We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Beautiful Pool and Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service, Beautiful Pool and Beach!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The restaurants are all above average, if not a little pricy. There is a Ruth Chris Steakhouse on the property, which has the best steaks in San Juan! Ruth Chris had an unbelievable happy hour also. Ciao Mediterranean has good food and you have the ocean view from there, we ate out there 3 times in our week long stay. The gift shop is pricy, I'd skip it and walk two blocks down the street to Walgreens. Also they had just rebuilt one elevator and were working on a second one. This made the elevators busy during peak times of the day. It was a nice gym with an ocean view, and a great spa. I had an incredible massage while I was there. Also the concierge service was incredible, they got us a really good deal on a day trip flight out to Vieques. The rooms are a little small but recently renovated, and immaculately clean. And you're in paradise damn it, how much time are you planning on spending in your room, anyway?

Room Tip: We had a incredible pool and beach view from the 7th floor balcony, you want the pool / ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the InterContinental San Juan. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to visit Vieques. Thank you for your kind words about our service and our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    793
    271
    125
    87
See reviews for
710
959
76
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Amazing honeymoon in paradise! Came for our honeymoon this past August and it was amazing. Weather was amazing, hotel and staff were very helpful. Can't wait to come back on our 10 yr anniversary. Loved the hotel... Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRLT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear JRLT86

Thank you so much for choosing the InterContinental San Juan for your Honeymoon! We are delighted that you enjoyed our service levels. We look forward to welcoming you back on your 10 year anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just stayed at IC San Juan for 10 days in August with my family (boys 12 and 14), and as with any vacation choice, you weigh the plus vs. minus, but I would say that this was a great choice for all of us. Ten days is a long time to stay anywhere and we'd never been to PR, so it was a bit of a roll of the dice. Yes, if it was so great, why only 4 dots? One major reason - the elevators were dysfunctional. Apparently this had been an ongoing problem in light of the posted apologies everywhere, but out of 3 elevators, often only one was working - sometimes two - and sometimes none. However, and it's important: the staff was so gracious and took so much effort to try to make the best of the situation while elevators were under repair and service elevators had to be used (which made it harder for the staff to work), and so patient with the many inconveniences guests, that I was truly impressed. Not one of the staff lost their cool or threw an attitude, and in the end the Guest Relations Rep (my apologies for forgetting your name) was very kind and compensated us for our inconvenience. Their staff alone earned 4 dots across the board - very friendly, very helpful, very competent. BTW the elevators are expected to be completely replaced with a few months. The minor reason for not getting that 5th dot was little food-related things - just a little too pricey ($3.00 for a thimble of pice for my quesadilla - please) and while the food was actually okay overall, the quality was doable but just missed - could have been a little better with some detail attention and consistency (sometimes the pizza had tomatoes on - sometimes cilantro - sometimes neither). We started calling the Akua Cafe the "Almost" Cafe, but our boys were just fine with it, so maybe we're snooty. We never ate breakfast there because we couldn't see spending 90-100 bucks for breakfast for four. I don't recommend the convenient La Casita across the street for breakfast. Horrible managing - totally lost every time we went. I DO recommend the Pui Bella Diner for breakfast if you take a left out of the hotel and walk down the strip about 4 blocks - great service and the best breakfasts we had while we were there. Take note that the little wine and tapas bar off to the side in the main lobby has great coffee and the staff who work it are really friendly (but not too friendly before you've had your first cup). Convenient and delicious. Last words: the pool is spectacular - the kids never got bored for 10 full days. The beach is probably the best beach you'll find in the area and never too crowded or too rough. The trees, flowers and landscaping are top-shelf professionally designed - nice big old trees that create some cool shady areas around the pool - it helps with the whole paradise mood thing. They are generous with the towels (nice big towels) and there's no stupid towel deposit required and always a big urn of iced fruited water available. If I could do half-dots - this would be 4.5 dots. It was a great stay - probably the best you'll find in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view - the higher the better. Avoid the end rooms - they are for Handicapped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyOnTheLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The bad: this just not at all what I imagine when staying at an intercontinental as I have stayed at them in both San Francisco and New York and they are impeccable in terms of service, cleanliness and updates. During most of our stay there was only one working elevator, completely unacceptable for a "5 star" hotel with 16 floors. It took ages to wait for the rammed elevator. The rooms themselves are very dated. The bathroom bordered on gross with the old broken shower curtain and there is also no ventilation in it so it would get steamy and cause the rest of the room to feel damp when the bathroom door was open trying to air it out. There was one day where our room just never got cleaned and another day where they didn't come until 4pm to clean it. While the beach is great, the location of the hotel isn't close to any sort of life outside the resort so keep in mind you'll be spending $20 on one way cabs to get to condado or old San Juan where there are restaurants, shops, etc. lastly, we rented an umbrella for $10 each time we went to the beach which was fine and when we got up we would offer our spot to other guests who were looking for shade (and no, they wouldn't pay) however, on our last day there I found a vacant set of chairs with an umbrella and an employee on the beach had the audacity to tell me to pay $10 for the spot even when I told him people had been taking my spot for free the whole time I was there, infuriating. He wasn't even nice about it just very rudely told me I needed to pay or leave.

The good: beach is gorgeous, pool is nice, most of the staff was very friendly.

All in all I probably won't stay here again or recommend it to anyone I know unless they make some major improvements. I'd suggest staying at El San Juan next door, it was much nicer and updated.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieS201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced in our hotel. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and we sincerely regret that we did not meet yours this time.

Regarding the elevators, please note that we are currently upgrading the mechanical and electronic system of one of them in order to optimize its functioning. To mitigate any impact guest waiting time we have enabled our service elevators for guests use. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and hope to welcome you back so that you may experience the upgrades.

We sincerely regret any discomfort caused due to the inconveniences related to the housekeeping service and the room assigned. Please rest assured that your comments have been discussed with the appropriate departments and corrective actions will be taken in order to ensure that future guests won’t be exposed to the same challenges.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to show you that this is not usual for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Mara, Ded & pedro bring us a great service !!!! The view, facilities, casino and the pool area was amazing! Great rate per night !!! Best drinks : island bomb, akua splash, zombie icea tea & the bestttttt piña colada! With alcohol!Excellent people!! See you guys soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Bbv22

Thank you for your feedback and for your positive comments about our facilities, casino, view and pool area. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the different drinks prepared by our staff at the Akua Bar: Mara, Ded and Pedro. We look forward to welcoming you soon; it will be our pleasure to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Amazing view and excellent service. Pedro and Mara from Akua bar were the best! I will returned for sure! The pool is beautiful and the beach is spectacular. I enjoy my stay! There is a lot to do in isla verde and a lot of partying!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortugui11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Tortugui11

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your recent experience. Providing excellent guest service is a characteristic of our property and we are pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. On behalf of our team I would like to express our gratitude for your kind words about Pedro and Mara, pool and beach. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from the Intercontinental San Juan (mid/end of August). Wanted to go for a relaxing vacation and mission accomplished.

First off, make sure to meet William as soon as you get to the hotel. He is one of the doormen/bellhop. One of THE nicest people you will meet. Big smile when we arrived, provided us with recommendations, and just in general a sweet man. The hotel should be thrilled to have such a great employee.

Check-in/Check-out: Smooth and uneventful. They were able to check us in a bit early. No issues with billing when we checked out. Staff was always friendly and prompt when we called the main number (housekeeping, questions, etc).

Beach: Great. Sand and water clean. Beach not crowded. Staff set us up with chairs and put up a large umbrella for us (umbrella is $10 per day, but well worth it). Waiter service, or the beach bar is just a few steps away; can order drinks and snacks.

Pool: looked great, but never went it (spent the time at the beach). They did have a swim-up bar and plenty of seats, and cabanas (think they were about $50 for the day).

Room: was very nice and housekeeping was great. Our room was a standard room; a little small, but I'm not on vacation to sit in the room so not a deal breaker.

Elevators: When I rated this hotel of 4 stars, I didn't factor in my elevator experience. The elevators will be fixed eventually and management did send a letter to each room apologizing for the inconvenience. But ohmygoodness, I was going to lose my mind waiting for those elevators.

Restaurants: we ate there for breakfast the first morning. Food was ehhh. We didn't try any of the other restaurants on the property, other than the pizza at the beach bar (very good!).

Casino: small, but a handful of slots and a few tables.

Overall, had a nice time and would recommend.

Some random tips:
Free wi-fi in the rooms, but not the rest of the hotel.
There is a diner/restaurant across the street, Mi Casitas. We went there for breakfast twice. Very good and inexpensive.
The 24 hour minimarket across the street has snacks, sodas, and booze. I couldn't bring myself to be paying $12 per drink at the hotel, so picked up some stuff here. The beach is public, so can bring your own items on the beach but no glass on the beach!
There is a Walgreens about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
We went for dinner and hung out every night at the hotel next door, El San Juan. It's a Vegas-type hotel. Great restaurants (try Meat Market Miami!), music and cool bars in the lobby, Starucks, gelato shoppe...nice hotel.
Not much to do in the area around the hotel; a few other hotels and apartment buildings.
Two of our four days in PR it rained. It rained so much the rainforest was even closed! I'd suggest looking into rainy day activities before going or pack a poncho to walk around Old San Juan.
Old San Juan is about a $20-$30 cab ride from the hotel. Free trolley takes you around, so it can drop you off at the top of the hill where the fort is and you can walk downhill from there.

Room Tip: Had room 1427. Near the elevator, but you couldn't hear it or people. The room looked out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLA-NY58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,947 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
17.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Property: InterContinental San Juan
Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5720, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place - immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing