We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a weekend getaway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location is great, quick taxi ride from the airport. The pool area and beach were very nice. The staff was very attentive and friendly also. Wish the balconies were 'real' balconies that you could sit out on though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for choosing InterContinental San Juan . We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found convenient our location. Thank you for your positive feedback about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    739
    255
    117
    81
See reviews for
652
886
69
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I did not stay at the InterContinental hotel but I did visit a lot to the casino and the restaurants. The overall experience was amazing, everytime I went to the InterContinental hotel I felt so welcomed and at home. The staff made sure I was well taken care of at all times. If you go to visit the InterContinental hotel in San Jaun make sure you go to the Trattaria Italiana restaurant. Ask for Eduardo Ruiz, on the last night of my stay in San Jaun my friend and I were looking for a nice restaurant to eat at. Everything was closed about 11 and Eduardo made sure that we had the best dinner even though the restaurant was closed. He is the food and beverage manager and he personally sat us at a table, took our order and cooked our food for us. We were beyond amazed at such generous hospitality. we were able to sample a couple of wines and even a complimentary desert for being the last table of the evening. did i mention that we had the restaurant all to ourselves. it was lightly dimmed and soft music. it was really romantic. Eduardo definately sealed our evening and vacation to the T. It was an amazing vacation to remember.. Eduardo even gave us business cards just incase we needed anything else during our stay in San Jaun. He provided the most extraordinary customer service i have ever had. thank so much Eduardo... i will be back to visit and next time i will be staying at the InterContinental hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sireda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our property. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided at our restaurant. We have already shared your experience with our team and we truly appreciate that you have recognized Eduardo. We are very fortunate to have him as part of our team.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Intercontinental last week, and couldn't have been more thrilled with our visit. The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the pool and beach access were fabulous. We are big pool and beach goers, and loved the set-up at the Intercontinental. The pool area is beautiful, and relaxing, with several "waterfalls," a "perch" in real shallow water if you like to read or lay out in the water, and they have a swim up bar where you can order a drink and watch television. They also had a wonderful way of making sure that resort guests were the only people utilizing the beach and pool areas, and we found that it was easy to get chairs in good spots at both locations. This was important to us, because we noticed that other parts of the beach were crowded, and it was nice to have what felt like a private beach that was easily accessible.

Like other reviews, we did find some of the food and beverage prices quite high, but we knew going in that it was typical for a resort. There is a delightful market across the street, and we used daily to stock up on snacks and drinks, and there were several amazing restaurants within walking distance where the two of us could eat for $10-15 a piece.

We also did several of the tours offered by the hotel, and each were excellently organized and executed.

We highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a vacation as a couple or as a family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Providing unmatched guest service is a hallmark of our property and we are especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. We all look forward to your return,it will be a pleasure to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

But when only two (of three) are functioning, the entire week we were there, it got maddening. Long wait times, high frustration, just not fun.

Otherwise decent hotel, good location. Rooms are a bit dated, but sufficient. Bathrooms are really small and in not great shape. Concierge extremely helpful, staff friendly and pleasant. Nice to have the conveniences that are nearby and not be entirely isolated. Decent pool, nice beach.

Room Tip: The pool/ocean side rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our property. It is very gratifying for us to receive positive comments from satisfied guests. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the elevators' wait time as we are currently upgrading them. We regret that this has impacted your experience with us as we would like to welcome you back, so you can enjoy the improvements.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I were so excited when we arrived - this is a beautiful hotel. The common areas are updated and modern, the pool area is lovely, and there is great beach access. Our room was also very nice. However, many of the other reviews touch upon some of the issues: inadequate elevators, paper thin walls coupled with loud neighbors, hit or miss service (though William at the front door was exceptional). The oddest part of our stay was the fact that the power went out not once but twice, which was a bit disconcerting. Staff said that the power on the whole block went out.. not sure why. I really enjoyed the band and dancing in the lobby Saturday night but if you are looking for a quiet hotel this may not be for you. We would stay here again as I think it is one of the better options in Isla Verde, but hopefully the hotel can figure out the elevator situation and work on better service. Maybe if William was running the hotel the service would be impeccable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for recognizing William! We are fortunate to have him on our team. Regarding the power cut, it was an external incident and our internal power plant was working properly. We apologize for the inconveniences that this might have caused you. In respect of the elevators we are currently upgrading them in order to enhance our guest experience, and we sincerely regret that your stay has been affected negatively because of this. Thank you very much for your honest feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A wonderful location if you are staying in San Juan area. The doormen William and Luis were great and helpful. The dining prices in the hotel are high for what you get. Hot dogs for $12, pizza for $15, etc. The Italian restaurant has good food but is pricey. The front desk people could use some customer service training although Edgar was a godsend. I wish I could say the same about others. The elevators were not always working during our stay. Electricity went out a few times. I don't know why or if this is common but that was unpleasant and made one feel unsafe. The grounds and the pool area are beautiful. You need wrist bands to be in the pool area which is very good.
The rooms are not either large or small. About the size of an average business hotel.
Overall I think I would probably recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raylaw323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad that you liked the service received from our doormen staff. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was less than satisfactory due to the inconveniences to the elevators. We’re currently upgrading them and we regret that this might have impacted negatively your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future, so you can enjoy these improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

First, let me start by saying that our stay at this hotel was wonderful. The staff was professional and the service impeccable. Having said that, here's the scoop. The front desk personnel are not the friendliest and seem to be snobby. HOWEVER, the entire staff from bell/baggage boys to room service and bartenders everyone one of them were great. Lookout for one of the guys by the front doors named Baron. He has great tips on the spots to hit up for dining, sightseeing, tours, nightlife, and even souvenir shopping. He will tell you without fail, where to go. Trust me... he's on point.
I'm so glad we stayed here... it was the perfect place to unwind and relax with the sweetie.

Room Tip: The 15th floor was newly renovated as per the maid. The view is spectacular (ocean view) and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the InterContinental San Juan for your romantic getaway! We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, ambiance, and most importantly, our service levels. We hope that you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
3.7 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing