We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It is in a good location. The pool (with swim up bar) and large hot tub were also very nice but the direct beach access was terrific. The rooms are large with above average accommodations but expected at this price point. By far, the best feature of all is that all of the rooms have balconies (albeit a little small, but still a tremendous addition). The location isn't bad. There is food and some entertainment within walking distance. The doormen were excellent at providing dining and activity recommendations. The biggest draw back of this hotel without a doubt was the inadequate number of elevators. I had numerous long waits and rides on packed elevators. I did not dine on site so I cannot comment on that but they do have multiple restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank AR4024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our staff and our property. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the pool and beach area and that you liked the service provided by our staff. In respect to the elevators, it is important to mention that we are currently upgrading one of them and to mitigate any impact guests waiting time we have enabled our service elevators for guest's use. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and hope to welcome you back so that you may experience the upgrades.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 2,712 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pedro from the Aqua Bar was the best very professional and personable. He always had a smile and was very helpful. He took excellent care of our family always knew what drink to bring us he also catered to our kids weather it be bringing a piña colada or giving them a ball for the pool. He is a very hard worker but makes his job look easy. This is our second year here and he is one reAson why we came back! Thanks Pedro

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookie0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words and for recognizing Pedro! We are fortunate to have him on our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in Isla Verde 1st week of July 2014.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Omar the bellman- what a great guy took care of all our luggage- welcoming us to the Intercontinental- made us feel special and he continued to be a joy throughout the week- whenever he saw us he would ask if we needed anything making sure we were ok.
The Hotel is very nice, it’s clean and classy. The staff here is very helpful, kind, and respectful. I will mention the stand out people that put their best foot forward and made our getaway one of the best we have had throughout this review.
The 1st night we had an Ocean Front King room- very clean, comfy bed, but the closet is small for 2 people for a week stay and the bathroom is way too small for us- anyway- if the size of a bathroom doesn’t matter to you then the room is great; we are part of their Ambassador membership of Intercontinental and at check-in we were offered an upgrade to a Jr. suite, but they only had city view and we wanted the ocean front so we kept our room (we never thought the bathroom would be so small). So after our 1st night we went to speak to Amy, at the front desk that checked us in the day before, about the bathroom issues - she is a doll very professional- she informed us that an Ocean Front Executive Suite on the top floor would be available later on and she gave us a great rate, we took it. Amy also made sure we received the goodies that come along with being an Ambassador member.
Well the Executive Suite was fantastic the bedroom is very spacious, the bathroom is HUGE, the living/dining room is wonderful, lots of closet space, and we also had 2 balconies. Both rooms (King and Executive Suite) were very clean and stocked with grooming products, blower, iron/board, and plenty of towels. I have to mention here that Ray the bellman came up to help us move our things to the new room and he was so sweet and kind helping me with everything -taking charge and making sure that all our things were moved carefully.
I have read other reviews about the elevator issues, and yes they are renovating one of the elevators, but it really was not bad- just one time it stopped on each floor because a few kids pressed all the buttons – kids will be kids!!
We rented a cabana for the full week and Jose at the towel area was wonderful- he made sure we had enough towels and ice with plenty of water throughout the day everyday- the cabana area is also very clean- we enjoyed a couple of lunches by the pool bar (it’s also a swim up bar) and they were good. The pool bar has friendly people working the bar and the tables. The most outstanding person was Jaders the bar tender- he is just a joy, wanting us to have the best possible time from the 1st day to our last day. I was not feeling well and he suggested great refreshing non-alcoholic drinks that were very tasty. You can tell that Jaders loves what he does he never lost his cool smiling and making drink after drink without a break for long periods of time a real professional – they have TV’s at the bar and The World Cup games were on and the bar was crowded in the pool and out during the week and I have to say that all bartenders were very busy. Jaders made sure to come by our cabana when he did not see us at the bar to make sure we were ok.
Now for the beach we loved it. It’s clean, the water was great and the sand was hot but soft, and getting a lounge was free, fast, and easy, all the people that help you with obtaining a lounge are nice and friendly. The beach bar serves drinks and food at your lounge, which for us is a plus. We had the cabana so we did not get the umbrella for $10.00- but you need it if you stay long at the beach it is hot and you will burn!
We went out for dinner most nights but, we did have dinner at the Japanese Restaurant in the hotel and we really enjoyed it.
We rented a Jeep from the car rental desk and the girl I think her name was Maria Socorro was great very helpful.
When we were leaving to the airport on our last day, I think his name is Irving or Eric at the front door- he knew that I was looking for a typical fruit called Quenepas that grows in Puerto Rico and still did not get it and there he was with a cup full for me- Thank you so much they were delicious!
The casino was fine we had a great time, the 1st time we went we thought it was small so we went next door to the El San Juan and lost- the next night we went to the casino in our hotel and won in fact we had a great winning run all week at this casino- so at the end of the day we enjoyed the casino and was happy it was a smaller one. The casino workers are also nice and friendly- the workers at the other casino next door were somewhat cold.
The only thing we were not happy with was the room service food we ordered one full breakfast and it was not hot and one dinner that we did not enjoy- the quality could be improved upon.
We had a wonderful trip and the staff mentioned above as well as many others that I do not know their names made the difference!
Thanks to all !!
Intercontinental You have a WONDERFUL staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jtc1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear jtc1216, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience at the InterContinental San Juan. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our service levels. Providing excellent guest service is a characteristic of our property and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. On behalf of our team I would like to express our gratitude for your kind words about our staff and our property. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our first time in PR and the hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport. We were able to get a taxi van for 5 of us and all our suitcases for $15. I arrived at the hotel at 11 am and although check-in is not till 4pm, Odalys was very helpful in getting us into the beach and into a room by 1. Valet kept the luggage and we went to have lunch at a nearby restaurant. Odalys helped us get 2 rooms on the same floor but not next to each other which is what we wanted and called us when the rooms were ready. She jump started the impeccable service from every single employee we came across from that moment on. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. Very plush bedding and large, luxurious towels are provided in the bathroom.

We had a king with the sofa bed for our 9 year old and the sofa bed was super comfy. House keeping provided us with extra pillows and sheets for it at no additional cost. We had the breakfast buffet daily and our waiters for the 9 days- Alexis, maria and hector were so amazing and friendly. They knew all our names after the first day of attending us and even knew how we liked our coffee. The familiarity and friendliness they bring made it feel like home and they,like family. My son left his football on the beach chair one day and Joel from the beach staff brought it back to the front desk. Maria Baez (Also an Employee) knew it belonged to us and looked for us all over the hotel until she found me in the pool. The employees really do go above and beyond the job duty.

Fridays and Saturdays there's a band in the lobby area and lots of dancing! The Casino in this hotel gave us nothing but good luck too! pool is open 24 hours and so is the market across the street. I've seen lots of reviews about the hotel food and drinks being really expensive and this is true, but its not any different than any other hotel in the area. The market across the street sells alcohol and there a dozens of places to eat outside the hotel within walking distance and in Old San Juan. Mi Casita and Platos Restaurant are across the street and down the block from the hotel and serve traditional authentic Puerto Rican food. Platos was fun at night on the weekends because they had a band and people were dancing- great for family. Mi Casita gets a line of people waiting by 8 pm on the weekends so its best to go early. If Puerto Rican food is not for you there is also a pizza Hut, Taco Bell, Burger King and a few Mexican joints within few blocks.

There is a Avis car rental service in the lobby of the hotel and an Enterprise in the San Juan resort next door. There is a Charlie Car Rental Service down the block as well which I found to be the most economical but only by a few dollars in comparison to the Avis in the hotel. The San Juan resort is fun at night during the week if you want to dance and listen to the band. The intercontinental is quiet during the week and this i don't mind because I really don't want to have to listen to music playing till 3 am if i am not in the mood. Its an option that every one should know because although you may want to go dancing and have fun but you are also with a family of ages young and old they aren't going to want to listen to that either. The Intercontinental is more laid back and relaxing with the option to party in the evening in the clubs next door. The casino in the hotel is open from 11am to 4am too.The beach chairs are complimentary the umbrella is $10 a day. you can bring a thermos with your drink. theres a jet ski company right on the beach also.
Overall, I could not be more satisfied with the service, staff and rooms!

the only cons that i have:

there was a day or two where two of the three elevators were disabled. the maintenance company was on top of it though and fixing it.
The kids room closes at 5pm and an adult has to accompany the child the entire time they are in there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We greatly appreciate your taking time to recognize some of them. It was a pleasure for us to make your stay memorable and we hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family vacation of 8 had been booked for several months. Unfortunately, we were separated to rooms on the 9th and 16th floor. We had requested adjoining rooms and those were FAR from adjoining. The lady checking us in was not accommodating and really wasn't concerned that we were upset about the room situation. The room on the 16th floor was wonderful. Very clean, updated, and amazing ocean view. They are updating the elevators. They do run a little slower than normal, but wasn't that bad. There is also service elevators you can use if you are in a hurry. The hotel grounds were amazing. The pool and beach area were beautiful and very comfortable. The complimentary chairs on the beach were very comfortable. The Mediterranean restaurant on the beach was great to eat lunch at. The food was very good. We enjoyed eating lunch with our toes in the sand and the cool breeze coming off of the ocean. The pool area was great and never overcrowded. There are complimentary towels and water. The gift shop has a little of everything you need and nice souvenir's. The staff were all wonderful (except the check in lady). I highly recommend eating dinner at LaPlayita. It is a short walk down the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank awaggoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate the positive comments about our facilities and our staff. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience at check in and any discomfort that this might have caused you. Please rest assured that we do our best to please our guests; nevertheless, especial requests as adjoining rooms are subject to availability and sometimes due to high occupancy we are not able to honor them as we would like to.

Thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The rooms are dated but comfortable. We unfortunately were given a room on the road-side of the hotel (no beach view) and heard a lot of traffic & noise. The bed could have been more comfortable. The elevators are pretty slow and despite there being 3 I only noticed 1 or 2 working most days. It's always $10-12 cocktail hour at this place. We wandered around the property and out to the beach. Would have been nice if they had given us guest wristbands at check-in since we didn't know we needed them to get towels at the pool or supposedly to get back on property from the beach. The Isla Verde strip/beach area was PACKED with locals though, so don't expect a nice quite beach or be able to drive to your hotel (less than a 1.5 miles) within 30 minutes. There were a lot of restaurants within walking distance, some local places and others chains (burger king, chili's, etc.). It's an OK place and Southwest flight attendants and pilots apparently stay here when they are in town. Overall though, like most Intercontinentals, it's not a cheap place but this place didn't live up to my expectations from staying at other Intercontinentals. Also, many families here- so expect a lot of families by the pool.

Room Tip: Do you want traffic or pool noise? I can't imagine there is a single quite room in the whole pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your last experience with us. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations this time. In respect to the elevators, it is important to mention that we are currently upgrading one of them and to mitigate any impact guests waiting time we have enabled our service elevators for guest's use. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and hope to welcome you back so that you may experience the upgrades.

Regarding the wristbands, please note that they are given to our guests at the towel booth, which is located at the main entrance of the pool area. Please accept our apologies if you were not properly informed about it by our front desk staff.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we would love to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at this property in May 2013. This was my first time to Puerto Rico. The Intercontinental San Juan was excellent! Its in a perfect location located 10 minutes from the airport with many restaurants, bars, & casinos nearby that are in walking distance. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Our oceanfront room was on the 13th floor with a million dollar view of the pool, beach, & ocean. The room was very clean & nicely furnished with a comfortable bed & a powerful air conditioner. The pool & beach where both excellent with plenty of chairs & umbrellas. The Mediterranean Cafe on the beach has great food for lunch. there is also a Ruth Chris Steakhouse located in the hotel that has a great happy hour that should not be missed. I Also went next door to Brother Jimmy's BBQ located on the 10th floor of the El San Juan, which has a great rooftop bar. I can't understand how this hotel gets negative reviews, for I am pretty picky & could not find anything to complain about. I will definitely come back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mraudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our property. It is very gratifying for us to receive positive comments from satisfied guests. We hope to host you again, so we may have the pleasure to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
3.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: £163 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing