There are plenty of dining options within walking distance. The rooms are average. They seem pretty used and abused. Even the junior suites are absolutely nothing to write home about. Cleanliness is average. The gym is very, very nice and overlooks the ocean. The staff think this is a five star hotel and act rather snooty at times.

Room Tip: Walk to La Playita for dinner and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    807
    275
    125
    90
See reviews for
733
976
79
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first time in Puerto Rico. The service was excellent, the bell men, the front desk, and the cleaning crew. Everyone is very helpful, especially the concierge, Nestor Colon, who made our visit very memorable, not to mention very inexpensive. Everything he suggested was great, he really knows his way around the island. The pool area is huge, beautiful, and very well kept. The beach is clean and there is a lot to do within a walking distance from the hotel. We would definitely return to this hotel if we return to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We greatly appreciate your positive comments about Nestor, we are fortunate to have him on our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 nights on a girls trip. We felt safe and loved the location. The bell men were by far the nicest employees at the hotel. Our room was beautiful with an amazing ocean view. The beach was lovely although paying for an umbrella was disappointing. Our main complaint was that we were charged a daily" resort fee" that several employees had trouble explaining to us. One told us it covered shampoo and conditioner?? If you book through Orbitz, be prepared to be billed $20-30 a day. Overall, it was a good experience but I think I'd try another hotel if I go back to PR.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 655KatieM655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 655KatieM655, thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you liked our location, facilities and service. Regarding your complaint, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused due to the information provided in respect to the resort fee. Please note that it includes the following: internet access, ping pong pool, foosball, pool and beach chaise lounges, coffee and tea in room, access to fitness center, pool towels, live weekend entertainment at the Casino Lounge, access to business center services and luggage storage.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days for our 25th Anniversary trip it was perfect. The interior of the hotel is lovely and modern but also very welcoming. Check-in was easy and everyone at the front desk was fantastic with service and great personality.

Rooms and beds very clean and comfortable. Our room had a city view. The have small balconies with enough standing room for 2 adults. No seating. Rooms have a mini-fridge and a safe as well as an iPod docking/charging station.

The pool and beach areas are spectacular. We'll maintained with lots of shade options. Water temps in the pool and large jacuzzi were perfect. They supply towels. Immediate beach access right off of the pool area. Chairs for the beach are free and they will set them up for you. Umbrellas are $10/day and you can charge to your room. Cabanas at the pool can be rented for $50/half day or $100/full day.

For a romantic, relaxing beautiful stay, I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanyabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the InterContinental San Juan to celebrate your 25th anniversary! We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities, ambiance, and most importantly, our service levels. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maywood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Wish there was a negative star option on this website because that's how crappy this place is! The service here is terrible, food is overpriced ( charged 58 dollars for breakfast and expected a 8 dollar tip for serving us a glass of water) not to mention tasteless. They also want to charge you for everything including 75 dollars to rent a cabana per day?! Absurd! The elevators hasn't worked since the day we checked in. Wow intercontinental brand needs to make a trip out here to the San Juan resort to help save their name and reputation. Oh and I forgot to mention that management is not available nor helpful. Save your money for a better hotel in San Juan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mirzaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear mirzaz,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. First of all I would like to apologize for the challenges that you faced during your stay. It is our goal to provide unmatched accommodations and service and it is very disappointing to hear that in some point we failed in doing so.

Regarding the food and cabana prices, please note that we conduct frequent price comparisons to ensure that we remain competitive in our market. In respect to the elevators, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused as we are upgrading them to enhance our guest experience. We sincerely regret that this has affected your stay negatively.

Your comments are very valuable for us and they were forwarded to our Front Office Director for investigation. We would love to gather more details about your stay and
we will be very grateful if you can contact us directly at icsanjuan@ihg.com in order to better know your case. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmont, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Went there for a business trip and the staff couldn't have been more helpful!! Started with the great bellman Baron who brought our bags to our room and was very knowledgeable and friendly!! The concierge was very helpful as well. Ana in the gift shop was very friendly and professional It was a pleasure to be around positive and happy faces. Can't wait to go back.
On our down time the pool and the beach was beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy3477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about our facilities and our staff. We are delighted to read that you "can't wait to go back" to visit us. Please rest assured that it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again. Thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently spent a weekend at this fantastic hotel. From the first minute we arrived, the staff were wonderful. Unfortunately, on my last night there, I needed medical assitance and the hotel security staff were beyond great. They got me the paramedics who recommended going to the hospital. One of the guards (Jose Garcia) accompanied us to the hospital which was a true blessing. Besides being helpful, he was able to keep us calm and assisted us with language barriers. Looking forward to a "do over" of that weekend and will definitley stay at the Intercontinental again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for the great review! We hope you are well. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff and our property. We want to say thank you, especially, for recognizing José García. His actions make us feel very proud of our team and comments as yours motivate us to continue creating memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,110 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing