We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty at Best--Most reviews were spot on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotty at Best--Most reviews were spot on.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family is in the middle of our stay and most reviews capture the problems with this hotel. Staff is very nice. But, long (and I mean long) waits to order at pool bar/restaurant because there is one staffer working at it, but this is common throughout the facility. Not enough beach chairs or umbrellas and people are literally fighting over them. The rooms are definitely not great. Moldy smells, peeling wall paper and dimmed bathroom lights where you can’t see much was some of the bigger issues. Internet is down (though some staff kept saying it was ok). Things, while not horrible, make the guests stay less than tolerable. Probably would not come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Jim M:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I understand that we did not provide you the exceptional stay we always wish to provide all our guests. I do thank you for providing a detail account of your observations. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously, and appreciate it as a valuable teaching tool. I have shared your comments with my entire team.

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team at the property. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we know that you have many places to choose from for your lodging needs. I would appreciate it if you could please give us another opportunity.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything else that I can do for you.


Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
787-791-0505
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    880
    387
    169
    81
See reviews for
1,044
627
67
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We've had good luck with Embassy Suites in the past so we were looking forward to an exceptional experience this time. It was exceptional but not in a good way. The room was average in appointments but generally lacking in the quality one would expect for a premium resort hotel in a vacation hot spot. The bathroom was just run down with the wall coverings peeling off the walls and the grout around the tub was in terrible shape. The cushions in the pull out sofa bed didn't fit properly so the seating was just plain uncomfortable. The bed had a foam mattress whose edges were starting to break down from people sitting on them for years. The satellite TV service was dismal....few selections and poor quality. The ultimate insult was being charged a mandatory "Resort Fee" for beach amenities only to find out that the beach is four blocks away. But, lest you think that everything was bad, they did have a pretty decent breakfast every morning as long as you went fairly early in the morning. Signs in the elevators even cautioned you that the early bird gets the breakfast. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose any of the other nearby hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

2-night stay during Christmas week. Hotel was over-crowded, no seats available during breakfast (Why weren't there waiters cleaning off dirty tables?). The rooms were outdated and not particularly clean. Bathtub surface was chipping, one of the TV's didn't work, the mini-fridge had to be replaced with another aging model with rust coming off it. A/C seemed to stop working in the middle of the night. Walls were also very thin, and the neighbors TV and conversations were audible. Customer service was mixed. Some representatives at the front desk weren't friendly, and the only staff that really stood out were the engineering crew, who responded twice to fix things very quickly. On the plus side, nice pool, free drinks at managers reception, and the selection at the free breakfast seemed nice (but see above comments regarding over-crowding). Although the front desk has a sign offering to make any problems right, it didn't seem as if any of the issues I had are unique to my stay-- see other reviews here. The property has potential, but needs some fixing up, and more consistent customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid peak-season as hotel does not manage over-crowding well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 December 2014
Dear BenjaminMB:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for selecting our hotel. Our property and brand goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations--and I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations for your stay with us. In your review, you bring up some great points that we are currently looking into. In regards to updating ---we're already on our way. In fact, our property will be undergoing some renovations in the near future to address the concerns you addressed.

Please be assured that the feedback you provided in your review will be taken into consideration so that we may improve our guests’ in-property experience. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 December 2013

we loved all the holiday lights and festive decorations when you walked into this hotel and feels more like a five star resort without the hefty price. Everything is so clean and in place. The fish tanks are well kept and compliments the area very well. we liked the different sitting areas. Breakfast is beyond satisfying with its wide variety of food for both young and old. worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, oh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful stay at the Embassy Suites in December 2013. There were four of us in the room and it was a little tight, but one person slept on the couch, which was a little uncomfortable. The only other complaint was that the events downstairs were pretty loud up until midnight two nights out of the seven we were there (we were on the third floor). The complimentary breakfast was delicious, especially the omelettes, which I usually don't like. The employees I encountered were all really nice. It was convenient to have the restaurants in the hotel, especially when we were too tired to venture back out. The managers' reception was also very nice - the servers were friendly and the drinks were strong. The snacks were ok - the pita chips were good, but the popcorn was consistently burnt.

The location was fairly close to the beach - just a few minutes walk - and it was nice to have the beach chairs and towels provided. We also had the option of an umbrella, which was great since I got sunburnt early in the trip.

Overall, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julseyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites San Juan - Hotel & Casino 12/12012/15. I was extremely pleased with staff but disappointed with accommodations. I found the room to be dismal and outdated and require significant updates. The bathrooms in particular were in need of much attention. The bathtub was chipped and looked dirty. My kids did not want to take a bath.Cleelings had stains.


The accommodations did not meet the standard I would expect from a Hilton owned property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST1976lkabrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 December 2014
Dear ST1976lkabrov:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We try to always go above and beyond for our guests and I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to do that for you. I want you to know that all of the inconveniences you experienced will be addressed with the proper departments and we hope that we can have the chance to have you as a guest in the future and will be able to exceed your expectations as we always try to do. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Decided to stay here for the free breakfast and the the free happy hour. This hotel only needs attention to some minor maintenance issues. Some of the hotel room furniture also requires updating but that's were the complaints stop. Overall, staff is is extremely friendly and helpful. Plus your within walking distance of the Beach and a 20 minute cab ride to Old San Juan.

Room Tip: Book early. This is a popular Hotel because of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing