We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but misleadind in a way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but misleadind in a way”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived to the hotel , it was wonderful , very eye catching and clean .... When we spoke with the Front desk clerk she informed us that we had to pay an additional $200.00 deposit... Which was fine .. but Hilton should have informed us of this before ... The continental breakfast was okay, wish it was a bigger variety ... The pool was okay but does not look nothing like the pictures... Other than that I enjoyed my stay just wished I was informed about the $200.00 deposit.. and did I mention I won $800.00 ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billionheiress125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    860
    377
    164
    79
See reviews for
1,011
612
64
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
619 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Overview: The Embassy Suited has been our hotel of choice given the location to the airport, grocery store approx 5-min walk, numerous restaurants close by, an Outback Steakhouse on premise, 10-min walk to the beach and the friendliness of the staff. On our next trip we will try another Hilton hotel – the Embassy seems to no longer be living up to the Hilton standard.

I do want offer a special shout-out to Megan (works in the lobby restaurant/bar) and the front-desk staff for working hard to meet the needs of the guests. Thanks much!

However – I do need to advise that the quality of the hotel is going backwards (why the 3-star rating & I am being generous) and want you to be aware of the challenges before you decide to stay here. We stayed on the front & back-end of a cruise and the hotel sees a-lot of travelers every week and is normally completely full….why Mgt can seem to cut corners and not invest in the property. Here is what to be aware of (and some tips to help) if staying here:

1. Our room (not on the HHonors floor – we are HHonors members) was very old and the TV in the main room did not work, shelf in closet was falling off wall and the bathroom was quite dirty when we checked in. In addition the walls were quite dirty & scarred….now I do understand the use of the hotel, however one need only go to the DoubleTree or Hampton Inn & Suites to see the difference in maintenance upkeep.

2. Breakfast – go early! As not only does the place fill up quickly, but the staff seems to have trouble in keeping the tables cleaned for others to sit at. During our stay we found the buffet breakfast (all items) to be quite cold at every breakfast we attended – this had not been the case in the past. Also the cups used for drinks are very, very small so recommend bringing in you B-King or personal cup for juice, water or soda…..it will help. There are some local places that serve breakfast – if you don’t want to face crowds or cold food.

3. Happy Hour – here again the Embassy is dealing with lots of folks who want free drinks in some of the smallest cups I’ve ever seen….and the lines for drinks can get very, very long with two bartenders serving two-drinks per/person. We finally went into the Outback for their Happy Hour and had quite good drinks at $3/piece and did not have to wait in line. If you do go Happy Hour, get in line early for your drinks and remember to tip the bartenders….the snacks are chips, salsa, dip and popcorn.

Overall – a little investment in the property and quality of breakfast can improve a customer’s stay at the hotel. We will try another property on our next visit……

Tip: Hotel Casino serves food and drinks, for just a tip to the waiter/waitress. One can have a good Cuban sandwich (ham, cheese), bowl of soup and a drink (soda, alcohol) for a $2 tip. We ate here quite often. Simply put some money in the machine (and for non-gamblers) play $1 cent bets…..for those who do gamble, hopefully the casino will pay you for eating there…

Tip: Taxi from airport to hotel: $15 (we had 3 bags – charge $1/bad); from hotel to Royal Caribbean ship: $21 and approx same for hotel to Old San Juan

Tip: Pueblo supermarket is very close, sells alcohol and great place to pick-up food for the room. For local food dinner, try Platos across from Hamton and 15-min walk -- friend from San Juan took us there and was quite good; local musical entertainment was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I returned to the this hotel this earlier in the month of December, only a one night stay in anticipation of an early departure from P.R. the next moring. While there were far cheaper hotels available, I decided to return here. Arrived around 1:00 p.m. and was given my room key without delay. Changed and to the pool for about 4 hours of relaxation and great tropical drinks from the pool bar. Skipped the managers reception later in the evening and had dinner at the Outback Restaurant which is on site and them spent a few hours in the small, cozy casino on site as well. All in all a great place to unwind, relax and enjoy before I left P.R.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms higher up, seem to be very quiet and if in the front of the hotel even more so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel was a great location, and I loved that it had the separate bedroom from the living area. We traveled with young children so they needed to go to bed and the adults needed a beverage :-) so it was nice that they could sleep and not be bothered. I would stay here again, not as updated as I like, but it was clean and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here prior to our cruise. It is convenient to the airport as well as the pier. The added bonuses are a lovely breakfast which included omelets. a step above the usual complementary breakfasts. Also they are connected to a beach a few blocks away and provide chairs and umbrellas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank shermanrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We checked in late (very late) at night and were cheerfully greated. We had a couple suites as we have a large family . . . having six beds (between beds and sleeper sofas) was very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The wallpaper was peeling off in the bathroom and there were some signs of black mold . . but there was no fan in the bathroom so I chalk it up more to design defect than lack of effort to keep it clean. Breakfast was the typical good Embassy Suites breakfast . . . A bit crowded. Would suggest that there be a few obvious places for guests to drop off used dishes etc once finished . . I saw a number of people looking to bus their own tables to no avail as there was no good place to drop off dishes - this would help turn over tables more quickly as staff would only have to wipe down the tables. Pool area was very nice with a waterfall and nice plantings surrounding pool. Very convenient to airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel was close to airport and 10 to 15 minutes away from shopping plaza Carolina and Plaza Las America. and Walmart. Complimentary breakfast was great. Food choices in what you wanted to eat. The lobby was nicely decorated with Christmas decorations, which made it beautiful. The staff was respectful and helpful. You can check out and they will hold your bags for you until you are ready to go to the airport. I enjoyed the casino. Rate was reasonable. AARP discount is available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,880 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing