We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware-The pictures are a trap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beware-The pictures are a trap”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Dear Travelers, Pls. don't make your decisions based on the pictures the hotel has posted on various travel portals. Pls. find below the genuine report of the hotel (resort)
Firstly this hotel was built back in the 1960s and according to me the only renovation the hotel has done over the years has been the paint job. The bathroom doors are a mess, I changed three rooms and locks of all the bathrooms were broken.
Secondly in the pictures, the swimming pools looks big but in reality does not even qualify to be a resort's pool.
Thirdly the resort charges approximately $27 per day for parking your car which according to me is a rip of.
Fourthly I have had buffet breakfast in about 80 different resorts and hotels in the last 15 years, this one is the worst, both in terms of variety and preparation.
Lastly no water sports or any kind of beach activity is provided by the resort, the only activity I could see was 0 star restaurant with bad preparation, which has been leased out.
Not all is bad, on my showing disapproval of the hotel, the manager was kind enough to upgrade me to a suite and staff is full of enthusiasm and energy and always ready to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Varun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us and for your kind word about our staff. Nevertheless we have noticed that your visit was not a complete success and we would like to apologize on behalf of the InterContinental San Juan and our team for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Regarding the parking fee, please note that there are two rates depending on the service chosen: self parking ($20 plus tax) or valet parking ($25 plus tax). Please accept our apologies if you were not provided with the correct information about it.

Your comments were shared with the appropriate departments, which always welcome suggestions for improvements. Please rest assured that corrective actions will be taken.
Thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve in the future and show you that this is not usual for our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    780
    266
    122
    85
See reviews for
698
940
75
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Was a little discouraged when we arrived at 2:00 am and prom youngsters were checking into the room next to us at the same time, but we were able to get a decent night's sleep since we were exhausted. The next night was even louder for some reason in the next room. Singing and laughing neighbors at 12:00 am in the morning! After complaining to the front desk- who immediately came up and asked the neighbors to be quiet- (and they were the rest of the night) we decided to switch rooms and had two peaceful nights for the rest of our stay.:)

Pros : Nice and convenient beach area (although had to pay ten dollars for an umbrella), nice pool area, nice lobby, nice staff working in the lobby, various places to eat/drink at the pool and beach, convenient to casinos and grocery store and places to eat, delicious buffet breakfast, comfortable beds, and easy bus ride to Old San Juan.

Cons: :Long wait for elevators, loud band in lobby and music on Saturday night from El San Juan Hotel next door. Loud neighbors in the room next door.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank lviolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our property and our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and service levels. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences due to the noise. Regarding the elevators, we are upgrading them to enhance our guest experience and we regret that this has affected your stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The service was great! Everyone was exceptionally friendly & courteous. The atmosphere was very inviting and made you want to return. Special shout outs to Katia at the front desk, the smile and attitude was exceptional. Concierge Mr. Colon, he definitely knows what being a concierge and making a vacationers relaxation a priority is all about. Then there was the young lady in the club lounge in the afternoon, I don't recall her name but her service was great.
Pool is very nice, grounds well kept, rooms at least in the club, spacious & clean.
Only issue was regarding hot water in the shower, never seemed to get hot enough, at best just luke warm. Also the bar at the beach is not affiliated with the hotel, at least that's what they told us. The hotel should make this known.
Overall the stay was good and I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If you take a Club room you will enjoy a continental breakfast and a wonderful afternoon lounging ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avonstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your great review! We are happy to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the service levels that InterContinental brand is known for. Thank you also for recognizing Katia and Nestor, we are very fortunate to have them in our team.

Regarding the incident you mentioned about the water we greatly appreciate that you have brought this to our attention and please rest assured that we will check if any corrective action is needed. Your comment has been discussed with our Engineering team which always welcomes suggestions for improvement.

Thank you very much for you feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Superb hotel in Puerto Rico. Best choice for business and vacations in Puerto Rico. Excellent location, close to business district, amenities, beautiful beach. My stay there for ten days was just superb. Hotel staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. Staff at valet parking were the best of all, really helpful. It is really recommend for people going on business and vacations to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: better rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adolforodriguezcalza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental San Juan for your recent stay in Puerto Rico and for sharing on TripAdvisor your experience at our property. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly and that you had a first class stay with us. Please rest assured that your comments are greatly appreciated and help us to motivate our team to continue creating Guest Hotels Guest Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

All I can say is WOW!!! We were here 4 years ago and the resort just keeps on getting better. Totally family friendly and the water resort of your dreams. You have the beach as well as the gigantic pool and a large Jacuzzi too.We were there for my husband, Steve's APICS meeting so I had free time to experience the resort. Old San Juan is a great place to explore on Sunday when the city is quieter. You can also see 2 forts still in existence along with the original city wall. Keep in mind the city is very hilly so bring your walking shoes. We ate at quite a few of the local restaurants and we were not disappointed. San Juan is the home of the original Pina Colada!!!

Room Tip: We had a great view of the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Anne R, thank you so much for your great comments about our service and our property. I’m so glad to hear that you had a first class experience with us and that you enjoyed the service levels that InterContinental brand is known for. I, along with our colleagues at the InterContinental San Juan, look forward to welcoming you back to Puerto Rico soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Minuses: paper thin walls or extremely loud neighbors...asked for a new quiet room and woman got us one - right next to elevator! Speaking of elevators - abysmally slow. Pool needs round the clock cleaning given plant life dropping their contents all day. Bartenders at pool will ignore you unless you're a regular.

Pluses: most of staff was nice. Free breakfast. Store across the street. Food options nearby. Room was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ghostrider2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear ghostrider2015, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to see that you liked our location and rooms. Nevertheless we have noticed that your stay was not to your entire satisfaction and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused due to noise and the upgrades we are doing to the elevators. Regarding the pool bar service, please rest assured that we have share your concern with our food and beverage manager, who will be taken corrective actions as needed.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope you give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

To begin with we visited the past four days for my wife's professional organizational meeting. We liked everything except the food prices and the elevators never working properly. We ate across the street at a great little cafe with great food and prices. The pool and beach were great here, plenty of chairs, no extra charge, and space for everyone. Our room was clean and neat and service was excellent. Special shout out to Ernesto, he is worth his weight in gold. Everything he recommended to me to do was great, including a restaurant recommendation. Maria with Avis at this hotel is also first rate-gave me a great car and was extremely helpful. Now if they can just get the elevators working properly here, they would have it all.

Room Tip: The end rooms seem to have refrigerators, ours was in the middle facing the city and did not have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gk1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate your positive comments about facilities, rooms, location and concierge services. Thank you for your suggestions about the elevators; we are currently upgrading them in order to enhance your next experience with us. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,878 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing